We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magical getaway in the Italian hills”
Review of Prato di Sotto

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pierantonio
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prato di Sotto
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A magical getaway in the Italian hills”
Reviewed 1 March 2010

Prato di Sotto is one of the most incredible places I have stayed in all my travels. In a beautifully secluded spot in the Umbrian hills, this lovely hotel offers everything we could dream of for our perfect getaway from our busy lives back home. Fresh air, great walks, lovely rooms and even a pool for the summer time, not to mention the spectacular views.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing, romantic Italian holiday.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jesshyams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
50
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, England
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2010

Our holiday began the moment we touched down at the small Perugia airport which nestles in the Umbrian countryside. Our journey to Prato di Sotto only took us half an hour and as we approached our destination climbing up the mountain on the "white road", we gasped at the magnificent views all around us. We were greeted not only by Penny our hostess, but by her friendly dogs as well and not waiting to unpack, we went to explore this wonderful mountain-top retreat which is Penny's home and becomes "home" to her many visitors worldwide. We had read and seen the video of Prato di Sotto and knew that our accommodation was in beautiful restored historic stone buildings, but actually being there and seeing for ourselves took our breath away. The birds really were singing all the time, the roses and lavender bushes in the landscaped gardens were a joy to behold and the sun was sparkling on the water of the pool. It could not have been a better welcome. Our accommodation was in one of the two apartments in the original farmhouse building, but we were shown the cottage which stands above the swimming pool and also the olive mill studio which sits to the side of the farmhouse. All the apartments have their own terrace. We spent two glorious weeks relaxing and sometimes venturing off to see the sights of Umbria, the small town of Umbertide just a 10 minute drive away down the mountain, Citta di Castello, Gubbio, Assisi, Todi, Perugia and Lake Trasimeno. We promised ourselves that on our next visit we would go north and visit Florence and south to Rome if of course, we could bear to tear ourselves away from our own "heaven on earth" which is Prato di Sotto.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunningwell, Oxford
Level Contributor
95 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2010

Prato di sotto is a magical place - if you want bright lights, noise and buzziness, don't come, but if you want fantastic views, a wonderful authentic property, and total peace and quiet, it's the place for you. We have visited PdS a number of times now and couldn't rate it highly enough. The accommodation is lovely - Penny the owner has worked fantastically hard to renovate the property - it looks beautiful outside and in, and is very comfortable. Each appartment has its own space, and there is a lovely shared pool - great for that sundowner, looking at the amazing view of the Umbrian mountains. We have stayed in the ground floor farmhouse appartment (La Terrazza which has a lovely, very secluded terrace) and the solo cottage (La Capanna), both lovely. Very well equipped kitchens (Penny is a more than keen cook herself so appreciates what you need to be able to turn that fabulous Umbrian local produce into a quick meal of an evening). The gardens are gorgeous too.

The location is great - you can be away from it all at PdS during the day and then venture out to one of the many local restaurants for a great meal. There are some amazing hidden local gems tucked into the hills. Penny will recommend what's currently good, and book you a table. If you need any advice about where to go or what to see, just ask. Nothing is too much trouble - and she'll even lend you her soppy dogs for a walk if you like too!

.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quoinbarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2008

We're returning to Prato di Sotto for the sixth time this year. This really is the most breathtaking place and a holiday there leaves you feeling totally at peace with the world. The views, the accommodation and the friendliness of the owner cannot be faulted. A dream location for our 30th wedding anniversary.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
Thank ChristinaKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2006

This was our fourth stay at Prato di Sotto, so you'll understand that we adore it. The situation, high in the Umbrian hills, is breathtaking and the complex - it's really a mini-resort - has been beautifully restored and furnished. We love the thoughtfulness of the owner, her friendly dogs and obliging chickens, her lovely pool and the beautiful roses which cascade over everything and grow bigger every year. It's surrounded by wonderful places to visit; - Gubbio, Assisi and Perugia are all beautiful mediaeval towns with magnificent art and architecture to discover, or you can take the Perugino tour and visit all the villages where his paintings are still on display in the churches for which he created them. If you're feeling more ambitious, Florence and Siena are easy day trips. But the place itself is so lovely that it gets hard to tear yourself away. Try visiting in spring for the meadow flowers and wild asparagus, or autumn for the truffles and the very best of the local cuisine.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank MissLavish26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pierantonio
1.4 mi away
Casa San Gabriel
Casa San Gabriel
#2 of 3 in Pierantonio
98 reviews
3.4 mi away
Agriturismo Casale degli Olmi
6.0 mi away
Agriturismo La Chiusa
Agriturismo La Chiusa
#2 of 9 in Umbertide
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prato di Sotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prato di Sotto

Property: Prato di Sotto
Address: Santa Giuliana | Umbertide, 06019 Pierantonio, Umbertide, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Umbertide > Pierantonio
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Pierantonio
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prato di Sotto is for the connoisseur. This collection of historic stone buildings sits above the tiny 13th century hamlet of Santa Giuliana, not far from the market town of Umbertide in northern Umbria. Lovingly restored by the owner, Penny Radford, and furnished with her personal collection of kilim rugs and antiques from around the world, the emphasis is on comfort and style. Beds are large and comfortable with crisp linen sheets and kitchens are equipped for even the most demanding cook. Read our amazing reviews we have received from TripAdvisor members... 'A little bit of heaven' 'Prato di Sotto is the jewel in the Umbrian crown' ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Prato Di Sotto Pierantonio, Italy - Province Of Perugia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing