We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing view & value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lake Land Hotel Mizunosato
hong kong
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing view & value”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

View of Mt. Fuji including in-room onsen. Best viewing time is dawn or sunset which means you can see Mt. Fuji in all full glory in bed/in-room onsen! Public baths/jucucczi on roof top are spectacular. The best bath is private though and reserved for booking (not sure price).

Lobby a bit aged. however, floors and room were polished and clean. Tatami was very comfortable. Room size is large.

Dinner /Breakfast have many varieties. Food quality is very good. Crab legs, appetizers, beef cubes were very well done, sushimi & others are ok. Service were warm & attentive. Enjoy your meal with the excellent view of the lake.

Free pick up from station. The manager offered to take us to Fuji station on return (which is further from Kawaguchi station)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank super j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    27
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
22
31
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

We travel a fair amount and this experience was wonderful.

For those that want the Rick Steves experience where you get some cultural immersion this is for you. It is not a ritz Carlton where you can be isolated.
The staff all take great pride in taking care of their guests.
My wife said that it felt like staying in a Japanese home.
My daughter and I climbed Fuji the next day so we were not around as much.( the staff arranged a taxi which was a big deal)
However when we arrived at the train station they picked us up promptly after we called.

You need to just do a few customary things like bow and take off your shoes when you enter the hotel room as they have the woven flooding.
My wife and kids RAVED about the breakfast.

They also gave the wife some sort of garment to wear. There was all kinds of small things that showed interest in a perfect stay.

The staff was also kind enough to drop them off at the amusement park.

Although when I returned we were checked out the owner let me shower at the onsen/public bath.
That was a very cool facility and the view of the lake was wonderful.
After staying at a big luxury hotel in Tokyo this was a perfect intimate experience.

I regret we did not stay another day.

They have a shuttle to drop you off as well.

You have to be patient with communication but it can be done. Just like most of Japan.

We will be back one day! We highly recommend the hotel for the overall experience.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Floridamountsineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

During our trip to Japan we wanted to stay at a traditional ryokan and Lakeland was by far the best value for money I could find online. We booked a Japanese style room with a private onsen (hot spring bath) and it was just amazing. Everything about the experience I will treasure for the rest of my life. The room was beautiful with traditional tatami mat flooring and rice paper sliding doors. It was really spacious and very comfortable too.

The view of Mt Fuji was so spectacular that when I first saw it in the morning (when the view is usually clearest) I was so overwhelmed I almost cried with happiness. The icy weather when we were there was stunning, and made for an unforgettable experience in the private onsen overlooking the little village and the mountain.

Dinner and breakfast were perfect too, just very opulent. When we checked in they asked for our meal preferences so I chose the vegetarian option while my boyfriend had seafood. The Japanese style breakfast was a bit much for my tummy at 8am but I was really happy to try it out as it only added to the full traditional experience. Wearing your straw sandals around the establishment added to this as well.

Service was great, the manager can speak some English, he was very welcoming and endearing. He sat down with us at check in to explain certain things we may not have been familiar with due to the nature of his hotel. We felt well looked after the whole time. They also offer a free transfer to and from Kawaguchiko station, be sure to write down their number and call when you arrive to make use of that!

The hotel itself is huge with a few vending machines and a great little gift shop well worth checking out. We got some excellent wine and locally made food including sweet pastries and wasabi mayo.

If you are considering a ryokan experience I really don't think you will do better, it's expensive but reasonable compared with similar places, and only about 1.5 hours outside of Tokyo by train! You just have to change from the JR line at Ootsuki station to the private Fuji line, Kawaguchiko will be the last stop.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Brigitta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Price: 9/10
I think the hotel gives out pretty reasonable price since I had the best Japanese cultural experience in this hotel. The facility, the restaurant, the food, the Japanese style hotel room, the yukata, the view, the public bath, the massage chairs...... Perfection!

Room: 9.5/10
The Japanese style hotek room! Perfect Japanese experience..... Sleeping on a mattress in a heated room on a wooden floor enclosed by wooden Japanese door...... Well, except the super tiny bathroom that I didn't feel comfortable to take shower it.... It's TOO small! But, it's still acceptable. The experience made up for it.....

My full review of Lake Land Hotel Mizunosato can be read here:
http://ferrystraveladventures.blogspot.com/2013/02/hotel-review-lakeland-hotel-mizunosato.html

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyclopps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2010

Bottom line, this is a great hotel! The service was excellent from when we stepped in. From the outside, it looks a little old, but its right in front of the lake. There is a hotel shuttle that will pick you up from the kawaguchiko train station. Just remember to get to kawaguchiko you have to take a private rail line, thats how we got there. We got a private room with an outside onsen, which had a view of Mt.Fuji from the window. One of the staff walked us to our room, showed us around the hotel and was very hospitable. The public baths were pretty nice and clean.
The dinner is served to you in a dining hall on the second floor, not your room, but what a spread! We walked in and they asked us what we would like as a main dish, then we get to our table, and there is an appetizer tray, a big bowl of soup, tofu, sushi, crab legs, seafood, and then there is a huge buffet with all sorts of food, salad, soups, seafood, meats, tempura to try...and desert. The service was really very nice. We had to leave early in the morning, before the breakfast was served and the hotel staff had a to-go breakfast for my husband and I. As for activities, they have a bus from the train station that goes to the fifth station. We weren't able to go hike up the mountain during may, but its nice to head up there and take some pictures. There is a tour bus that takes you around kawaguchiko and i think a cable car as well, although we didnt do the tour or cable car, we just took the bus to the 5th station. The rooms are very clean, and they set up the bed on tatami mats for you while you're at dinner.
I would def. recc this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank daisy827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAN FRANCISCO
Level Contributor
71 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2009

If you have never stayed in a hot springs hotel before, this will open up a new experience for you. The hotel caters mostly to Japanese familes and couples, but the owner speaks some English and welcomes foreigners. The hotel has two sides:

The new annex consists of a beautiful restaurant (where you will have your breakfasts and dinners) and two AWESOME onsen hot bath with the best views of Mt. Fuji.

The older original building is pretty old, circa 1970ish. Some areas of this building have been renovated, but some didn't. So, if you pick a run of the house room (which we did the first night), you will most likely get a crappy and smelly room (equipped with a rotary phone). The higher priced rooms is therefore WELL worth the extra money. We got a room with its own hot bath with a view of Mt. Fuji and boy that mean a world of difference.

Staffs do not speak much English but they are traditionally polite and they were also very nice to pick us up from the train station and drop us off at anywhere we wanted. I sincerely think you should give this hotel a try and experience the magic of Kawaguchiko area.

  • Liked — The Onsen (hot bath) and the newer nicer room
  • Disliked — The older crappy room
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank MCTAI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fujikawaguchiko-machi hotels
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Hotel Regina Kawaguchiko
Hotel Regina Kawaguchiko
#9 of 65 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Konansou
Konansou
#3 of 65 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Fuji Lake Hotel
Fuji Lake Hotel
#13 of 65 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Kozantei Ubuya
Kozantei Ubuya
#2 of 65 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Fuji Ginkei
Fuji Ginkei
#4 of 65 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Fuji View Hotel
Fuji View Hotel
#12 of 65 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Land Hotel Mizunosato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Land Hotel Mizunosato

Property: Lake Land Hotel Mizunosato
Address: 1070 Kodachi, Minamitsuru-gun, Fujikawaguchiko-machi 401-0302, Yamanashi Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Yamanashi Prefecture > Minamitsuru-gun > Fujikawaguchiko-machi > Kawaguchiko Onsen
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#11 Onsen Hotel in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Land Hotel Mizunosato 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Rakuten, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Lake Land Hotel Mizunosato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Land Hotel Mizunosato Japan/Fujikawaguchiko-Machi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing