We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but that's it” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Town & Country Motel

Town & Country Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Town & Country Motel
Caloundra, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location but that's it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Starting with the positive, this is in a great location, within walking distance to bus stops and strathfield railway station. The motel and rooms are OLD - blue walls and a pink shower with an old shower CURTAIN. The rooms are big enough but really need a refurb! Having said that, it was clean. I gather the managers live off site because there is no-one available to assist after hours. One of the other guests even tried calling their after hours emergency number and it didn't answer. Another guest had pre-booked and arrived to find reception closed and no-one answered the phone so they left and looked for accommodation elsewhere. We were there four nights and the room was not serviced once. We had to go to reception and request soap and clean towels and another guest came back after hours to discover she had no soap and couldn't get any! In short, the only thing this has going for it is it's location and price, which was reasonable. If you stay, be prepared to buy your own milk, coffee and soap and air your towels and sheets, because unless things change, they won't be changed!

Room Tip: An upstairs room gets you a bit further away from the noise of people parking outside your door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    7
    8
    7
    12
See reviews for
10
5
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

Revolting, dirty and should be pulled down smells like a men's urinal. Vile place rip off and no Internet facility either..waste of time to stay here as you will not be ale to sleep. Turn down bed o black hair from previous person...gross

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Loumorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Strathfield South hotels

Penrith, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

Arrived about 3.30pm 13/04/13 opened the door couldn't stand the smell, the bed and linen was at least 40 years old. Went and got some food returned an hour later still couldn't stand the smell. The smell was so bad I couldn't eat in the room let alone sleep there. I handed the key back by 4.30pm the same day. I ate in the car. For the price I wasn't expecting much but I didn't expect it to be inhabitable.

Room Tip: Sleep in the car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

The Town & Country Motel does not live up to its 3 1/2 star rating. My 3 day stay started badly when there was no receptionist available to check me and a number of other guests in. We waited almost an hour before someone arrived to do the job. My room was very tired when I eventually got to it. It was clean enough although there were still plenty of cobwebs that needed clearing. However, the TV didn't work and although there was an iron, the ironing board was missing. It took two days for these shortcomings to be fixed. Room service breakfast was advertised from 7.00am, but when I submitted the menu I was told the cook didn't arrive until then and so breakfast would not be available until around 7.30am. This was too late for me as I had early business meetings to attend. Overall, my stay at the Town & Country was disappointing and I will not be going back despite its handy location for my business purposes.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Georgie0497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed here because most of the hotels in the north part of Sydney were booked out. We had a family room. The rooms are a little tired looking however it was clean and the bed comfortable. Also price was reasonable given that it would have cost substantially more to stay somewhere else. The receptionist was friendly when we checked in. The only issue we had was that our room was only partially cleaned. The bins weren't emptied and they hadn't replaced any tea/coffee/soaps for us. The other negative is that there's no wireless connection.

There isn't alot nearby however if you have a car you can get around. Burwood is the closest shopping centre and it has everything you need.

Overall I would say if you are just wanting somewhere to sleep at a reasonable price and don't have high expectations you shouldn't be too disappointed. Otherwise you may want to check out another motel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vergis5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

The receptionist was very helpful. Even though she had my credit card imprint she asked for a fifty dollar deposit for the key, which I thought was unusual. The motel looked ok from outside, but once you got in the smell hit you i think it was stale air or wet carpet but my son said it smelt like cat pee. The furniture was extremely outdated (from 1970s) the beds were hard and sagged. I wore thongs in the shower because the floor looked like it needed a good bleach as did the sink. It was adesperate last minute stay as our flight had been cancelled and we had a 75th birthday to attend. So it was only booked for one night. Wouldnt stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angbrito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings Point
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

Having moved to provincial NSW 2 years ago from Sydney - when coming back to stay in the "big smoke" it is always great to stay in an area that I am totally familar with. The T & C Motel at South Strathfield always provides exactly what I need and is especially pleasurable with the welcoming service, staff like Jenny extend to me on my arrival.

Room Tip: As a non-smoker the room I always stay in is a genuine non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathfield South
1.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Enfield
Ibis Budget Enfield
#1 of 2 in Strathfield South
3.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Burwood
3.2 mi away
Ibis Budget Sydney Olympic Park Hotel
Ibis Budget Sydney Olympic Park ...
#4 of 4 in Sydney Olympic Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Bankstown Sydney
2.6 mi away
Westside Motor Inn Ashfield
1.4 mi away
Strathfield Hotel
Strathfield Hotel
#3 of 3 in Strathfield
3.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town & Country Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town & Country Motel

Property: Town & Country Motel
Address: 401-405 Liverpool Road, Strathfield South, Strathfield, New South Wales 2136, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Strathfield > Strathfield South
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Strathfield South
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Town & Country Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As of 1st September 2014 Town & Country Motel is under New Management. Yes the motel is older style but it is very clean. We have just replaced all sheets, towels, pillows and protectors and are working hard at making the Town & Country Motel a great place to stay. The rooms are spacious and we are family and group friendly. Please give us a go, I'm sure you will be pleasantly surprised. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Town & Country Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing