We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 17:00
Save
  
Ways to Experience Kawaguchiko Music Forest Museum
from US$1,108.11
More Info
from US$395.20
More Info
from US$3,989.21
More Info
Reviews (601)
Filter reviews
601 results
Traveller rating
264
232
79
15
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
264
232
79
15
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews music box interesting place organ automatic concert
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 601 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2019 via mobile

This place to be honest is not that big but it managed to keep my friends and I entertained for half a day ! That is quite a feat ! We were kept very busy catching all the shows, which we thoroughly enjoyed and what a variety of shows they have .. sand drawing, opera singing, mini musicals, ( with English narration ), tap dancing, piano, violin recital, band playing by one of the world’s largest music box .. then there is the picturesque garden to take photos , the lovely souvenir shops to wonder through, making your own musical scores with your entrance ticket( punch holes with the hole puncher supplied at the main hall) that can then be played using the little apparatus found near the fountain. We also enjoyed lunch at the cafe which faces MT Fuji - regrettably she was covered by clouds when we were there - otherwise it would have been so lovely having lunch with MT Fuji right in front ! What’s more the cafe has live music - so entertaining!

All in all, a place not to be missed when you are visiting the Kawaguchiko lake area ! My friends and I enjoyed this place thoroughly!

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank PatriciaS9271
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 May 2019

We went in the evening past 3.00pm and the entrance fee was discounted to Yen500 per person. If you are not driving a car, you can take the Kawaguchiko tour bus which stop at the museum.

There are 4 blocks of building with western design having lakes, garden and especially during spring where there are lots of flowers. There is an orchestra music room at the basement of one of the block where the wind instrument plays the entire orchestra music automatically. Then there is another main music hall in another block where they housed decades old musical instruments which would marvel you. Make sure you check the time schedule for the demonstration.

Overall you could spend about 1-2 hours in there stroll from block to block leisurely. Highly recommend this place which you see nothing of Japanese culture or design.

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank CMSoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 May 2019 via mobile

The museum was very well organized.

So many beautiful and interesting music box all around the world.

The site was decorated with European style, beautiful backdrop of mount Fuji view also.

In total you will spend time approximately 1.30-2 hrs. Maximum

Good place for people who love classical music and the European style.

Date of experience: April 2019
2  Thank _sweet_nestty
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 April 2019

We visited this museum on April 5. There is a bus stop not far from the museum (Stop 15 of the Omni bus – red line).
You will see a lot of music boxes and organs, but the main feature of this place are the different music performances.
Tip: take a leaflet with the event time schedule so you will know when the different performances will be held and in what building.
There is also a nice view of the Mount Fuji from the terrace.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank AmarilisVos
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 April 2019 via mobile

Very pleased to have spent a few hours in this place. It was really relaxing and the performances was great.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank yuhchienf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews