We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Room”
Review of Kukuna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kukuna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Though expensive, the rooms in this perfectly placed property are extremely well-equipped and tastefully furnished. The rooms come with expansive lake views, and are stocked with everything you need for a relaxing stay. The roof-top onsen was thoroughly enjoyable -I went up at about 12am, which meant I had the whole onsen to myself. It was a very refreshing experience to soak in the outdoor onsen during winter. Of course, it had a fantastic view of the lake as well. I had a most wonderfully contemplative evening at the onsen, before heading back to the room for one of the best sleeps I've had in a long while.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ming H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
There are newer reviews for Kukuna
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 72 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2013

all hotel rooms comes with excellent view of lake and mount fuji
modern ryokan that gives feel of staying in a traditional ryokan but with the modern perks
hotel has very nice private hot spring rooms that can be booked separately (for a small fee) to enjoy hot spring with windows open face mount fuji and the lake.
hotel also comes with course dinner and half buffet of western food

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoaquinChanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Good experience, there is a beautiful hot spring, beautiful natural scenery, good food, good fruit, good service. The most memorable moment in between returning to the station, we were on a private basis. Very satisfactory

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoeW-MeoW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

After the crowd of Osaka and Kyoto we arrived to the peaceful Kawaguchiko lake. We stayed for 2 nights a the Kukuna hotel, it is a modern version of a ryokan. Indead it is expensive but we didn't regret it! We had our own private spa on the balcony facing the lake and Mount Fuji! What an experience! This place is famous for onsen so we went to roof top and enjoyed public onsen again facing Fuji! What an experience, so relaxing. Dinner and breakfast are included in price and were excellent. During day you can do a lot of walking,take cable car or a boat ride ride on the lake. We will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank V-M-Elise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

we were bumped to this hotel due to our chosen hotel being renovated, but we were thoroughly surprised with the magnificent view from the hotel which is the whole reason you stay in lake Kawaguchiko. we could enjoy mt fuji in all its glamour from our room and from the windows of the dining room each day. the variety available for breakfast was enough to satisfy everyones taste. Evening meals were a challenge to the children but overall enjoyable. We had a japanese/western room which was just roomy enough for 4, and styled to a very high standard. not all staff could speak english but all staff were extremely pleasant and eager to assist with all our needs. the bus stops right outside the hotel so transport around the area is so easy with so many choices of activities. the hotel onsen itself is worth the stay. to luxuriate outside in the hotspa with mt fuji in front of you is a lifetime experience our family will never forget, especially as the day after we arrived there was a metre of snow, so we had an onsen with snow falling on our noses, quite magical. we would use this hotel again and would strongly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Roslyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Kukuna is one of the nicer hotels in Kawaguchiko (Ubuya two doors down is better). Great location and if the weather is nice has a spectacular view of the lake and Mt. Fuji. All the rooms face Mt. Fuji so you are guaranteed a view of Fuji san. The baths are not huge but good, indoor and outdoor baths looking straight out over the lake. The restaurant is good, not great, the menu an interesting mix of set menu plus buffet, so it has a slight cafeteria feel to it. The staff are friendly and they even have local craft beetr available. Thank you Kukuna for that. The hotel tries to have a Hawaiian-theme feel to it. Well... if you like that kind of thing, then fine but I prefer Japanese. The staff are helpful and friendly but in a more service trained way more than true hospitality way. The one thing I HATED about Kukuna however was.... the piped in music. From check-in until 11:00 at night every public area (except for reataurant - thank god) the lobby, the halls, the baths, the changing rooms, etc. all had music box music playing (olrugolu music) which I found extremely annoying. Maybe some people find it relaxing but no adult I know can stand that music for more than 2-3 songs. While trying to relax in the bath I was forced to listen to the Micky Mouse theme song played ala music box... terrible. Sorry Kukuna, if it was not for the music I would have given your hotel a better review. Also upon check out, nobody asked how my stay was, otherwisae I would have mentioned the music thing. If you like music box music, you will love Kukuna.

Room Tip: The craft beer is good.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank HankyPanky123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Absolutely stunning setting, right on the lake shore. Very friendly helpful staff, location fantastic.
Love the place!
The only part i didnt like was the set menu, beautifully presented, but the taste wasn't appealing to me.
Room was amazing with a hot tub on the balcony which was over looking the lake with Mount Fuji as the back drop.

Book yourself an private onsen (hot spring) on the top floor overlooking Mount Fuji...don't forget to bring a bottle of champagne! Truely awesome!

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of Mount Fuji...and of course a hot tub on the balcony!
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank on_da_edge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fujikawaguchiko-machi hotels
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Konansou
Konansou
#1 of 71 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
436 reviews
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Kozantei Ubuya
Kozantei Ubuya
#3 of 71 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
458 reviews
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Shuhokaku Kogetsu
Shuhokaku Kogetsu
#2 of 71 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lavista Fuji Kawaguchiko
#6 of 71 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
97 reviews
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Fuji Lake Hotel
Fuji Lake Hotel
#14 of 71 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
214 reviews
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Fuji View Hotel
Fuji View Hotel
#7 of 71 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kukuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kukuna

Address: 70 Asagawa, Fujikawaguchiko-machi, Minamitsuru-gun 401-0303, Yamanashi Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Yamanashi Prefecture > Minamitsuru-gun > Fujikawaguchiko-machi > Kawaguchiko Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
#2 Onsen Hotel in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
#3 Spa Hotel in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
Price Range: £273 - £555 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kukuna 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kukuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kukuna Hotel Fujikawaguchiko Machi
Kukuna Fujikawaguchiko Machi
Kukuna Japan/Fujikawaguchiko-Machi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing