We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, rundown, expensive.”
Review of Kawaguchiko Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kawaguchiko Hotel
Seoul, South Korea
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Old, rundown, expensive.”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

I was not impressed at all with this hotel. The rooms were run down with stains all over the carpets , walls, and chair covers. They also used kerosene heaters which made the whole entire hotel smell like gas. The breakfast was 1500yen ($15) which consisted of one egg, one small piece of sausage, a store bought yogurt, a small salad, and some fresh fruit. The onsen (community bath) was run down and not even that hot. The sauna didn't even work. Bad experience for 25000yen a night.

Room Tip: I would not go here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    27
    25
    15
    19
See reviews for
36
31
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Nice, Old and good food. Warm hospitality with good staff. Hot Bath (Onsen) open 24 Hours. Great place to visit, Try to get a Japanese room style.
Hotel is on the south side of the lake. Therefor, Mt.Fuji is behide the hotel, you will get the lake Kawaguchiko view only, not the lake and Mt.Fuji view.
Hotel locate near the train station just 15 minutes walk. Lawson convenience store the 7 minutes walk.

Room Tip: Choose Japanese style room on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackWorapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

I have been coming to Japan since 1982. Japanese people are honest n hotels here are normally small n clean.BUT, I have never been to a worse Japanese hotel than this one on 6 Oct 2012.
Charged me Yen 3050 a night!. I think this hotel have never been renovated for 30 years!
carpets, wall paper, toilet are absolutely horrible. The quit cover n pillow case was recycled- uncleaned . My room was dusty n dirty.. The food was below average. The public bath was old with broken tiles.. The only saving grace is that the staff were polite. this hotel gives Japan n the Japanese tourist industry a bad bad name! Avoid this hotel at all cost!

Room Tip: never ever come to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Spiderman4711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fujikawaguchiko-machi hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tokyo, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

The website depicts a completely different ambiance than from what you receive. We found the hotel under construction, incredibly loud, smelling of paint thinner and dirty.

So very dirty. The rooms were filled with water spots and mold, and smelled as if someone died in them.

It's a dump. When we asked to cancel because of the massive gap between the website and the actual state of the hotel, compounded by the construction noise, they refused to refund our money. I couldn't believe this could happen in Japan.

We negotiated a partial refund and left. I genuinely feel as if I was swindled.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank returnthefarimbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fujikawaguchiko-machi hotels
Fuji Premium Resort
#29 of 70 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
139 reviews
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Hotel Regina Kawaguchiko
Hotel Regina Kawaguchiko
#6 of 70 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
168 reviews
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Royal Hotel Kawaguchiko
Royal Hotel Kawaguchiko
#47 of 70 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Hotel Koryu
Hotel Koryu
#23 of 70 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
41 reviews
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Hotel New Century
Hotel New Century
#11 of 70 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
169 reviews
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Oike Hotel Honkan
Oike Hotel Honkan
#25 of 70 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kawaguchiko Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kawaguchiko Hotel

Property: Kawaguchiko Hotel
Address: 200 Funatsu, Minamitsuru-gun, Fujikawaguchiko-machi 401-0301, Yamanashi Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Yamanashi Prefecture > Minamitsuru-gun > Fujikawaguchiko-machi
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 70 Hotels / Ryokan in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kawaguchiko Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kawaguchiko Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kawaguchiko Hotel Japan/Fujikawaguchiko-Machi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing