We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous location and totally relaxing”
Review of Santa Chiara

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pierantonio
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Santa Chiara
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We went there with my 17 year old son, and 18 month old baby girl and stayed in the 2 bedroom top apartment. It is exactly as they describe, and if anything, even more beautiful.

The location is very remote, so if it's lots of local culture and restaurants you're after, this is not the place for you. However, if it is glorious real Italian countryside you want, with superb wine and the best olive oil you'll ever taste, then this place is perfect! Paul and Anita are delightful landlords who understand what it is to have young kids (they have 2 of their own). The pool is lovely and a very welcome relief from the midday heat (we were there for 1 week from 13th to 20th July).

Get a good map and go and explore the area - lots to do and see. The local vineyards do great tours and food, and Paul makes his own superb olive oil which you can buy - I wish we'd bought more!!

Paul and Anita offer some on-site services, but it's worth remembering that this is a self-catering holiday, not a hotel, and they live there too, with their own lives to lead. It's not an issue if you get the perspective right.

As a rustic, remote and peaceful location, it is just about perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjg247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
There are newer reviews for Santa Chiara
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed in early July in the small one-bed apartment with our 2 year old boy. Paul and Anita have everything setup so well - as well as the lovely pool, there are 2 play areas for the kids with swings, slides and a wendy house. Additionally, they also had a toy box in the apartment full of cars, lego and other toys to keep our little man occupied! There was also the option of some pre-prepared meals for him (and us) which meant that when we got there after a long drive from Rome we didn't have to think about cooking. It was this kind of attention to detail that really made the holiday.

The location itself is very good - a mile or so up a white road - peaceful and beautiful yet within easy access of main roads and all the sights to see in the area. The grounds are awash lavender, rosemary and olive trees and you can get fresh eggs from their own chickens!

All in all a lovely place to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djwhisky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Have just returned from a fantastic time away at Santa Chiara. From the moment you drive up you soon realise this is a very special place. In a remote location down a single track road, with very little traffic to speak of, but only 10 minutes from the motorway to perugia it is ideally located. The location is really stunning, and the photos dont do it justice. The area is very hilly with lots of forest-type landscapes around. The villa itself is a beautiful restored farmhouse, and has a wonderful swimming pool that was a perfect antidote to the 35 degree C heat we had most days. Our apartment, rancale was the largest one, and furnished to a very high standard, the only downside was that the patio area is separated from the main apartment by 12 stone steps which is a bit of a hassle when transporting food, children and plates to and fro at mealtimes but not insurmountable by any means. Paul, Anita, Alessandro and Isabella are exceptional hosts and did everything to make our stay extremely comfortable. We were all very sad to leave.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NottsAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

This was a very quaint place. The Owners are very friendly and helpful. they have a couple of kids, so are very amply friendly. The place we stayed in was a single bed room apartment - just for my wife and 2 year old son. It had a fully equipped kitchen, fridge and basic restroom.

The place is an old building but renovated and is about 2 km off the main road in pierantonio. It is in the corner of a small valley, and the views are very picturesque. So you have to drive a long way in on a dusty white road to get there.

I gave this a 4/5 only because it did not have the best options for food, but otherwise we had a very nice time.

Pierantonio is very close to many great regional destinations - a 1hr drive from some good locations so it was easy to get around from here.

We went there in July, and despite the very war days, the nights were cool, and pleasant. Since we traveled from Singapore, we found the water in the swimming pool a bit too cold despite the warm days. There was a slide and swing I used a lot, and the owners were kind enough to give me their tv and DVD player with some kids DVDs to entertain my son.

Since they only have 3 apartments - Theres no restaurant or onsite dining option, but They have a chef who cooks on pre-order. We asked for a pasta one time and they prepared something for my wife and me (30 euros) - while it was expensive it was large enough a portion for us to eat it for 2 nights.

The village of pierantonio is very small. They have a couple of restaurants there and a small supermarket. We had dinner at one of the local pizza restaurants one night and it was quite nice. I took my 2 year old every evening to play in a neighborhood playground.

There is a larger town Umbertide, about 5km away which has many more restaurants and a good supermarket (Coop) to buy supplies.

All in all a nice experience. I would prefer staying at a place that has in house dining options the next time. With a 2 year old, we ended up having dinner in the apartment most nights as we couldn't stay out late.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chiefu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We are back from a 2 week holiday in the Pantano apartment and it was wonderful.

The location itself is beautiful - right in a valley and stunning views of Umbrian hills all round. Its a great base for exploring central Italy, although we restricted ourselves to Umbria, spending most mornings lazing in the pool with our 1 3/4 year old.

The Pantano apartment is simply huge. We arrived late at night so it was left open for us - I went in first to prepare the cot for the baby, and actually got lost. There is a really big dining/living area and 2 large bedrooms - our son had a room to himself which could probably accomodate 3 if needbe. The balcony looks up and down the valley and is perfect for eating outdoors / lounging with a book.

Paul and Anita are welcoming, professional and caring, and are in tune with the requirements for a holiday with kids - there are inevitably minor emergencies (soaking through babygro at night on to sheet, too cold in pool) and they were always helpful and responsive. Anita's cooking is amazing - we went back stuffed with pasta and cheese, and bambino ate like a lord for the fortnight. Blue the cat provided endless entertainment in the evenings if swings, slides and playhouses weren't enough.

Guidebooks and trip advice are all forthcoming, and the crucial inside info that Lonely Planet doesn't tell you is very useful - the Minimetro in Perguia wasn't even mentioned for example, but saved a horrendous argument with Italian one-way systems!

We would recommend the location to anyone, especially with a child, although a post-holiday diet is essential!

Room Tip: Close the shutters in the babys room and they sleep on FOREVER
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crumble79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We've been lucky enough to visit Santa Chiara before but this was the first time we have been since we had our son. What we wouldn't have realised on our previous visits was that it is an ideal place to bring a young child for their first holiday away. As per usual, Paul and Anita were the perfect hosts and they had all the necessary equipment to make it safe and entertaining for our 2 year old. Everything from bed guards to Thomas DVDs!
The swimming pool is a great place for a little one to gain confidence and Anita's cooking is so good that you don't need to ever leave Santa Chiara!
We are already looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smiddlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We recently returned from a fabulous week at Santa Chiara and cannot add to the previous reviews. Whilst most people visit with their children we brought my aged 70 plus parents - we all had a great time. The weather was glorious, apartment was spotlessly clean and spacious, location and views simply stunning and the hospitality was second to none. Anita and Paul (and their children) are great hosts and really made such an effort to please their guests. We joined them at the local sports field to watch the Italy vs Spain final of the Euro cup and they also kindly hosted a BBQ for the guests on another evening. During our stay they provided us fresh eggs and figs from the garden. For those who enjoy cooking, the kitchen was well stocked and had all the equipment necessary to cook most meals. The Rancale apartment was ideal for two couples as each has their own bathroom. We have stayed in numerous self-catering apartments in Italy and this is the best by far. It will be hard to find another to match this level of quality.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Santa Chiara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Chiara

Address: Via Case Nove 86, 06019 Pierantonio, Umbertide, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Umbertide > Pierantonio
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Pierantonio
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful Umbrian stone farmhouse was restored in 2005 and converted into 3 luxury self catering holiday apartments with swimming pool. Santa Chiara is set amongst lush gardens of Oleander, Hibiscus and Figs and has its own Olive Grove with over 100 trees. The house offers fantastic uninterrupted views down the rolling green valley with the imposing figure of Monte Tezio and its nature reserve dominating the horizon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Santa Chiara Pierantonio, Italy - Province Of Perugia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing