We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to retreat and spoil yourself”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taj Fort Aguada Resort & Spa, Goa
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sinquerim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Went as two couples and liked the place so much that we ended up staying in all three days. The staff were extremely helpful in booking and while we were there as well. if you are looking for a very relaxing place with a touch of the old rustic charm, then this is the place. If you are looking for more of the contemporary, sharp and with stuff like electronic curtains, etc, then you might prefer the Holiday village next door (i guess). But we found this place extremely satisfying.

We stayed in one of the cottages and it was spacious and reminds you of the old British cottage luxury. Had our own private garden with lawn furniture, never-tiring staff who would make long trips from the kitchens/reception everytime we ordered food or wanted anything - very courteous staff. Since the cottage is a little away from the reception, you can call a hotel cab to get you to the restaurant, pool, spa, holiday village's gold course, etc etc. and it makes things so easy.

The beach is not that great, but you can always drive to the other beaches.

The only thing they need to do is to add more sineage/directions to get to the hotel. Although we did not spend too much time wandering, we had to keep looking at google maps to figure out the way through the tiny streets of Goa.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mani_Prav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,950 - 1,956 of 2,427 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2012

The Taj at one point was the Epitome of luxury travel in India, but sadly its not done enough to keep up with the competition.

a very Bitter Sweet experience for us. The Hotel was packed to the Gills, so it was very lively. Decent Pool and one of the most amazing Vistas Goa has to offer.

Nalisha from the Front desk was very helpful and sweet. She made check in a breeze. WE are very thankful for a upgrade which the hotel gave us.

The staff at Latitude had their hands full at Breakfast. It seemed more like a Hostel Breakfast rather than a 5star Resort Breakfast. The buffets need a little more attention. Food at Taj is supposed to be a treat out of the ordinary, not an average restaurant experience.

The Set menu at The Thai Restaurant left a lot to be desired in both Taste and Variety. That was not becoming of the Taj name at all.

The Rooms have started to show their age, Taj needs to look into this as the newer Hotels are coming up all around and are much more updated.

The Taj Team is wonderful and tried their best to accommodate all our needs, but the hotel needs to think about an Area which is off Limits to young Children so that Adults can have some time without a beachball being thrown in their face :)

Will think about coming back after rooms have been renovated and an Adults only area is designated at the property for Dining and other Leisure activities.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank udaysingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Takes a while to get there from the airport and not on a major highway. Once you reach there and gaze out at the ocean, any stress is immediately 'washed away'.
The hotel has been designed to maximize the views from all major areas, see the photo gallery to get an idea.
We walked along the beach to the sister property - Holiday Village. Preferred this property as rooms overlooked the sea.
had a relaxing couple of days doing nothing - hearty breakfast, reading books in the bar overlooking the ocean, lunch, walks on the beach, snooze , more food and more walking.
Not a place from where you can easily get around and see places in Goa, there are more central locations. Recommend this place if you want to get away and just 'chill' for a few days.

http://www.vivantabytaj.com/fort-aguada-goa/overview.html

Room Tip: Get rooms on the ground floor as it has lovely gardens and you can put some chairs out and relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lluv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

At the airport we were greeted and taken to a bus/coach. There we were given a bottle of water and a face tissue. We were told that it would take 1hour15min to reach the hotel from the airport. So, the hotel is far, but you would enjoy every second of your journey looking at the beautiful landscapes, ocean, and the breathtaking views Goa has to offer.
When we reached the hotel, we were greeted with necklaces made of shells and a welcom drink.
The staff was vert courteous and polite and always had a smile on their face, something which feels welcoming to a traveller.
Now, the room. We checked into the Deluxe Allure Suite. It had a small sitting room upon entering the room and a terrace adjoinging. The terrace had two lounge chairs to sit on. Next, was a small enclosure with a cupboard, next to which was a disappointing bathroom. Very small. Just enough for one person at a time. The bedroom was good with the usual things. The furniture however was broken and there were stains on the lamp shades. Something one doesn't expect from Taj. The view from the room was the best.
The food was good and the bread basket is something you have to eat! For those of you who like Italian, please try the Saturday buffet dinner at Il Camino, their Italian restaurant.
There is a nice and big pool for those of you who like to swim.
I recommend this hotel to the ones who have come to Goa to relax, and for the spectacular views.
It's amazing when you see the water splash against the fort, which is open to public.

Great experience I have had and I will surely return for more!!

Thus summarising everything:
Pros: The view, Italian food( which I love), the hammock (on which you can spend countless hours)
Cons: the small bathroom, lack of maintenance

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Advisor97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Recently conducted a conference at this Hotel,had a lot of expectations however was terribly dissapointed.
Food was at best ordinary ,preferred food from outside the hotel.
If you are not staying in the cottages would advise you to look at other options.
Location is good but and resort is huge ,it takes forever for cabs to come for transport.
Other 5 star chains have stolen a march over Taj ,the service is best described kneejerk and mediocre.

Room Tip: If you are not staying in the cottages don't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jyotiprakashsahu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I had the opportunity to spend 4 nights at this hotel. First and foremost the airport pick up was seamless - in my previous travels with another hotel, ensuring we were on the "list" of guests for airport pickup was a problem, so was happy with this. The hotel location is beautiful. Because the Taj owns the adjacent property as well, there was a corner of the beach that was not private, but less frequented than most other beaches, so we were able to enjoy the water and water sports provided there. The property is right in front of the Fort, so we had easy access to the fort to enjoy some great views as well. The hotel property is dated, and the rooms are definitely in need for an update (specifically the washrooms) - but overall the property is well laid out and there are a lot of areas to sit and relax at...be it at the pool, on one of the terraces or in a hammock. The food was of excellent quality, but we found the breakfast to be a bit monotonous. Service provided by staff across the board was terrific. The hotel was quite busy during our stay, with a lot of families with children. We would definitely recommend this hotel for a relaxing family vacation.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the bottom floor (1st floor). These rooms have a walk in terrace and a small sit o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shiney_jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Anybody shelling out to have a vacation at TAJ expects the kind of services to live up to its brand name. In short i would say TAJ HAS MISERABLY FAILED TO LIVE UP TO ITS NAME , starting from the rooms which are extremely small in size , food spread was poor obviously to the amount we paid to have a AMERICAN PLAN , Pool is very small in size , In house dinning room extremely small to hold the large no of guest residing in the hotel . Guest usually have to wait for 20 to 30 mins , 3 times a day to get a table. Out dated bathroom fittings also we had a heavy water lea keg in our room one of the nites due to some maintenance problems. This is not expected from a brand name like TAJ -- VERY BAD , I WOULD,NT SUGGEST ANYBODY TO GO . In fact just 2 months back we stayed at MARRIOTT RESORTS & SPA IN GOA , BELIEVE ME IT WAS WORTH EVERY SINGLE PENNY SPEND, IN FACT WE HAD SPEND MORE IN BOOKING AT TAJ. BUT NOT WORTH THE AMOUNT. COMPLETELY A DISAPPOINTING EXPERIENCE. IT WAS OUR FIRST AND PROBABLY LAST STAY AT ANY OF THE TAJ HOTELS COZ AFTER THIS KIND OF EXPERIENCE I WOULD,NT CONSIDER TAJ ANYWHERE ACROSS INDIA.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ShamiraMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sinquerim
0.2 mi away
Taj Holiday Village Resort & Spa
20.4 mi away
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa Goa
2.9 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 3 in Bambolim
2,520 reviews
3.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Panaji
1.6 mi away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Fort Aguada Resort & Spa, Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Fort Aguada Resort & Spa, Goa

Address: Candolim | Sinquerim Beach, Fort Aguada, Sinquerim 403515, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Sinquerim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sinquerim
Price Range: £143 - £425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Fort Aguada Resort & Spa, Goa 5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Fort Aguada Resort & Spa, Goa, spreading across a picturesque 42 acres, meanders into the ramparts of the 17th century Portuguese coastal fort. The resort spreads on the sea front along the Sinquerim to Calangute beach stretch. It is an hour and half drive from the airport. Airport transfers by coach are offered as a complimentary courtesy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Taj Fort Aguada Resort & Spa, Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa Hotel Sinquerim
Fort Aguada Beach Hotel
Fort Aguada Beach Sinquerim
Fort Aguada Beach Resort
Taj Fort Aguada Resort & Spa, Goa Sinquerim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing