We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stunning view of mount fuji + lake kawaguchiko”
Review of Shuhokaku Kogetsu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shuhokaku Kogetsu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014

after looking through photo galleries of various hotels in the area, the view from the rooms of this hotel was the reason why i'd chosen it (although it's on the high-end in terms of price), and the view hadn't dissappointed me at all. just got to blame my bad luck that mount fuji was being covered-up by clouds and mist during most of the time, but at last before i checked out, i still got about 30 mins of sunshine with mount fuji right in front of my eyes when i looked through the windows.

the onsen was also impressive. it's very well equipped on the ladies side, with lotions, moisturizers , etc there in front of a quite spacious changing area.

the service was great. the lady serving my room was friendly and had explained to us each dish and also chatted with us about the hotel, the kawaguchiko area, and even things happening in japan.

after dinner, housekeepers had come into our room to make beds for us. they left us some little dried lavender, asked us to put beside our pillows for good and relaxing sleep. that's just some little things but was sweet.

dinner was great, but that buffet breakfast was even more remarkable to me. some sashimi for breakfast was luxurious, but their とろろ昆布 was surprisingly delicious!

overall, the whole experience was very enjoyable. although it's towards the expensive end to me, it's worthwhile.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ラーラー
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

76 - 82 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

the location of the hotel is just wonderful, with private access to Lake Kawaguchiko. Best of all, you have Mt Fuji right in front of you when you face the lake! It is just such a majestic mountain right in front of you.

I think it is because of this view that the hotel rate is on the high side.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TK_NOV_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This place has an awesome onsen outdoors looking onto the lake and mount fuji, it includes a delicious dinner served in your room, our room was second floor looking out onto fuji and the lake. there is free beer between 3pm and 7pm i think it was downstairs which is super, took them out to the gardens and admired the view. also took pedalos out on the lake which was fun and walked around the lake. Really peaceful, the traditional room was so comfortable, the view including the lake was definitely a bonus, glad we chose this option. also went to fuji q highland theme park after our stay which was very fun! Woke up at 5am and went down to the lake where the reflection of fuji in the lake was outstanding.

Room Tip: Lake facing room, view of fuji that way. we stayed on the second floor which was perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank virginia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We decided to stay in this hotel after doing some research on where to stay around Mount Fuji.
The criteria are : full view of mount fuji with lake on the front. quiet (hotel room not facing the main road as most of the hotels do). Good onsen.

Shuhokaku fulfilled all the requirements and exceeds our expectation.

I think the best view of mount fuji is during sunrise and sunset. If you want to take picture early in the morning, you don't need to go outside. Simply open the curtain and you can do it right away. (attached picture)

Both dinner and breakfast is good. They offer free draft beer in the afternoon too. The only downside is wifi only available in lobby area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pumpkinkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel in December 2013 as a family of three.It was only a one night stay in this hotel.After lunch at Kawaguchiko Station,we arranged for a driver to pick us up at 2.30pm.It was only about 5 minutes before I was mesmerized by the quiet and serene environment of the hotel at lake kawaguchiko.It seems like another boring and modern hotel on the outside and at the lobby.We were then welcomed by Naomi,a warming Japanese lady who works at the hotel.As I mentioned,it seems like another boring and modern hotel but once we stepped into our room,I thought otherwise.It was a beautiful traditional japanese room with tatami mats and sliding japanese doors.The room was big and clean,we felt so at home!Naomi then showed us how to put on our Yukatas.(Japanese Bath Robes)
After Naomi finished briefing us,we were going to give her a tip.To our surprise,she refused!(Did I mention japanese people are so polite?)Our room had a magnificent clear view of Mt Fuji.After we settled down,we decided to go to the onsen at the hotel before it was too late to catch a view of Mt Fuji.The changing room at the onsen was clean.We went to the indoor bathing area first to clean ourselves before going into the onsen.(Japanese bathe theirselves before going to the onsen.)After we bathed,we directly went to the outdoor onsen.I was captured by the stunning view of Mt Fuji.Outdoor onsen with Mt Fuji was a dream!After sunset,we bathed again and headed back for dinner at our room.Naomi again came in many time to lay out the meal part by part.Dinner was a sumptuous spread with japanese foods such as Pickles,sashimi,miso soup,shabu shabu etc.
We were absolutely fed to the fullest when we finished.When Naomi came to keep the empty plates,she even gave us a goodbye gift!Before long,a few people came in and laid out the futons.A few hours later,we decided to give the onsen another shot at night.At night,a soak in the outdoor onsen was very relaxing and much colder of course.In conclusion,this is a hotel with SPLENDID location and absolute standard of service.I will strongly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Matt209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

My wife and I stayed here one night in November 2013. It was an easy bus ride from Shinjuku station and the hotel shuttle picked us up in a timely manner from Kawaguchiko station. The hotel is in a perfect location with the road behind it so that there's no road noise distracting from the view of Mt Fuji and the beautiful lake. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. I requested a bouquet of flowers for my wife and they prepared an amazing bouquet. They also included a complimentary bottle of wine since it was our anniversary.

We felt the initial room we were given smelled somewhat of smoke. We notified the staff and they sprayed a deodorizer. We could still smell it so they moved us to another room that was larger than the first. We were very happy with their treatment of the issue.

Dinner, served in the room, was very good with a particularly delicious pork shabushabu.

The most amazing thing about this hotel is the location. It is on the shore of the lake with perfect views of Mt. Fuji. It is a one minute walk to the fall tree illumination that is on each night in the fall. The illumination scene is stunning and very enjoyable to walk around. There is also a farmers market about a five minute walk from the hotel and a nice lake front walk to take in more views of the lake and mountain.

The futons were setup with a single layer which was much too firm for us. That's always been the case for me when staying at Japanese inns. We ended up using three layers!

The hotel decor is decent but could use an update. The lobby is awesome with a huge glass wall looking out over the lake and mountain.

The baths are nice with a hot indoor bath and less hot outdoor one. The outdoor bath has a beautiful view of Mt Fuji.

Free beer! They had a free beer and wine bar set up near the bath entrance for a few hours in the evening. That was awesome.

We felt that the price was very reasonable considering the service, food, rooms and location.

I highly recommend staying here. Definitely try to time it for clear weather though to make the most of the view.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jared E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

During our two week trip to Japan, we wanted to come to the Mt. Fuji area and found this hotel with photos of spectacular Mt. Fuji. Upon arrival we were not disappointed. We arrived by train and called the hotel and the van came and picked us up. Along the way, you are treated to a tour of the area and along the lake shore.

Once you arrive, you are taken to your room by your room attendant where the formalities of checking in are conducted, tea is served, and how dinner is served in the room.

Our room was a traditional Japanese style room with futons on the floor and a sitting area overlooking the view of Mt. Fuji. Did I mention the views of Mt. Fuji from this hotel are some of the best? Spacious and functional, all dinners are served in the room. The bathroom had a tub / shower combination.

The main lobby / restaurant area is the social hub of the hotel. Breakfast is served here along with the bar being open after dinner. Free WiFi is available here in the lounge. During evening drinks, we met guest not only from Japan, but from Thailand, Europe, and China.

Now for the public baths --- very nice and of course, at least on the men’s side – a stunning view of Mt. Fuji that can be seen from both the indoors and outdoors bath. During the evening, free beer is offered to you when you exit the baths.

The food – For dinner and breakfast (no lunch) traditional Japanese cuisine. As I mentioned, dinner is served in the privacy of your own room and it by far the highlight of your day. Truly my wife and I could not grow tired of the food. The multi course meal is served in the traditional style by your room attendant. Great care is seen for the presentation.

As for breakfast – it is served in the restaurant and is buffet style. Food is good for being buffet style.

All in all, my wife and I had a marvelous time at Shuhokaku Kogetsu and when we return to the Mt. Fuji area, this will be our hotel of choice.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SpazCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fujikawaguchiko-machi hotels
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Konansou
Konansou
#1 of 73 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
443 reviews
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Kozantei Ubuya
Kozantei Ubuya
#3 of 73 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
467 reviews
Lavista Fuji Kawaguchiko
#6 of 73 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Mizuno Hotel
Mizuno Hotel
#11 of 73 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
244 reviews
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Onsenji Yumedono Ryokan
Onsenji Yumedono Ryokan
#10 of 73 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
144 reviews
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Oike Hotel Honkan
Oike Hotel Honkan
#30 of 73 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shuhokaku Kogetsu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shuhokaku Kogetsu

Address: 2312 Kawaguchi, Fujikawaguchiko-machi, Minamitsuru-gun 401-0304, Yamanashi Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Yamanashi Prefecture > Minamitsuru-gun > Fujikawaguchiko-machi > Kawaguchiko Onsen
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
#4 Spa Hotel in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
#6 Best Value Hotel in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
#9 Onsen Hotel in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
Price Range: £241 - £472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shuhokaku Kogetsu 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Shuhokaku Kogetsu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shuhokaku Kogetsu Fujikawaguchiko Machi
Shuhokaku Kogetsu Japan/Fujikawaguchiko-Machi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing