We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gamirasu Cave Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ayvali
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Unique spot”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in a delux room, quite nice. Really liked the cave feel. The pool is very nice, especially after a long, dusty day of touring around. Our friend had a single room and despite not having any natural light, was cleverly designed to make you think there was real sun shining in. The people who work at the hotel are very friendly and work hard to make your visit great. I would have given this review 4.5 stars if it wasn't so isolated. You pretty much have to eat your meals there and while the restaurant is good, more than 2 nights would get to be too much. If you're looking for a non-traditional hotel, this is one for you.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are different, the pictures on their website are very accurate. You can just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole_from_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    846
    82
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
223
419
36
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights and the experience was just great! Every room is so unique - well furnished with all the amenities & facilities inspite of living in a cave! A special mention to the staff who were so helpful and warm- excellent service. Delicious food on the terrace overlooking the caves lit up at night- the chef made our favorite dishes on request. The hotel puppy - pamuk was the cutest ! A must stay

Room Tip: Stayed in the cave suites near the pool- was great as we dint have to climb too many stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nidhima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed with another couple in May 2014 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this magnificent hotel. The staff were super friendly and could not do enough for you. We even had a staff member come and pick us up from the top area so that we did not have to walk down the steep road leading to the hotel. The room was large with more than enough room for the two of us and the tea and coffee making facilities were welcomed, especially after a long day out sightseeing.
Our evening meal was included and the food on both nights we stayed was good quality and delicious. There was also a good breakfast spread and the fresh egg station was a bonus. We would definitely recommend this hotel to any person travelling to Cappadocia.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller7166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
644 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Hands down! What a cool location! Upon arrival we were given a glass of local wine. That got things off to a great start! They then took us to our room and it was a beautiful room. Just exquisite. But it was not a cave room and my wife, in tears, told me she was so looking forward to a cave room. Not being an aggressive person, she got the nerve to go back to the desk and explain her dilemma and they immediately without question showed her a cave room we could have and she jumped at it. They came and gladly moved our luggage and my wife was so happy (point to newlyweds, keep the mrs. happy!). Our stay there was just wonderful and a highlight of our time in Turkey. Great breakfast, great areas to eat your breakfast around the premises, and the staff. WOW! What friendly and accommodating folks! My wife let slip it was our 35th wedding anniversary trip and they surprised us with a great big bowl of fresh fruit and a bottle of wine. I can't say enough about this hotel. The staff did everything they good to help us have an enjoyable stay. If you are looking for a cave hotel, this is THEE place you want to be. Excellent location, great views and and great staff! The mrs. actually cried when we left.

Room Tip: Get a cave room. You won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nriemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Enjoyed the second half of our ruby wedding trip in Turkey in this amazing hotel. Very warm welcome and a lovely little suite of caves with a view down the valley. Unfortunately unable to sit out on our small terrace as the weather was poor but enjoyed a swim on our last day in the rain! Lovely touch of rose petals on our very comfortable bed on our anniversary. Staff all delightful. Ate each night in the restaurant as food and service excellent. A lovely last breakfast was brought for our very early trip to the airport. Definitely would return and can't recommend highly enough.

Room Tip: All the rooms are individual but not all in caves as some are in the old monastery building. All wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

WOW! We haven't been able to stop saying this for two days. I still can't believe what I'm seeing. This was a church and monestary which was carved out of living rock in a cliff/rock formation. It is 1100 years old, but completely refurnished. Our room and the room for our kids is just huge. Our bed is larger that anything I've seen before its like two queen beds put together. The ammenites are top drawer and the furnishings make you feel like you're a Sultan, absolutely magnificent!

The food is quite good in the restaurant and even the local wines are higly recommended. We will do some research on these wines when we return to Canada.....a couple we tasted we're world class.

If you get the chance to take a balloon ride, do it. It leaves very early in the morning and you drift thought the valleys where you will see amazing cave homes and rock formations like no where else on earth. Worth the expense.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Cheyenne2_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

As we got to Gamirasu, we were welcomed with fresh orange juice (which is the best I've ever had) and to top it up we were upgraded to a superior family suite instead of the 2 deluxe rooms we had booked ! The rooms were amazing from the view, size, decor, detailing to the fancy bathroom with the jetted tubs and the back lit marble.
The staff were extremely nice and planned out our programme for both the days we spent in Cappadocia. Anyhow on our first day we decided to swim in the pool which had an amazing view of the caves and go on a hike from our hotel rather than jumping into doing more touristy things. We ate a really good dinner with a great view at Sukurogullari Cafe located in Urgup.
Early next morning we went for a hot air balloon ride, thoroughly enjoyed it and returned to the hotel for some great breakfast. You must try their apple tea, hot chocolate and relish their spread of cheese, fruit and meat. We then set out for a long day of sight seeing which we enjoyed.
We flew out really early the next day and the hotel specially organised breakfast for the 4 of us in our room at 6am which was delicious.

Tips for travellers :-
1. Cheaper to book hot air balloon flights locally than with the hotel as they charge a premium.
2. Fly with Kaya Balloons at 80€ per head or Urgup Balloon at 110/120€ per head.
3. Whirling Dervishes are avoidable and not worth the money(25€) and time(1 hour).
4. Rent a car it's much cheaper than taking a car and driver for 160€ a day.
5. Eat a meal at Old Greek House and don't forget to take a tour of it!
6. Use the free shuttle service of the hotel to and from Urgup and Mustafapasa.
7. Most importantly keep some time in your schedule to just enjoy the hotel!
8. Staff is extremely kind feel free to ask them anything.
9. Use the hotel shuttle for pick up and drops to the airport (15€ per person) vs taxi which is 180 lira per ride.

Overall we had a fantastic stay at Gamirasu Cave Hotel which we later found out was the first ever cave hotel in Cappadocia and a special shout it the lady at the reception who played a huge part in this!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayvali
6.6 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
6.1 mi away
Sacred House
Sacred House
#12 of 65 in Urgup
336 reviews
5.9 mi away
MDC Hotel
MDC Hotel
#6 of 65 in Urgup
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Yunak Evleri
Yunak Evleri
#8 of 65 in Urgup
664 reviews
3.0 mi away
Perimasali Cave Hotel - Cappadocia
6.8 mi away
Argos in Cappadocia
Argos in Cappadocia
#7 of 28 in Uchisar
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gamirasu Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gamirasu Cave Hotel

Property: Gamirasu Cave Hotel
Address: Ayvali, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup > Ayvali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ayvali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gamirasu Cave Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gamirasu is the name of an exquisitely restored 35 rooms troglodyte cave house opened in 1998, in Ayvali Village near Urgup in the heart of Cappadocia, Turkey. The hotel is located in a restored thousand-year-old Byzantine monastic retreat which offers modern conveniences without distracting from the spiritual feeling of the area which has been known to be inhabited for more than five thousand years. Gamirasu cave Hotel is featured in major international travel guides as one of the best cave hotels of Cappadocia. Recently Business Insider choose '' 50 incredible hotels you should sleep in during your lifetime '' It is also mentioned as a romantic escape for honeymoons in wedding magazines. A 12th century Byzantine Christian church forms part of the Gamirasu, and until recently, part of the hotel was still used by Christian monks. Much care has been taken to blend the historic facades with the natural curves of the Cappadocian landscape to preserve its traditional style and appearance whilst providing you with the utmost in modern conveniences. The finish is stylish and the atmosphere inviting and romantic. Indeed, it is the perfect honeymoon destination, with many couples choosing the intimate cave suites for access to some of the most breathtaking and unforgettable scenery in the world. The sense of tranquility and authentic village atmosphere around the Gamirasu is instantly soothing, with nothing to disturb you but the sound of birds and sumptuous aromas drifting across the warm air from the old Monastic kitchen. Breakfast consists of all local and organically grown produce, including freshly baked bread, clotted cream, honeycomb and fresh fruit. A 7km hiking trail departs from the front door of the hotel and follows a remote valley with a beautiful brook flowing down the middle. In every direction, you are surrounded by breathtaking views, extraordinary natural shapes and a myriad of cave-dwellings to explore. It really is the most mesmerizing of destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gamirasu Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gamirasu Cave Urgup
Hotel Gamirasu Cave
Gamirasu Cave Hotel Turkey/Ayvali, Cappadocia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing