We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$334
View deal
Expedia.com
US$349
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/10/21
Agoda.com
US$309
View deal
Hotels.comUS$349
CheapTicketsUS$349
Orbitz.comUS$349
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (641)
Filter reviews
641 results
Traveller rating
439
135
43
15
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
439
135
43
15
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews foot spa lake view private onsen kaiseki dinner train station mt fuji ryokan experience japanese style open air bath sukiyaki breakfast buffet nice ryokan great view provide free shuttle stayed one night beef relaxing stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
412 - 417 of 641 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2011

1st, prices are reasonable, i got a semi open air private bath Mt Fuji view room in just about US$500+ include supreme dinner and breakfast.
2. Great location, it just less then 10 minutes walk from Kawaguchiko train station~!
3. Staff are helpful and friendly. Room service staff very friendly and i can feel their happiness and willingness to serve us.
4. Dinner are great~ and volume is huge~! I just able to took half of the portion~!
5. View is perfect to Mt Fuji from my room, with a relax hot spring attach to my room~!

Sure will return again and again~

Room tip: Book advance from their website, and please mention your desire view of your room. Communicate via email to arrange your desire plan with them, they are very keen to receive any of your inquiry~!
Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank lkpoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 June 2010

We went during the blossom season where the weather was slightly temperamental.
We took a taxi from the train station which only took 5minutes. I wouldn’t recommend trying to walk it.
The ryokan looked beautiful from the outside and we were welcomed in, though we arrived too early for check in (3pm) so was ushered politely out and told to return at the correct time. They did however take our suitcases so we were free to wonder the lake side shops.
Around the hotel there are approximately 7 souvenir shops all selling nice gifts and well presented, several icecream shops and one cake shop which was a great find!
They had a lift to the top of the surrounding mountain and little peddle boats for the lake, but that was about it. Very relaxing to wonder around bout not much else.
Our room has our own outdoor onsen which was heavenly! It was a large room with many side rooms, fabulous view of Mount Fuji! It was a treat to see it first thing in the morning in its full glory.
We had our own personal maid who helped settle us down, and even with her limited English she did a good job informing us on times for dinner, breakfast and when the beds were made.
The men’s yukata are found in the room but womens yukatas are found in their bathing area where they are laid out in all their different colours and you can choose any pattern you wish! (Yukatas are replaced every day).
Breakfast was down stairs with other guests, but it felt like you was slightly on parade. Lunch is not included and you have to vacate your room from 10 till around 3 for the cleaners to clean your room. You can enter your room but I felt it inappropriate as they’re hard working and didn’t want to distract them.
Up on the roof there’s a foot bath (again closed from 10 till 3pm) where you can relax in and very fun to go to at night.
Dinner is set up by your maid and in your room. Food is explained and very fun to try. Out of the 12 dishes, I probably only ate 6.. some were very odd but was very fun and aesthetically pleasing. The whole experience was excellent.
The pillows were interesting, filled with what seemed like cherry stones or something along those lines, very comfortable!
My only down side to this was it seemed like everything shut down at around 11am till 3pm. Even the lobby lights were turned off! If the weather was warmer, it wouldn’t have been such a problem as you could sit outside, but it was windy at this time of the year and very little going on.
our maid bundled us into the free shuttle car without us booking which was very helpful.

Date of stay: April 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fooding
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 April 2010

First of all the hotel is in a very attractive location (with views of Mt. Fuji) and the rooms are quite nice.

However, be warned!

The hotel has 3 private baths (jacuzzi) that you can reserve. When we arrived, we asked if the bath reservation was included in the room rate and were told that it was included. Therefore we used the bath several times.

When we checked out, there was suddenly a charge of 3150 yen (about $35) per use (50 minutes). We explained nicely to the manager that we were unwilling to pay this price since we were told the bath was included. At this point, the manager started yelling "I call the police, I call the police."

After several minutes of arguing (and swearing by the manager) we finally just left and walked to the train station. By this point we had missed our train and were forced to walk 20 minutes with all of our luggage because the manager would not let us use the "free" shuttle service or even call a taxi for us. Missing our train messed up our schedule for the entire day which meant it was more difficult to forget the issue and enjoy our vacation.

To add insult to injury, the bath was not clean (mold on the walls) and one of our reservations was not entered correctly and all of the baths were then occupied when we wanted to go. The hotel charged us for this anyway!

If you consider the fact that you are paying very high prices for this hotel, you would expect better service.

Date of stay: April 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank JackHandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 December 2009

Hotel Konanso is just 5 mins by taxi from Kawaguichi bus station. in fact there is a shuttle service from the hotel that can pick you up if you call to arrange in advance. The interior of the hotel is a bit old, likewise with the room that was allocated to us. Very different of the image portrayed by the photo. However, they made up for it with very good service and the food was excellent. Staff was very friendly and helpful although most of them speaks limited English. If you are a small eater, the portion of their dinner will overwhelm you.

The hotel is facing Kawaguchi lake and 5 mins walk to the Cable Car which brings you up to the viewing platform to see Mt Fuji. There is a Cheese Garden cafe next to the cable car station which serves excellent cheese cake.

Oh and I like the massage chair located within the indoor onsen area. It gives my aching back and shoulder a good rub for free.

Date of stay: December 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GHML
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 June 2009

This hotel is a Ryokan. We weren't sure what to expect but were pleasantly suprised.
We had a japanese style room. It was very clean but the decor was a bit dated. The service was very good though, our "maid" was lovely. She wrestled us into kimonos in no time and even though she didn't speak english, we got on fine! She served us a wonderful japanese feast in our room. Then, a little later a futon bed was laid and we had a great night sleep, it was so comfortable. In the morning we had a japanese style breakfast in the breakfast room of the hotel. For me that was a bit of a challenge but my partner enjoyed every bit of it.
There are some public hot spring baths but we didn't go. Instead we paid for a private hot spring tub and that was wonderful. We went in the morning and had a fabulous view of mount fuji.
The location is next to lake kawaguchi at the base of mount fuji. i had imagined that the location would be a lot quieter and more peaceful but it is quite touristy - not too bad though. You can get a cable car and go to the top of a mount and if you are lucky you might get a beautiful view of mount fuji.
We only stayed one night and very much enjoyed ourselves. It was a great experience as the staff we dealt with didn't speak much english and all the other guests were japanese so we felt we'd had the real japanese experience.
We actually got an earlier coach back to Tokyo the next day so we wouldn't have stayed in the area for another night. Maybe it was just a little quiet for us though! Great for total relaxation.

Date of stay: May 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Enfys27
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews