We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and brilliant experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gamirasu Cave Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ayvali
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

If you are going to do Cappadocia please stay at Gamirasu Cave Hotel. We were lucky that we were upgraded to 'The Eagles Nest' room, so perfect and wonderful. We had a spa bath and sauna in our bathroom. If your money will allow, book this room you will not be dissapointed. The rooms are spacious and feel fantastic. The food was very good and we enjoyed having dinner in the restaurant, with wonderful service. I can not say enough positive things about this hotel.... book now, book now,..... book NOW!

Room Tip: If you can afford it book 'The Eagles Nest' room, you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buneez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (979)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

244 - 250 of 979 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

Our family of two adults and two children stayed here for a few nights and it was fabulous. The hotel is nestled in the rocks in old caves and is very comfortable. Our family suite had two bedrooms, two bathrooms and a living area with TV and mini bar. Everything was very clean and comfortable. The hotel is a bit out of the way but there is a free shuttle service which will take you into town and back.

Aside from the amazing location, what really impressed us was the staff ... they were very friendly, helpful and efficient. They were aware of what tours we had booked and arranged pick up times, meeting places etc for us, even though we booked the tours prior to leaving Australia and didn't book them through the hotel. On our last night one of the staff approached me and noted that we were leaving early the next morning, prior to the breakfast service ... would I please write down what we wanted to eat for breakfast so they could have it ready for us before we left!! So I did ... we sat down in the restaurant around 6.15am the next day and voila! our breakfast appeared as ordered. Really did not expect this level of service ... thank you to the chef who must have got up very early.

Also of immense value is the laundry service ... a lovely Turkish lady came to our room and collected our clothes; washed, dried and folded them and returned them that night ... cost was 12 Euros for 4kg, which was well worth it and very reasonable given we didn't see a single laundromat while in Cappadocia!

Restaurant was great, best dinners we had in Turkey and again very fairly priced. Given the hotel's location away from the town they could easily price gouge here but for the quality of food the prices were very fair. Every meal was excellent .. highlight was the Sea Bass with Honey ... if you stay here, don't miss it! It was also great to see genuine Turkish food on the menu ... I really hope they don't ever 'westernise' it as it would be a waste of the chef's skills. (Take a peek into the kitchen area ... I have no idea how they produce such food in such a space!)

One thing to note for those who are on the tall side ... you will need to stoop to get through some doorways ... but we found once we hit our heads once we soon got the hang of it!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 4ManlyTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I was at Gamirasu Cave Hotel for 3 nights in the beginning of april/14. The room (family cave) was very nice, spacious for a couple with 2 small children (3 and 6), very comfortable (beds could be just a bit softer), nice decoration, cleaning was spotless. Nevertheless, what impressed me the most was the attention given by all staff (Hamide was just wonderful, helping with the bookings/tours, and not only those booked through the hotel!!! Also helped by contacting Turkish about lost luggage, online check in, driver, etc...). They were so courteous and polite. Thank you very much for being so kind. Oh, and dinner was also very nice in the hotel (actually, the best place I ate in the region!). Don`t know if I will ever go back to Turkey (still need to know many other places) but if I do, will certainly go back to Gamirasu! And strongly recommend it to anyone (couples, families, etc). About location, it is 20 minutes from central Urgup (the closest city), but the hotel also provides free transfers to and back from the city.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rafaelcm51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Great place, warm people,efficient services and 'always ready to assist' attitude !!
Made our first ever family trip to Turkey and of course cappadocia truly memorable .. We went in not exactly knowing what to expect but returned with great memories of the two nights we spent there .

Keep up the good work - Fatima, Mehar & Co
Sandeep

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank sandeepsah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Located a ways from Urgup, in a small village the Gamirasu Cave Hotel was exactly as we expected. The hotel is comprised of a variety of room sizes and layouts to accommodate all needs. Each one is carved out of the hillside and on several levels. Terraces, walkways and stairs meander throughout the grouping. Only downside to the location is the fact that once you are at the hotel there isn't any other options for dining. With that said, the breakfast buffet was well laid out and had a good selection. The restaurant had many offerings for dinner. We tried something different each night and every meal was excellent. The staff throughout the hotel was friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our time there.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank dahdls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Although the staff was attentive and rooms clean, the room we were assigned (Family Suite) was too small for our family of five. We complained and asked for a bed to be added (which made it more cramped) but we were not moved to another room. The noise level was high as our window was underneath the stairwell. Families of more than four should avoid room 108. Hotel was isolated from the main area of town and there was not much to see outside the walls.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Truthseeker01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibrahimbastutan, Owner at Gamirasu Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your review .

We are glad to hear your positive feeling about our staff attitude and room cleaning .

As we announce in our web page ;

Family Suite room consists of two separate bedrooms and their rooms can be either left open or locked. The door rooms opens up to a hall. In this hall there is a private bathroom and a WC for both rooms.
The door of the hall opens up to a rose garden. One of the rooms has a large double bed, while the other has two separate single beds.
It is more suitable for the families who has two children that want to stay together .
Only because of your request we added an extra bed that is why room is get narrower than the original .
We wish to see you and your family in our place again .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stayed here on a group tour of Cappadocia. An experience of a lifetime! It was as if we were transported back in time.

The room was exotic, yet comfortable, and it appeared that we were staying in a real cave. Our room was two levelled with the bed a flight of stairs above the sitting area and bathroom with a Jacuzzi.

We got up early one morning to view the hot air balloons flying in the distance from the hotel

We had breakfast as well as dinner, and although the spread was limited, the food was wholesome and delicious.

The only negative would be that it was a little distance away from the closest town.

Highly recommended to anyone who would like to experience a cave stay...

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Milo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayvali
6.6 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
6.1 mi away
Sacred House
Sacred House
#11 of 71 in Urgup
377 reviews
3 mi away
Perimasali Cave Hotel - Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#13 of 31 in Uchisar
761 reviews
6.9 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Resort & Spa
6.3 mi away
Dere Suites Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gamirasu Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gamirasu Cave Hotel

Address: Ayvali, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup > Ayvali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ayvali
Price Range: £103 - £473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gamirasu Cave Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gamirasu is the name of an exquisitely restored 35 rooms troglodyte cave house opened in 1998, in Ayvali Village near Urgup in the heart of Cappadocia, Turkey. The hotel is located in a restored thousand-year-old Byzantine monastic retreat which offers modern conveniences without distracting from the spiritual feeling of the area which has been known to be inhabited for more than five thousand years. Gamirasu cave Hotel is featured in major international travel guides as one of the best cave hotels of Cappadocia. Recently Business Insider choose '' 50 incredible hotels you should sleep in during your lifetime '' It is also mentioned as a romantic escape for honeymoons in wedding magazines. A 12th century Byzantine Christian church forms part of the Gamirasu, and until recently, part of the hotel was still used by Christian monks. Much care has been taken to blend the historic facades with the natural curves of the Cappadocian landscape to preserve its traditional style and appearance whilst providing you with the utmost in modern conveniences. The finish is stylish and the atmosphere inviting and romantic. Indeed, it is the perfect honeymoon destination, with many couples choosing the intimate cave suites for access to some of the most breathtaking and unforgettable scenery in the world. The sense of tranquility and authentic village atmosphere around the Gamirasu is instantly soothing, with nothing to disturb you but the sound of birds and sumptuous aromas drifting across the warm air from the old Monastic kitchen. Breakfast consists of all local and organically grown produce, including freshly baked bread, clotted cream, honeycomb and fresh fruit. A 7km hiking trail departs from the front door of the hotel and follows a remote valley with a beautiful brook flowing down the middle. In every direction, you are surrounded by breathtaking views, extraordinary natural shapes and a myriad of cave-dwellings to explore. It really is the most mesmerizing of destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gamirasu Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gamirasu Cave Urgup
Hotel Gamirasu Cave
Gamirasu Cave Hotel Turkey/Ayvali, Cappadocia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing