We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magical weekend”
Review of Clan Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clan Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I had seen Clan Cottages onscreen but when we arrived they were even prettier and the setting was spectacular. We had a burn running behind our cottage and a regular parade of ducks to and from it. Inside our cottage was absolutely spotless and really well finished with everything you could wish for. John and Mary MacKinnon were so welcoming and so kind and that seemed to set the atmosphere around the cottages. While not being intrusive, the other guests were friendly and it was almost like being in a little community of our own where everyone got on really well. We used ours as a base to go into Oban play golf, visit the Cruachan power station and each tiimewe returned it was like coming home - that's how quickly we settled in. Delightful, comfortable, warm - a great place to go. Maggie and Alan Rough.

Room Tip: Some cottages have the burn running behind them, others have the view over the loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013

This is our 3rd stay at Clan Cottages and words cannot fully express the joy, contentment and pleasure that we get from each visit. Mary and John continue their great work with the cottages and the attention to detail is as good today as it ever was. We love the MacKenzie cottage and the mezzanine level adds to its charm.
Watching the birds, ducks and sheep is so relaxing and amusing especially when they try to sneak into the cottage! The views over the Loch are a delight first thing in the morning when the mist floats over the water.
It gets more difficult to leave after each stay which means we will return again and soak up the atmosphere and visit more of the area.
Thank you Mary and John for keeping your high standards and achieving your latest award. So very well deserved.
(for anyone who has a problem with the water heater at night, I suggest you simply switch it off!)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

It was our first holiday in Scotland and we couldn't be happier with our choice.
Wonderful location, close to Oban, beautiful scenery, plenty of places to go locally or further afield. Clan cottages are full of character, ideal place to stay and enjoy Scotland with all it's beauties. We stayed in Clan MacKinnon, which was lovely, tastefully furnished, very clean, lots of space, well-equipped kitchen, facilities are spot on and everything what you need is there (and I really mean everything - coffee, tea, kitchen foil, baking paper, washing liquid, dishwasher tablets... - plus everything was in eco-friendly quality, we were really impressed). The weather was cold but sunny and bright, much better than we expected, great for exploring the country. Cottages and location is marvellous, scenery beautiful, Mary and John very welcoming and helpful. They tried (and succeeded) to accommodate all our needs....overall a DELIGHTFUL holiday. We spent two weeks in this lovely cottage and I have to say we were very sad to leave. Thank you John and Mary for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed in the one bedroom Clan MacKenzie .We agree with "Nice but not perfect". The bed was very small for a couple...definitely not queen size, mattress hard, and the noise of the hot water heater very disturbing at night. Apart from this the cottage is 1st class, clean, and we'll equipped. The setting is lovely with Loch Nell , sheep, and ducks...very bucolic. But some attention to increasing the size of the bed would be a great improvement.
S and D.June 18- June 25 , 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Delightful. Cute. Quiet. Dramatic. That's how we described our holiday home when we arrived at Clan Cottages. The setting, cottage and location impressed us, but the scenery completed the package, cocooned as we were by hills, river, and LochNell.
Home comforts meant our week was well catered for, with a well equipped kitchen, and cosy furnishings. Outside the lambs bleated us awake in the morning, and 'spot the wild life' amused us
into evenings that stayed light till very late. John and Mary have kept a well stocked cabin of DVD's, books and games; very thoughtful idea. A short drive into Oban-through more beautiful scenery-took us to some great seafood restaurants. Ferry trips to the Islands of Mull, Iona etc are worth doing too. We waited too long to do this holiday in Scotland, so glad we chose CLAN COTTAGES.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingahEssex_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

If you are planning a trip to Oban this is THE place to stay! Mary and John have created an idyllic place for a self-catering holiday exploring Oban and surrounding area. Being originally from Oban, it was an emotional trip home for me and I wanted to show my husband and friends where I come from and Clan Cottages was just the perfect place to base ourselves. We stayed in the MacDougal cottage which had everything we needed and more! Loads of space, well-equipped kitchen, large shower room and the en-suite with spa bath was luxury!! I fell in love with the view from the kitchen sink...would never complain about washing the dishes if I could look out at Loch Nell every day! Oban, with all it has to offer, including some fabulous sea food restaurants, is only a 10 minute drive away. Clan Cottages came highly recommended to me and I can now highly recommend them to anyone else. Thank you John and Mary for a perfect stay! We hope to be back soon

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary M, Owner at Clan Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Thank you so much for the fantastic review you gave us. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us as it is very helpful for future guests. We are very lucky to have such good local seafood restaurants and this has earned Oban the title of "Seafood Capital of Scotland"

We were delighted you chose to come and stay at Clan Cottages and we hope you will not leave it so long before you return to Oban again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

According to the prescriptions on tripadvisor we expected lots. What we've got was even better. We stayed for 6 nights at Clan MacDougall Cottage (No.3). Everything absolutely clean, kitchen facility more than well equipped and the rooms lovely and tastefully furnished, attention to detail is the keyword everywhere. The views over Loch Nell and the hills simply outstanding. Surrounded by peace you are still only a 10 minute drive away from Oban's amenities. We also loved our hike to Lochan Corr Chnoic and the wee trips up Loch Nell with the provided rowing boats a lot. Thank you Mary and John. With your hard work and your lovely, dedicatet personality you've made one of my dreams become true, to show Doris and the boys how bonny Scotland really is.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fredi1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary M, Owner at Clan Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Thank you so much for writing such a nice review for us. We appreciate your feedback and are really pleased you, Doris and the boys enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you come back to stay with us again some day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilmore
2.6 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
189 reviews
3.2 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,841 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
1,013 reviews
5.2 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
495 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cologin Country Chalets and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clan Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clan Cottages

Address: Kilmore | Oban, Kilmore, Oban PA34 4XU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban > Kilmore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Kilmore
Price Range: £97 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clan Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clan Cottages consist of 5 newly buillt thatched holdiay cottages. There is one 3 bedroom cottage, One 1 bedroom cottage with stunning mezzanine lounge and 3 2 bedroom cottages, one which has a Cat. 2 Visit Scotland Grading for assited wheelchair access. We are 6 minutes from Oban 'Gateway to the Isles' with all its amenities. The area is perfect for walking, cycling and fishing. There is also an abundance of wildlife. The MacKinnon and MacDonald cottages accept a max of two dogs. Dogs are charged £5 per dog per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Clan Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clan Cottages Kilmore, Oban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing