We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gamirasu Cave Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ayvali
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Everything was perfect for our honeymoon at Gamirasu. It surpassed all of our expectations and felt like we were in heaven. We were upgraded to the Eagle's Nest and were just blown away. The staff were amazing with everything, especially helping us to book tours around the area. I could not have been happier or more impressed with the hotel or the service.

Room Tip: The Eagle's Nest will blow your mind!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoppyCottonwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    837
    79
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
219
415
35
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

I enjoyed every single detail in the suite.
It was amazing , it's a real cave, with a beautiful design.
The stuff is really friendly & the food was good.
The only problem was that since they are in an open area, there are some flies in the place.
Other that that ... it was AWESOME.

Room Tip: They might give you a better room than the one you chose if it's available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anollipian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
168 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Excellent Traditional True Cave Hotel
Superb service in reception, rooms, restaurant
Understood very well vegetarian food
Served coffee and snacks even at 5am without complain.
Far from nearest airport.
Could see local people living near by in caves.
Excllent ballon ride.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hsanghavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful and people are very helpful. The only problem is that my room was not really a cave, so pay attention when you book it. However, it had the feeling and it was very clean and comfortable. The pool, albeit small and a little exposed, was very refreshing for the hot days. The restaurant is also excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renata G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adana, Turkey
Level Contributor
104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

The staff at Gamirasu was attentive to everything on our December visit; from the directions we were given when we called from 40 km / 24 miles away on our drive to Ayvali, personally showing and "introducing" us to our room, and bringing a load of wood to burn in our fireplace (after they started the fire) to tending to our culinary desires at breakfast--one wanted the omelet "very dry!", the other wanted it "runny". Everything was perfect.

The setting of the hotel is quaint and charming, at the end of a narrow, one-lane brick "street" that you wonder "are we on the right route?" when you're driving yourselves! The village of Ayvali is not especially tourist oriented--you can visit Goreme or Urgup or Nevsehir for that. Because the location is just a *touch* isolated, it is wonderful for unwinding and relaxing. Privacy is unlimited here! No complaints about that at all.

The historical value of the property is fascinating -- make sure you visit the "chapel" and see the remnants of the frescoes that are pushing 800 years old. Ayvali Cave Church is small but amazing.

Prior to departing, we asked to see some other rooms... we were shown room #123. If it isn't occupied, Ask To See It! For a small sum (well over 2,000 TL/$1000/Euro 725), you can stay there. The visit to this magnificent room was free. Each of the 35 rooms is different--all are worth staying in--you'll be happy with any of the rooms you are given for your soujourn here.

Our stay was entirely too short. Intend to return in the late spring/early summer and stay longer as well as visit and explore this lovely region.

Room Tip: All rooms are good; #123 is the most oppulent (hence, most expensive... ask to see it if it is not o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lledds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

This report is long overdue. I stayed there in late June with my spouse, son and daughter. This is a gem of a hotel, very unique in design, yet not compromising quality and comfort in any way. From hospitable and warm welcome to amenities and service anticipation all is to meet and exceed customer expectations. Our suite was picture perfect and included also a sauna and jacuzzi . The breakfast was simple and good with touches of local cuisine. The sunset dinner on the terrace is not to be missed. Good cuisine, affordable wines and attentive and cordial service. We had even been offered a free ride into town and an after dinner pick up. And exceeding all expectations was an unsolicited offer for a late check out. Full marks for hospitality par excellence!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fritz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millburn, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

It was a gorgeous converted into a hotel room and awesome lighting. The restaurant inside the hotel had the best food I had at any place during my entire stay in Turkey. The only slight disadvantage is the location. It is not located centrally and you have to be part of a tour to make the best access to this hotel and tours from this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rohitmalik2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayvali
6.6 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
6.8 mi away
Argos in Cappadocia
Argos in Cappadocia
#7 of 27 in Uchisar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
6.4 mi away
Yunak Evleri
Yunak Evleri
#8 of 66 in Urgup
5.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#13 of 27 in Uchisar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
5.9 mi away
MDC Hotel
MDC Hotel
#7 of 66 in Urgup
5.0 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
6.1 mi away
Sacred House
Sacred House
#10 of 66 in Urgup
5.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gamirasu Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gamirasu Cave Hotel

Property: Gamirasu Cave Hotel
Address: Ayvali, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup > Ayvali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ayvali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gamirasu Cave Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gamirasu is the name of an exquisitely restored 35 rooms troglodyte cave house opened in 1998, in Ayvali Village near Urgup in the heart of Cappadocia, Turkey. The hotel is located in a restored thousand-year-old Byzantine monastic retreat which offers modern conveniences without distracting from the spiritual feeling of the area which has been known to be inhabited for more than five thousand years. Gamirasu cave Hotel is featured in major international travel guides as one of the best cave hotels of Cappadocia. Recently Business Insider choose '' 50 incredible hotels you should sleep in during your lifetime '' It is also mentioned as a romantic escape for honeymoons in wedding magazines. A 12th century Byzantine Christian church forms part of the Gamirasu, and until recently, part of the hotel was still used by Christian monks. Much care has been taken to blend the historic facades with the natural curves of the Cappadocian landscape to preserve its traditional style and appearance whilst providing you with the utmost in modern conveniences. The finish is stylish and the atmosphere inviting and romantic. Indeed, it is the perfect honeymoon destination, with many couples choosing the intimate cave suites for access to some of the most breathtaking and unforgettable scenery in the world. The sense of tranquility and authentic village atmosphere around the Gamirasu is instantly soothing, with nothing to disturb you but the sound of birds and sumptuous aromas drifting across the warm air from the old Monastic kitchen. Breakfast consists of all local and organically grown produce, including freshly baked bread, clotted cream, honeycomb and fresh fruit. A 7km hiking trail departs from the front door of the hotel and follows a remote valley with a beautiful brook flowing down the middle. In every direction, you are surrounded by breathtaking views, extraordinary natural shapes and a myriad of cave-dwellings to explore. It really is the most mesmerizing of destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gamirasu Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gamirasu Cave Urgup
Hotel Gamirasu Cave
Gamirasu Cave Hotel Turkey/Ayvali, Cappadocia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing