We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect bliss”
Review of Mizuno Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mizuno Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A perfect bliss”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The views of Mt Fuji and Kawaguchiko Lake are the reasons why we chose Mizuno Hotel - and we are happy about it. We would love to go there in November for the Autumn Festival, but time permits us to travel only this October. We are afraid as there was a typhoon in Tokyo, but we able to reach Kawaguchiko in time. Thanks to the highway bus - it is the most convenient way of travelling from Tokyo to Kawaguchiko (two hours or less). Back to the hotel, the free shuttle from Kawaguchiko station to the hotel is only from 3-6pm (not flexible same with the drop off from hotel to the station 7-10am, and late check-out has a fee every hour beyond 10am). Somehow we able to spend some time around Kawaguchiko station (there is a good souvenir shop and restaurant opposite the station with views of Mt Fuji. The free bike rental is fine if you know how because you would able to explore the area, Unfortunately we are just uphill in the hotel - hope they will provide a free shuttle for sightseeing around the lake. The hotel is a little pricey, hope they will include breakfast in the rate. Pros, the views are magnificent - we stayed in a double room, top-floor area with private bathroom (i like the amenities - all with aroma scent, very relaxing), The room has an LCD tv, mini fridge with 2 free bottle of water, i love their green tea but the kettle is not clean, the bed is okay but not very comfortable, the room is decorated with old stuff but they blend all together. And there you have your own balcony, with your very own view of the ever shy Mt Fuji and the lake. I read in one reviews here that Mt Fuji showed around 4.30am. I woke up early like 4am and waited until 5.30 before we able to have a glimpse of the mountain (not covered with clouds), but this lasts only until 7am. The lobby and other areas of the hotel are all decorated with something old, but it adds to its charm.The public bath has a view of Mt Fuji. It is complete with all the amenities. Dinner we had pork shabu shabu, and for breakfast is japanese - very tasty, well presented and we really love the food. The staff are courteous and nice. Hope to be back at Mizuno hotel in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank abba25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    99
    26
    12
    5
See reviews for
65
86
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Our room was japanese style, so no bed but a futon on the tatami. If you are not used to, that can be quite painful. I think the hotel also has western-style beds.
Japanese breakfast was amazing.
The room had a balcony with view on the lake and mount Fuji. Staff helpful, with a decent English level. Possibility to rent bikes (city bikes, some with gears, no mountain bikes).
The public bath is probably not from a thermal hot spring but is decent and clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ettre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Great stay for 2 nights. At first it looks a bit of a mess, full of 'nic nacs' but then you realise this is part of its charm. Same as the furniture in the very clean rooms, at first you think its a bit old and then realise it is actually 'shabby chic' and done very well. Staff were very friendly & polite. Meal plans are a little strange and you have to give a precise time to eat, but the choice was fine, I particularly like the western breakfast.
Would have no problem staying again.

Room Tip: All rooms face the lake and Mount Fuji, high floor probably best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GerryBurns1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on floor 4 with a bath and toilet. From the map of the hotel interior, it looks like only our room on the floor had a decent sized bath and toilet.
This hotel is clean but feels really OLD. The furniture is old and it's a nic nac of various different things that don't always go together - seems to have a French theme in its decor. The room was clean. The bathroom was Japanese style and not western.
The onsen bath is open 24/7 and reeks of something...not sure what but it smelled so bad I only went once to enjoy the view of mt fuji! The outdoor onsen (very small, maybe for 2 ppl) made the smell better but it wasn't very clean...
They also have a private outdoor bath at the rate of 1,000¥ per person for 30 mins. We did not try it.
We also did not try the food.
They offer free shuttle service to and from the hotel/kawaguchiko station.
Overall, we would not stay here again given it is so outdated and the facilities were not comfortable such as the bath...however, if all you want is a nice view of mt fuji, then you should go there because it'll be the same view (if not better since they're at a higher level).

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stroumpfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyoto, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

The main attraction of this hotel is the great view from the rooms of Mount Fuji. The hotel offers a pick up service to the station. The food was very high quality and the staff were willing to accommodate our food preferences with no trouble. The onsen is small but has a lovely view of Mount Fuji. The futon in the rooms were very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

great place to stay and relax with in house onsen while admiring direct view of Mt. Fuji. Quaint furnishing but clean and cozy. A bit to far to walk into town but bicycle is available at the frontdesk for guest use.

Room Tip: all rooms faces Mt. Fuji
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drwongcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Firstly, I could not say more about the hotel. Everything here is amazing; the room, view, restaurant, and its cleanliness and services.

First up, this hotel is very hard to find. It is up on the hill, and it is a 10-minute drive from the station. If you get off from Train Station, take a cab. Local drivers know this hotel really well and it costs you around USD 12. You can also call them in advance to pick you up at the train station with their minivan.

The hotel lobby does not have Japanese decoration. There are many sofas around, and many antique european art pieces everywhere. They also have library where you can read books or just chilling. The restaurant have bars and pool table. Booked the japanese-style room, and it was amazing. It feels like you are in a Japanese house with an amazing view of Mount Fuji and you get to sleep in Futon and where their robes ( I think they call it Yutaka ? I forgot the name). They will give you a welcoming japanese tea while starring at the most beautiful view of Mount Fuji.

The town itself does not really have anything. I think people here book hotels to get the view and just stare at the mountains for hours while having chit-chats with travel companions.

The owner of the hotel was really nice to us, and she offered us having dinner in the hotel. They would ask you what you want to have for dinner. I forgot what choices we had ( there was definitely a french dinner), but we chose a Japanese-style dinner with Sukiyaki as its main course and man, It tastes excellent and you get to have your dinner course with again the view of Mount Fuji. The owner of the hotel was friendly and she even thought us how to eat Sukiyaki properly. While you're eating they will make up the futons for you, and there's a public bathroom and Jacuzzi available. The bartender was also friendly, he thought me how to drink sake properly and tells a little bit story about Mount Fiji. They also have bicycle to use if you wanna go around the city

When you check out, you wanna check out early since they have shuttle bus to the Train station. Overall, it was a pleasurable stay and I would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adhitomax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fujikawaguchiko-machi hotels
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Hotel Regina Kawaguchiko
Hotel Regina Kawaguchiko
#6 of 70 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
168 reviews
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Konansou
Konansou
#1 of 70 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
420 reviews
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Hotel New Century
Hotel New Century
#9 of 70 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Kozantei Ubuya
Kozantei Ubuya
#3 of 70 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
452 reviews
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Fuji View Hotel
Fuji View Hotel
#11 of 70 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
221 reviews
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Oike Hotel Honkan
Oike Hotel Honkan
#25 of 70 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mizuno Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mizuno Hotel

Property: Mizuno Hotel
Address: 187 Azagawa, Minamitsuru-gun, Fujikawaguchiko-machi 401-0303, Yamanashi Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Yamanashi Prefecture > Minamitsuru-gun > Fujikawaguchiko-machi > Kawaguchiko Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
#6 Spa Hotel in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
#8 Onsen Hotel in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mizuno Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This place is temporarily closed due to renovation. It will reopen in August, 2017. In the hotel of the lake, you can see Mount Fuji, Kawaguchiko from all rooms.I soak in the hot spring while looking at sacred mountain Fuji, and please relax to the full. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mizuno Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mizuno Hotel Japan/Fujikawaguchiko-Machi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing