We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gamirasu Cave Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ayvali
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

An excellent hotel. Stayed for 4 nights and service was friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived and were offered a drink at reception whilst we booked in and waited for luggage. We had a standard room rather than a cave room but it was very comfortable and spacious and very clean. Free WiFi at all parts of the hotel and phone signal good. Very relaxed atmosphere and a small pool to cool down in. Eating outside on the terrace is great with views of cave rooms. It does start to get cool about 20.00 so take something warm if you want to sit outside after that. Only down side is that it is in quite an isolated location in a small village with minimal facilities. You wont be able to stroll out in the evening. Hotel does provide a free shuttle service to Urgrup about 6km away but recommened you sort tours or hire a car.

Room Tip: Ask for a cave room. If you can afford it go for one of the more luxery suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank octim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (967)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

219 - 225 of 967 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

A great experience-different to anything we had stayed in before. The most outstanding feature was the genuine friendliness and professionalism of the staff. My wife and I recommend it to the nth degree.

Room Tip: Not all rooms are caves-insist on one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BillPerth53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

From my welcome at reception by a lovely young gal who escorted me to my room to my send-off , with a sack breakfast, to the airport for an early morning flight, I had a great stay. My room was right under the old church and it was a small suite in...a cave with Hobbit-type doors. Imagine energy efficient lighting, great internet connection, a flat screen tv, and a jacuzzi bathtub in a...cave. The lighting made for a magical atmosphere with the cream colored stone in the bedroom and the marble in the bathroom. Comfortable bed, sofa, closet with ironing board, safe, robe, everything you'd find in a five-star hotel. The bathroom is a bit tricky with stairs so you want to be careful navigating the space. Tap water is drinkable. Two pools. Places to sit outdoors but challenging to find one without smokers. Huge breakfast buffet with fruits, cheeses, meats, yogurts, granola. Coffee was unfortunately out of a Nescafé machine but still good. Tables in the restaurant for dinner were set for four or more so it was a bit uncomfortable eating alone. Try the homemade soups. Their bread is also addictive. The waiters will filet and debone the sea bass table side. Try the local wines--reds are good and supposedly the whites are even better. The hotel is a bit of a hike from town but a great place to stay when you are in Kappadokia. One funny thing. I think housekeeping might have thought I was here for a romantic stay. I came back from breakfast to see my bed strewn with rose petals--and one of my hand towels folded in the shape of a heart. Just glad I hadn't decided to come here right after a divorce:). The waiters took only a few minutes to adapt to the fact that I was traveling alone and for that I was most appreciative. And I felt quite safe with an old-fashioned key-in-lock door with windows on the side.

Room Tip: I stayed in 128 which was close to the restaurant and under the church. Because it was a corner room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jhartig1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed at the Gamirasu Cave Hotel for three nights. Was an outstanding experience. The highlight was our suite - never imagined that a cave could have so much charm! The overall peace and quiet, genuine smiles, the luxury of a heated pool, the little stream running just in front of the hotel, every thing works together to make for a very memorable stay.

The service was top notch from the moment we stepped into the hotel. The check in process was smooth, our balloon ride for the next day was confirmed promptly by the reception, and the housekeeping was impeccable.

The breakfast spread had local cheeses and delicacies, and wad a good introduction to the local cuisine.

I would love to go back again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rogercharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We just returned from a trip to Turkey yesterday, which included a two night stay at the Gamirasu Cave Hotel and I can say it is an absolutely fabulous hotel. Not only are the people who manage the hotel and its staff lovely people who go out of their way to help you and make sure that your stay is as comfortable as possible but the rooms themselves are absolutely breathtaking and truly unique. Our room was very spacious, exceptionally clean and very comfortable. The pool area is also lovely and a great place to relax after a long day of touring or an early morning wake up to take a hot air balloon ride (which is highly recommended as it was one of the best parts of our trip). Both the breakfast and dinners at the hotel were excellent and well prepared. I highly recommend the hotel as a place to stay while in Cappadocia as it is easily located to many of the nearby towns that offer hiking, shopping and other amenities that help you experience the region! All in all, do not miss a chance to stay here!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fh5elb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

we stayed here in May as part of a small touring group. the accommodation, food service welcome and position was second to none. The final night we were entertained in typical Turkish manner, music, good food and conviviality. thank you for the recipe for your wonderful hummous. A home away from home.

Room Tip: take the top room for fantastis views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dianne_jenkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Gamirasu is an absolutely fabulous place to stay at! It is a little away from the Goereme area, in a small local village that is not yet overrun by mass tourist crowds and has maintained much of its traditional agriculture. The rooms at Gamirasu are fantastic, the staff goes out of their way for you, and the food is excellent. Stay as long as you possibly can! This is also a splendid honeymoon retreat.

Room Tip: Get a cave or honeymoon suite! It is really worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raiber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayvali
6.6 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
6.1 mi away
Sacred House
Sacred House
#10 of 68 in Urgup
362 reviews
7.0 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#12 of 30 in Uchisar
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
6.4 mi away
Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions
6.9 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gamirasu Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gamirasu Cave Hotel

Address: Ayvali, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup > Ayvali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ayvali
Price Range: £81 - £474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gamirasu Cave Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gamirasu is the name of an exquisitely restored 35 rooms troglodyte cave house opened in 1998, in Ayvali Village near Urgup in the heart of Cappadocia, Turkey. The hotel is located in a restored thousand-year-old Byzantine monastic retreat which offers modern conveniences without distracting from the spiritual feeling of the area which has been known to be inhabited for more than five thousand years. Gamirasu cave Hotel is featured in major international travel guides as one of the best cave hotels of Cappadocia. Recently Business Insider choose '' 50 incredible hotels you should sleep in during your lifetime '' It is also mentioned as a romantic escape for honeymoons in wedding magazines. A 12th century Byzantine Christian church forms part of the Gamirasu, and until recently, part of the hotel was still used by Christian monks. Much care has been taken to blend the historic facades with the natural curves of the Cappadocian landscape to preserve its traditional style and appearance whilst providing you with the utmost in modern conveniences. The finish is stylish and the atmosphere inviting and romantic. Indeed, it is the perfect honeymoon destination, with many couples choosing the intimate cave suites for access to some of the most breathtaking and unforgettable scenery in the world. The sense of tranquility and authentic village atmosphere around the Gamirasu is instantly soothing, with nothing to disturb you but the sound of birds and sumptuous aromas drifting across the warm air from the old Monastic kitchen. Breakfast consists of all local and organically grown produce, including freshly baked bread, clotted cream, honeycomb and fresh fruit. A 7km hiking trail departs from the front door of the hotel and follows a remote valley with a beautiful brook flowing down the middle. In every direction, you are surrounded by breathtaking views, extraordinary natural shapes and a myriad of cave-dwellings to explore. It really is the most mesmerizing of destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gamirasu Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gamirasu Cave Urgup
Hotel Gamirasu Cave
Gamirasu Cave Hotel Turkey/Ayvali, Cappadocia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing