We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking view of Mt. Fuji”
Review of Yamadaya Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Yamadaya Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Breathtaking view of Mt. Fuji”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stayed there with my husband for just a Saturday night get away. The hotel is quite far from Kawaguchiko station (about 50mins by public bus) and the bus only runs about 5 times per day up til early evening 5ish and first departure is just before 11am. Cost was 1120 yen each way. (Our bus returning was about 30 minutes late). Although quite a long ride, the view is well worth the trip. Right from our room balcony, we had a clear view of the entire Mt. Fuji with the river reflection in front of it. The ryokan is very old and quite run down, but kept clean. There is a private bath that you can book for 30mins which has the same view of the mountain. There is also a public bath on the first floor, but I did not use the facility. We booked the dinner banquet and breakfast ahead of time and was satisfied with both meals. (Note that the breakfast is not your typical western breakfast- it was rice and salmon). There is no wifi in the rooms and you must have a local Japanese service provider email address to gain access in the lobby. This turned out to be a positive for us, because we went to bed at 8:30pm! and was able to get up at before 5am to see the sunrise. The place seem to be run by a family (mother, father, daughter and grandfather), with a couple of hired help. The daughter spoke English well and everyone was very friendly. Whilst the room price we paid was relatively high, it was about the same as other ryokans around the lake. The only negative is that smoking was allowed in the lobby and restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ESInspired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    31
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
22
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Coleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
271 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

As the previous reviews detail the rooms are spacious and as we were there in December very warm and cosy. The table / duvet / electric fire combination is a wonder after a long cold walk.

The view looks straight at Mt Fuji, visible from all rooms, and if you book the Onsen at the right time you can watch the sun rise or set from a hot tub on the roof - close to perfection.

Food wise the hotel excelled. We paid £125 GBP a night for 2 of us including breakfast & evening meal and to be honest just the evening meal was worth that on the first night. I think I counted 17 different dishes on the table, sushi, sashimi, vegetables, fishes fried and so on. Breakfast in the same vein, wonderful fresh food expertly cooked. Some may not be for the unadventurous, but the fact the hotel was full of Japanese is proof enough it is good stuff.

Excellent staff in all ways as well.

This is a lifetime memory.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SimonJ68_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Yamadaya is located on Lake Shoiji which is the smallest of the 5 lakes but is said to be the prettiest. It isn't the prettiest of buildings but inside the rooms are decorated in the classic Japanese Ryokan style with tatami mats and futons for sleeping. Wonderful views from the rooms of Mount Fuji and the lake. Private onsen on the top floor provide an amazing view of Mount Fuji as you relax in the hot water. Evening meal and breakfast were traditional and included lots of items which we didnt have a clue what they were and a few which we didnt want to know! Lake Shoiji is a very quiet place with little open in the evening so it is a real place to relax. More popular with Japanese tours but the staff were great and made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

I was looking for a hotel near Kawaguchiko with Mt. Fuji view, onsen and good food at a reasonable price - I think Yamadaya Hotel meets all these requirements.

We arrived at the hotel on 20 May and was disappointed when the sky was cloudy with no sight of Mt. Fuji. We thought of leaving the next day but the owner promised that the next day, sky would be clear and we would be able to see Mt. Fuji from our room. We decided to take his advice. Indeed, the next day, we were so excited to be able to see Mt. Fuji as the backdrop of Shojiko lake.

Food here is delicious and lots of variety. The young lady staff who serves us at the restaurant is very friendly and caring. She always brings a kettle of cold water for us to replenish our water bottles.

When we leave, the driver sent us to the nearest bus stop so that we could continue our journery.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GoingPlaces_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foshan, China
Level Contributor
128 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

The staff were friendly, welcoming and knew enough english for us to get by. We had a traditional double room with a view of the mountain. There was hot tea and biscuits waiting for us in the room on arrival, and we were able to slip our legs under the table with its heated blanket - very nice on a cold day.

We opted for the meals included option, which was well worth it as both breakfast and dinner were works of art. There many dishes, all beautifully presented.They had no problem catering for my vegetarian needs and mine was just as fabulous as my travelling companions. Breakfast was also a big deal.

The room was huge; traditional mats as flooring. While we were eating they made up the beds for us. We were provided with traditional yakuta robes, which we wore to go and use the hot tub. I also made use of the bath tub that was in the ensuite.

There are open air hot tubs on the roof, use of which is included in the room price - you need to book your time slot. We opted for a late evening soak, but if you did it during daylight you can soak while viewing the mountain.

I personally found the decor a bit old fashioned (clean and well presented), though my travelling companion just viewed it as traditional Japanese. By Japanese standards this hotel is good value for money, the views and food are fantastic.

Location:
The hotel is situated on Shoji lake, which is the least touristy of the lakes. It was quiet and had fantastic views of the mountain. We were there for only one night so enjoyed walking around the lake, and walking up a nearby hiking path to a spectacular viewpoint. If you are there longer then getting around would be a problem without your own transport. Being able to see the mountain from our window was amazing.

We got a bus from Shinjuku in Tokyo to Kawaguchi station - about 2 hours. These are frequent and cost 1700yen each way. When we arrived at 11.45am we found that the next bus to Shoji lake was not until 2.33pm. Buses were not very frequent, maybe because it was out of season. We left luggage in storage lockers (600yen) and explored the town and Kawaguachi lake while waiting. The bus from to Shoji cost 1080 yen for a single journey - collect a ticket on your way in, then the screen tells you how much to pay when you get off. If stopped at the front door of the hotel. When we wanted to leave the bus times were inconvenient; we would have had to leave very early, or catch a bus from other side of lake - 30min walk. The hotel staff volunteered to drive us to that stop free of charge, thus we were able to spend the morning hiking to a viewpoint.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank bookowl1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fujikawaguchiko-machi hotels
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Hotel Regina Kawaguchiko
Hotel Regina Kawaguchiko
#7 of 65 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
163 reviews
Kawaguchi lake business & resort...
#17 of 65 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
119 reviews
Fuji Premium Resort
#29 of 65 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Fuji View Hotel
Fuji View Hotel
#10 of 65 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
211 reviews
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Hotel Koryu
Hotel Koryu
#24 of 65 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
41 reviews
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Oike Hotel Honkan
Oike Hotel Honkan
#22 of 65 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yamadaya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yamadaya Hotel

Property: Yamadaya Hotel
Address: 478 Shoji, Minamitsuru-gun, Fujikawaguchiko-machi 401-0336, Yamanashi Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Yamanashi Prefecture > Minamitsuru-gun > Fujikawaguchiko-machi
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
#9 Onsen Hotel in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Yamadaya Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., JAPANiCAN, Booking.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Yamadaya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yamadaya Hotel Japan/Fujikawaguchiko-Machi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing