We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel”
Review of Kozantei Ubuya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kozantei Ubuya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2013

From the moment I step into this hotel it feels like a real Japanese home. Such an amazing view from our room and a hot spring bath outside on the balcony, you can relax and enjoy the views of the lake and a mt.Fuji. Guests are not allowed to wear their own shoes at this hotel, in a room you can find robes and shoes so you can use them to go to your dinner or to the onsen area. Basically you don't need to take any clothes or cosmetics - they have everything ready for you!There is a very nice onsen area and a lounge where you can read a book or drink a tea, or use internet as it is only place in a hotel with wifi connection. Lots of things at the souvenir shop,from food till jewelry, for those who like to shop.. For dinner we choose a Japanese menu,which were served in a private tatami room and the food quality (kaiseki) was just great same as the service. We had a very romantic,very relaxing and great time. I wish we could stay longer! I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

192 - 198 of 467 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

This place is awesome. Splurge for the private balcony and hot tub on the deck. The views and the food is superb. The service is as good as any place I have been in Japan (or elsewhere) for that matter. They provide a nice welcome tea and snack and upon check-out they load your car for you, stop traffic so you can pull out, then wave until your car is out of sight. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong here. There's only 50 rooms so don't sweat it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JGR528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Loved this spa hotel. No shoes allowed in the room! You get slippers, robes and yukatas to wear.
The rooms are appointed like a traditional Japanese home. The views are to the South, i.e. the lake and beyond the majestic and sacred Mount Fuji.
The food choices are traditional Japanese or Western. You get a private dining room that feels a bit like a conference room. Strange at first but very private indeed. the walls are glass but the purpose I suppose is undisturbed conversation. The lounge has the same great views and fortunately an espresso machine, as well as a huge selection of teas.
The staff is very friendly but only a few have a mastery of English. Be patient.
You can sit in our own hot tub on your balcony and enjoy the spectacular views.
The hotel is a short drive from the railway station and the hotel provides pick up.
I recommend the monkey show only a few miles away. It is hilarious! You got to see it to believe it. Mind you, the monkeys don't speak Japanese either...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faubel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Our group came to this hotel late in the evening. We had traditional japanese food with variety of decoration. Then I tried onsen or japanese hot spring. It was difficult to find onsen room because we had to use different isolated elevators. I was so happy with outdoor onsen. We had nice sleep on japanese mattress. It was amazing to see Fuji mountain in front of our room. Fuji in summer is not as beautiful as in winter. But I was glad to see it closely and clearly.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aroonwan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

During check-in, we just wait in the lounge area and were served green tea and a little snack. Staffs were nice and informative of all the events (complimentary alcoholic drinks before dinner, origami frog jumping game for kids at night, tea-drinking for supper). View was amazing but Fuji-san did not say hi when we were there. Hotel is clean overall but bathroom in the room is a bit smelly. Futons are quite comfortable. Dinner and breakfast are good. However, onsen did not feel as original as the one in Noboribetsu. Check-out the shop though, the snacks are good souvenirs for bringing back home.

Room Tip: Any room with Mt. Fuji view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pkelly990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

What makes this hotel or ryokan one of the best is the view. Fuji-san is such a landmark in Japanese culture, art, daily life and everything and this hotel has arguably the best view of Fuji-san. As soon as you enter the main room, you face the big window facing Fuji-san and its reflection on Kawaguchi-ko. Well, that of course depends on your luck, which depends on the season and weather at the time. But this hotel has the best chance of seeing the Fuji-san. At night, you can also clearly see the light track of people climbing Fuji-san during the summer.

This hotel also has a two-store onsen with Rotenburo (outdoor one). Of course, sauna, too. One side of the onsen is put glass, so that you can see Fuji-san from onsen, too.

The food was excellent. Make sure you order 120g beef or more if you order the beef. I was told by a frequenter that the menu does not change. So if you stay for the second time, be aware of that and don't get disappointed ;)

The service was just outstanding. Japanese hotels are really good in general but one thing that it separated from others is that the okami visits every guest room. She knew everything about our reservation. She paid attention to details and initiated a conversation that relates more personally to us.

I really have to come back here. I could just sit in the room and watch Fuji-san entire day and I would not be bored.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank classJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

This hotel is wonderful in every way but the best thing about it in my opinion is the absolutely breathtaking views of Mount Fuji. We stayed in room 503.

We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel and the presentation of the meals is so unique and delightful for foreign visitors. We mentioned that we wanted to visit the Itchiku Kubota museum to our server and he brought us a coupon to use on admission to the museum.

I liked that in addition to a yukata, the hotel also offered you "monk's clothes" (pants and top) to wear.

The futon was rather thin; only about 7 centimeters. I probably could have requested another one so I could have double thickness but I didn't do that.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pugmama-san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fujikawaguchiko-machi hotels
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Konansou
Konansou
#1 of 73 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
443 reviews
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Shuhokaku Kogetsu
Shuhokaku Kogetsu
#2 of 73 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
289 reviews
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Oike Hotel Honkan
Oike Hotel Honkan
#30 of 73 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Mizuno Hotel
Mizuno Hotel
#11 of 73 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
244 reviews
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Fuji Lake Hotel
Fuji Lake Hotel
#15 of 73 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
217 reviews
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Toki Yuyu Rakuyu
Toki Yuyu Rakuyu
#8 of 73 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kozantei Ubuya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kozantei Ubuya

Address: 10 Asagawa, Fujikawaguchiko-machi, Minamitsuru-gun 401-0303, Yamanashi Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Yamanashi Prefecture > Minamitsuru-gun > Fujikawaguchiko-machi > Kawaguchiko Onsen
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
#1 Family Hotel in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
Price Range: £336 - £545 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kozantei Ubuya 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Expedia, Ikyu Corporation and Ebookers so you can book your Kozantei Ubuya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kozantei Ubuya Hotel Fujikawaguchiko-Machi
Kozantei Ubuya Japan/Fujikawaguchiko-Machi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing