We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“picture perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Onsenji Yumedono Ryokan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2012

To begin with the staff were so friendly and helpful as they picked us up from the train station and then dropped us back on our way home. they were there late at night when we arrived and spoke enough english. sleeping on the floor was not something we were used to but we were able to layer them up and it was quite pleasant. the onsen was the first i had ever experienced and i was fortunate that i had it all to myself - must experience this it was fantastic. overall a wonderful experience. also you should try the indian restaurant up the road, best curry i have ever had! taking the cable car up the mt opposite mt fuji is a must! there is also a really cute cookie shop at the bottom which smells amazing and they are really good to bring back as gifts. if you get a chance take to retro bus round the lake and visit the ice caves.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

92 - 98 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2012

Each Yumedono room has its own garden with onsen that you can jump in anytime you want, be it late at night or right after you wake up. A clean room filled with tatami mats gives you a truly classical Japanese experience. Meals are served in your room where you can enjoy complete privacy once you check in.

I recommend to visit this ryokan in winter to get the most of this very classical onsen accomodation. Imagine how fantastic it would be to enjoy a truly authentic hot onsen when snow is falling onto it. Don't forget to book a room of Japanese style in Yumedono.

Very costly but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank takainlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We stayed in a Japanese room at Hotel Yumedono. Service was spectacular despite the language barrier. Nevertheless, the staff at Yumedono were extremely helpful as they tried their best to communicate with us in bits and pieces of English. The whole ambiance was quite and peaceful. Although we were there on a cloudy day and could not see Mt. Fuji, I would still recommend it for anyone looking for a nice, quite, and restful stay. The Japanese room in Hotel Yumedono had its own private onsen. The room was very nice and very clean. I would totally recommend this for people! Also just as a suggestion that may help smooth over your stay at Yumedono: contact the hotel before your stay to introduce yourself. I contacted them because I was worried about the language barrier but they responded in English and were very helpful and cooperative!

Room Tip: Be sure to visit the hotel's website (it is in English) to get a better sense of the rooms becau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed here first time and this has gave us a most memorable stay experience. Hotel management is very kind to pick first from the JR upon arrival and he also sent us to the JR when departure under his compliment. Indeed a good experience staying in a traditional japanese room "Sakura", making up the futon bed by ourself and used the Onsenji facilitlies in the Spring. Thus, we are unable to enjoy the full view of Mt Fuji. But we have a wonderful time in this trip.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wonderland L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

The price may jump out at you but let me tell you this is an exclusive place with impeccable service. We stayed for 2 nights over Xmas Eve and Xmas in 2011. The room just wows you with its typical Japanese ryokan beauty while the private onsen under the red umbrella is soothing and totally cool especially in winter. The "obasan" was so attentive even warming our boots when we left our rooms and trying her best in her limited English to explain the delicacies we were eating. The kaiseki dinner has to be the highlight of the stay at Yumedono. We tried Fugu (puffer fish) shabu shabu, King Crab and Wagyu Ox Tongue Stew as part of the 1st night dinner. This was washed down with a 50 year old Japanese wine and a delectable almond pudding with fresh fruit. The next dinner included Hiroshima oyster, good sashimi followed by the highlight a hot plate Wagyu steak and Scallop and Kani rice. This place is totally amazing and u must stay for the whole experience of pampering and exclusivity indulgence. You will never forget it....!!!

Room Tip: None the exclusive 6 rooms only and all are fantastic...!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wesley_Wee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

My wife and I booked this Onsen based on the reviews on Tripadvisor and I must say that I is one of the best experiences I have had in Japan. Onsenji is NOT a huge commercial complex and we stayed in one of the suites which came with our private onsen pool. The staff is amazingly helpful and the food is simply excellent! Both dinner and breakfast are award winners! Kawaguchiko lake area is beautiful and I wouold advise anyone coming to saty here to arrive early to tour the area before heading to check in around 3pm.

Room Tip: Any of the 6 suites are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winston668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We stayed at the OnsenJi last year (september 2010). When we arrive Fuji Zan was hidden by the rain, but in the morning it was right in front of our window.

We stayed in the private area (they also have a B&B) and its way cheaper, but not at all comparable.

It is far to try and getting there, but once you get there is worth every penny, we had our own private baths (inside and outside). We only stayed there one night, the food (both breakfast and dinner) were amazing.

PLEASE Note: The food is more than delicious, but it WILL be different, try to experience something new. I know I dont regret it one bit.

The service! Wow

Room Tip: Look at the map in their website. Try to find the furthest in the corner (it has the bigger bath) yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J923571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fujikawaguchiko-machi hotels
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Konansou
Konansou
#1 of 73 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
439 reviews
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Kozantei Ubuya
Kozantei Ubuya
#3 of 73 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
462 reviews
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Shuhokaku Kogetsu
Shuhokaku Kogetsu
#2 of 73 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Oike Hotel Honkan
Oike Hotel Honkan
#28 of 73 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
82 reviews
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Fuji View Hotel
Fuji View Hotel
#6 of 73 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
236 reviews
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Toki Yuyu Rakuyu
Toki Yuyu Rakuyu
#8 of 73 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Onsenji Yumedono Ryokan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onsenji Yumedono Ryokan

Address: 6677 Funatsu, Fujikawaguchiko-machi, Minamitsuru-gun 401-0301, Yamanashi Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Yamanashi Prefecture > Minamitsuru-gun > Fujikawaguchiko-machi > Kawaguchiko Onsen
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Onsen Hotel in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
Price Range: £319 - £597 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Onsenji Yumedono Ryokan 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Onsenji Yumedono Ryokan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onsenji Yumedono Ryokan Hotel Fujikawaguchiko-Machi
Onsenji Yumedono Ryokan Japan/Fujikawaguchiko-Machi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing