We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sheep Fank Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Kilmore B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Our stay was superb thanks to the hosts who made us feel very welcomed, cooked us very tasty breakfast, told us so much about the local area, made us laugh. The rooms are fantastic, they are big, bright, extremely clean and tidy. Little details like bathrobes, body cream, range of tea bags, choco eggs for Eater Sunday..The owners love what they do and you can sense it. Definitely recommend! Thumb up!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReggiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

For the perfect base from which to explore Oban and the surrounding countryside, look no further than Jeff and Jane Darby's perfect B&B, just 10 minutes outside Oban in the picturesque Glen Feochan. Our stay with them was perfect in every way. We booked one of the large doubles, and the smaller double, for our family of three (mom, dad, daughter), and although we could have easily fit in a third bed in the larger double, Jane offered a very generous discount on the two rooms for our three nights, and we certainly enjoyed the extra space. Our double was very large as B&B rooms go, with plenty of room to lounge about and relax. The furnishings looked new, and the large en-suite bathroom was immaculate.

Breakfasts were a pleasure, with Jane delivering delicious plates of food, remembering what we ordered from previous meals and adjusting things as necessary. She made a special effort to accommodate our daughter, which was very much appreciated. Jeff provided expert advice on places to see, including the recommendation for the best chippy in town.

Their best suggestion, however, was for dinner at the Barn, a local restaurant on the way into town. They were headed out to eat there on the night of our arrival, and we followed after them. Although they were booked full, we reserved a table two nights later, and the experience we had there was one of the highlights of our 10-day stay in Scotland.

Thank you, Jeff and Jane, for your wonderful hospitality and gorgeous home that you shared with us. When we return (when, not if!) to Scotland, we look forward to returning to Sheep Fank.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dunadan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane6543, Manager at Sheep Fank Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Sorry it has taken so long to respond to you. Thank you for your review, we were pleased that you chose to stay with us and enjoyed yourself! We hope that you may come back to Scotland soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Cannot thank Jane and Jeff enough for their great hospitality! Room was impeccable, clean, large and with amazing views and the location stunning, quiet and rural!
Stayed there for 5 days and could just stay there more often and loger.
Jane was amazing even with my child! A+

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We have now stayed with Jane and Jeff three times in their lovely house in the Musdale countryside about 3 miles south of Oban. Plenty of easy parking in the front drive.

The house and rooms are spotless and exceptionally roomy with everything you could possibly want. From the friendly reception to the cheery goodbye nothing is too much trouble.

The breakfasts are superb and Jane goes out of her way to ensure she precisely meets any specific requirements like vegetarian or gluten free.

We have stayed in many B&Bs and this has to be our all-time favourite. With so many great places to see around Oban this makes a relaxing and comfortable location to stay.

You do need a car otherwise the house is about 3/4 mile from the main road (bus route). Jane and Jeff can give you plenty of local knowledge and information to enhance your visit.

Thoroughly recommend a stay; in our opinion 4 star is not a high enough ranking.

Room Tip: There are two very large rooms with large en-suites with shower. If you stay in 'Mull' the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

Very friendly and happy to offer advice. Breakfast was excellent and it is clear that the owners took a great deal of pride in their business. Unfortunately didn't get to see the pinemartin, but the owners were kind enough to show us their video and photos of it. We will certainly be back next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Icklemarmot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

A very nice and modern B&B just outside of Oban. The Owners are wonderful guest hosts and very helpful with lots of recommendations for the area. The rooms are very nice, with enough space for all your things, docking station for your Iphone, DVDs for the available player and the breakfast was marvelous. It was a wonderful stay for the start of Scotland tour.

Room Tip: Blue double bed room is huge and has a bathtub
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Achim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This is a real find! So peaceful, and the owners were very accommodating and friendly.

We were a couple with our toddler son and we stayed in the twin room. There was plenty of room for the travel cot and our luggage. The finish in the rooms is very professional, with beautiful soft furnishings. We didn't have the en suite but we did have a large bathroom to ourselves, just a step across the hall way.

The garden was beautiful. June and Jeff were happy to let us sit at the picnic table during the daylight hours, and when evening came, we sat out on the patio furniture.

The breakfast was delicious. Prepared to exactly how we wanted it. June also prepared extra little items off the kids menu for our son.

Thank you to June and Jeff for being so accommodating, especially to a family with a young, active toddler!

We hope to stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elwappos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilmore
3.3 mi away
Greystones
Greystones
#10 of 94 in Oban
212 reviews
2.6 mi away
Aspen Lodge Bed & Breakfast
3.1 mi away
Failte Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Old Manse Guest House
2.8 mi away
Briarbank Guest House
3.4 mi away
Hawthornbank Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheep Fank Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheep Fank Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Address: Sheep Fank Cottage Musdale Road, Kilmore, Oban PA34 4XX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban > Kilmore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kilmore
Price Range: £79 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheep Fank Cottage Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sheep Fank Cottage Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheep Fank Cottage Bed And Breakfast Kilmore, Oban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing