We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly unique!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gamirasu Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gamirasu Cave Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ayvali
Certificate of Excellence
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Truly unique!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

We had a nights stay at Gamirasu Cave Hotel as a part of a two day tour in Cappadocia. The hotel was absolutely wonderful! Truly unique! The room was very comfortable, warm and luxurious. Service at the highest level and our evening dinner lovely! Will come back again if possible! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nico76Lund_Sverige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    828
    79
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
215
411
35
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in March, and loved the hotel from the moment we arrived. Hamida greeted us with the warmest welcoming, and made us feel right at home. Our room was lovely...we got the King sized bed we requested, and a room with some daylighting. Our bathroom was very spacious and the jacuzzi tub and fireplace were a nice surprise! I will say that I felt the food in the restaurant to be quite overpriced, but that is the only drawback I found to the hotel during our stay. All of the staff were friendly and accommodating. Would highly recommend this hotel to any people visiting Cappadocia!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AKShah84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

The hotel was excellent, everything about it was beyond words.
My mom and I was greeted by the night manager and he was very welcoming although we checked in late evening. I had read reviews on the hotel before going there and the experience certainly did not disappoint us. Every second during our stay was wonderful, even the day staff were very helpful, they treated us as if they know us personally. The hugs offered and pictures taken with the staff it feels like its really a small family hotel but it is not. If you looking for a place away from town, this is the place but the hotel do provide shuttle service to town.
The only thing is that although it was winter and cold, we had to switch on the air condition as the floor was heated and it got really hot at night. Other than the heated floor, everything was great!
We will definitely go back there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aidah_Dada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Really enjoyed this delightful cave hotel, even in December, when it was cold. We were upgraded to an amazing suite, with our own jacuzzi bath. The atmosphere around is unique and delightful. Breakfast was always great, and dinners, when we had them were delicious. Hiked around among the Cappadocia cute pinnacles. Hotel provided a car for transfer to the closest town--very convenient. Really a very memorable sojourn.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amr E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

My husband and I signed up for Troy Tours' Turkey Tour and Gamirasu Cave Hotel is one of the three hotels that they have their clients billeted. The pictures on Gamirasu's website had me so excited for the trip. When we finally got there, I was not disappointed! It is beautiful and very different from hotels that I have stayed in. Each room in Gamirasu is different. We got room 133 which is many steps up, but it is not an issue with us. From our room, we could see the village. Until today, there still are people who live in the caves. Of course, they have the amenities needed to live these days. At night, we could see these homes lighted up. Definitely, a breathtaking view.

The staff of the hotel go out of their way to make guests feel special. This was a birthday trip for me and my husband. They had cake waiting to surprise us. After dinner, a staff member brought the cake out and sang happy birthday in English and Turkish. Very sweet!!! The manager, Hamide Demiral arranged it all. I cannot thank her enough for that special moment. Not only for us, but also for our tour buddies who were also celebrating February birthdays. There were four candles on the cake. We each had a candle to blow. It was lovely.

The restaurant is very good as well. For dinner we had Cappadocia's special dish, Pottery Beef Kebab. We did not know that this is served with ceremony. The server breaks the pot the beef was cooked in and pours it on a plate. It made our meal more interesting. Breakfast has a variety of selections. They make fresh orange and apricot juice. I love it!

To those who are planning a visit to Cappadocia, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed in a beautiful suite. They made us feel very comfortable right from the start.
The only issue was that due to the heated flooring throughout, it got very hot at night and we had to open all the windows as a result. There is no way to combat the heat i think.
Otherwise, the hotel, the food, the service....top notch!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 131, great view! just make sure if you are visiting in winter, you check with them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NamrataParesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

This is a one of a kind hotel. We stayed in the stunning Eagle's Nest Suite, and I could gush for hours about the room. It was simply wonderful.

We ate dinner in the hotel on two different nights and enjoyed it both times. The breakfast was delicious. Don't skip the clotted cream and honeycomb!

The staff was incredibly helpful during our stay. Everyone went out of their way to ensure that we enjoyed ourselves. Hamide arranged for a rental car so we could explore the area at our own pace. I highly recommend this option. It was one of the highlights of our time in Turkey.

The hotel is not centrally located, but it is more than worth the trip. I recommend it wholeheartedly, and I hope to visit again soon.

Room Tip: You should definitely splurge for one of the cave suites. They are worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayvali
6.6 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
7.0 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#13 of 27 in Uchisar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
6.4 mi away
Yunak Evleri
Yunak Evleri
#8 of 64 in Urgup
5.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Argos in Cappadocia
Argos in Cappadocia
#7 of 27 in Uchisar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
7.0 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Resort & Spa
5.9 mi away
MDC Hotel
MDC Hotel
#7 of 64 in Urgup
5.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gamirasu Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gamirasu Cave Hotel

Property: Gamirasu Cave Hotel
Address: Ayvali, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup > Ayvali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ayvali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gamirasu Cave Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gamirasu is the name of an exquisitely restored 35 rooms troglodyte cave house opened in 1998, in Ayvali Village near Urgup in the heart of Cappadocia, Turkey. The hotel is located in a restored thousand-year-old Byzantine monastic retreat which offers modern conveniences without distracting from the spiritual feeling of the area which has been known to be inhabited for more than five thousand years. Gamirasu cave Hotel is featured in major international travel guides as one of the best cave hotels of Cappadocia. Recently Business Insider choose '' 50 incredible hotels you should sleep in during your lifetime '' It is also mentioned as a romantic escape for honeymoons in wedding magazines. A 12th century Byzantine Christian church forms part of the Gamirasu, and until recently, part of the hotel was still used by Christian monks. Much care has been taken to blend the historic facades with the natural curves of the Cappadocian landscape to preserve its traditional style and appearance whilst providing you with the utmost in modern conveniences. The finish is stylish and the atmosphere inviting and romantic. Indeed, it is the perfect honeymoon destination, with many couples choosing the intimate cave suites for access to some of the most breathtaking and unforgettable scenery in the world. The sense of tranquility and authentic village atmosphere around the Gamirasu is instantly soothing, with nothing to disturb you but the sound of birds and sumptuous aromas drifting across the warm air from the old Monastic kitchen. Breakfast consists of all local and organically grown produce, including freshly baked bread, clotted cream, honeycomb and fresh fruit. A 7km hiking trail departs from the front door of the hotel and follows a remote valley with a beautiful brook flowing down the middle. In every direction, you are surrounded by breathtaking views, extraordinary natural shapes and a myriad of cave-dwellings to explore. It really is the most mesmerizing of destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Prestigia and Expedia so you can book your Gamirasu Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gamirasu Cave Urgup
Hotel Gamirasu Cave
Gamirasu Cave Hotel Turkey/Ayvali, Cappadocia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing