We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Taste of Goan Hospitality” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vivanta by Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sinquerim
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Taste of Goan Hospitality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

When you are on a holiday, it is the little things that make your holiday memorable. Nobody understands this better than the Taj hotels, and for that alone, I will give them a ten on ten.

From the moment we stepped into the property, courteous guards, reception staff, and every busybody in the hotel greet you with smiles. They welcome you as if you are an old friend returning home. We had a friendly Nalisha who showed us around and even upgraded our accommodation to a suite, though we had booked a superior room. Kids were delighted with goodies on a plate with their names inscribed with chocolate sauce. Every evening the housekeeping staff left a polite note that reminded us that we were being taken care of.

The property is impeccable, service flawless. The beach is stunning, especially if you get a private sit-out that overlooks the sea. I have been to Goa four times, and I fall in love with Goa every time I go there.

Taj is a labor of love, and you can see that when the service staff painstakingly gently places flowers in a ceramic bowl, ensuring that no flower overlaps with another flower. The attendant at the swimming pool is friendly, but allows no nonsense. That's good, especially when some guests forget to behave.

The downside was that the Gym and other facilities were away from the main property, as it was shared by the Holiday Village. Though the hotel offered free pickup and drop service, I felt that the effort was not worth the trouble.

The buffet spread was decent, but I have had better. This is one area the hotel can work on improving. Given that they are a five star hotel, they could probably work on improving quality. For instance the parathas tasted flat, and the puris were chewy and oily. Also, some Goan specialties would have added some fun element.

Would I come back to Fort Aguada? Sure, I'd love to. As I said earlier, it is the attention to detail that worked its magic for me. Taj made my holiday memorable, and I am grateful to them for their service.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimranTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,257
    625
    146
    72
    40
See reviews for
813
754
32
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (777)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

The Taj Fort Aguada is the the vintage old beach resort. Went with my wife in mid may and I must say the service was impeccable. We had an early flight into Goa, so they picked us up by coach at the airport, they also provide pickups in a pvt car but at an extra cost. They let us check in early since we arrived around 8 am...

Room Tip: if its not in your budget, just stress a bit more and you could have a wonderfull stay...and a world...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnilChaudary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

We stayed in this property for 2 nights, and thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it. The rooms are great with amazing view of the ocean. the staff is great, very courteous and extremely polite. But the highlight of the trip was the dinner which we did by the bar which is near the pool and almost next to the ocean. It was such a peaceful experience to enjoy nothing but the sound of the ocean and the sea breeze during a candle light dinner. Overall its an amazing place but can be a little steep especially during the peak season, cause at that time all hotels charge full rack rates. But the good thing is if you book a bit in advance you can have some really attractive deals which can be a steal sometimes.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a ocean facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank udayahlawat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey city
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Taj Aguada for 4 nights with all meals inclusive package. Didn't find the hotel to really b a 5 star hotel. The rooms were quite ok. Menu in speciality restaurant was pre set and was the same everyday for lunch and dinner which was quite annoying.
The amenities like billiards and tennis were not free and were chargeable by hour which was also not like any other 5 star hotel. They didn't serve drinks in the pool which was quite stupid.
Service was great and the view was good.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nitsjain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

The Taj Fort Aguada is the the vintage old beach resort. Went with my wife in mid may and I must say the service was impeccable. We had an early flight into Goa, so they picked us up by coach at the airport, they also provide pickups in a pvt car but at an extra cost. They let us check in early since we arrived around 8 am in the morning and we had a beautiful room with a sit out overlooking the beach. The rooms are little old style but have been refurbished.

Well now for some specifics

Food: The food in the coffee shop is ok, typical five star buffet...so a 3/5. The speciality restaurants are much better especially the sea food restaurant. It is great to sit at the sea food restaurant at night and enjoy the great food and view.They also have couple of nice bars which serve good alcohol. One can also avail of restaurants at the Taj holiday village which is a 5 min drive from Aguada.The hotel provides a pick up and drop from either properties.

Service:
Service is very polite and always ready to help. No complaints there

Gym/Health Club/Spa: There is a slight problem here as the gym/health club/spa isnt on property. Its located somewhere between holiday village and Aguada and while the hotel provides a car drop & pick up it is bit of a pain to go all the way to work out or use the spa. Thats one of the biggest drawbacks of the hotel.

Value for money: We went on all inclusive package which comes out pretty reasonable for couple of nights but I think all in all its a good deal if u want 5 star comfort

Room Tip: Chose the premium indulgence room with a sit out
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shantanu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
78 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

Maybe quite expensive for the younger crowd, but definitely worth the money they charge. The property is excellent, the view from the reception area is brilliant, the rooms are quite well furnished and updated an our overall experience was very very good. They have quite a good chain of restaurants as well as bar counters. Water sports is right across the gate, where guests can enjoy para sailing, jet ski rides, boating etc.

The big advantage you get at staying at the Taj Fort Agauda is that you can also make use of all the facilities at the Taj Village Resort which is right across the road. You can either walk it down to the Taj Village or make use of the complimentary shuttle drop. The pool, the tennis courts and the spa are located in the Taj Village which we made use of quite extensively. There is also a children's facility area in Taj Village which is quite highly recommended.

Room Tip: Well I stayed in the Deluxe garden villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Naveen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

stayed at the vivanta - fort aguada after a year and noticed a great change in the service level.. the attitude of the staff...right from the durban to the front office to the staff in the restaurants is outstanding...i think this was the best service seen after a long long time...
would highly recommend this place to families and couples..

Room Tip: nothing beats getting upgraded to the cottages with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vishig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sinquerim
0.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa
20.4 mi away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 14 in Benaulim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,788 reviews
2.9 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
#8 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
3.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Panaji
4.8 mi away
Acron Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa
Address: Dando, Candolim, Sinquerim 403515, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Goa > Sinquerim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sinquerim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vivanta by Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa is at its best. Romantic. Charming. Vibrant. It has history woven in its walls. It's where royalty, heads of government and the biggest celebrities are known to frequent. For the luxury Goa experience, which no other place has been able to recreate. Not much has changed. In the renewed rooms, cottages and villas, the nouvelle restaurants, the island bar, and the Jiva spa where you'll go Ah! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa Hotel Sinquerim
Fort Aguada Beach Hotel
Fort Aguada Beach Sinquerim
Fort Aguada Beach Resort
Vivanta By Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa Sinquerim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing