We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (214)
Filter reviews
214 results
Traveller rating
102
82
24
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
82
24
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews japanese room japanese style mount fuji kawaguchiko station hotel onsens breakfast and dinner great view plus point men and women breakfast spread email address hotel bus staff can speak english futon mattress direct view once in a lifetime onsen experience
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 214 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights at this reasonably priced hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. All the staff were friendly and cheerful, the more so of the lady servers at the restaurant who made one feel a sense of old-fashioned Japanese hospitality. Dinner and breakfast were tasty and plentiful, tea and coffee piping hot.
Nothing fancy and nil open air onsen, but the top floor onsen enables a view of Mt Fuji on clear days. We were on the top floor and can see Mt Fuji and Kawaguchiko Lake from our balcony.
Nearly forgot to mention the vigilance of the staff who reminded me of my double booking, one erroneous on account of wrong email address quoted, a few days before our trip which enabled free cancellation without incurring any charges.
A good reasonably priced hotel for a stay in Fujikawaguchiko area.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JNMY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2016

This was our second visit to Hotel New Century and what a difference a year can make as far as the weather goes. Two nights last time, three this time - clouds and rain last time, excellent weather this time with perfect Fuji views right from our window.

An email from the hotel confirming our stay came soon after we made our booking, something that most hotels do not do when we’ve used a third party booking agency. The email described the dinner options and asked us to inform them of our selections before we arrived. We had a nice interchange via email about dinner choices and hotel’s pick up services. We requested the same room we had two years prior.

From the time the hotel van picked us up at the station until it took us back for our early morning departure we felt that everyone there really wanted to do all they could to make our stay pleasant. From the desk staff to the women who served us breakfast and dinner, everyone was most kind and helpful.

Our tatami room with a perfect view of Fuji-san was in fact the same room we had 2 years back, as we had requested. The LAN internet connection in the room worked well and it seemed faster than on our previous visit. (Wi-Fi is also available in all the rooms.) The only change we noticed in our room was that the bathroom had been renovated. The bathtub was gone and replaced by a shower. This was not a problem since the two onsens were convenient, once one mastered the schedule. The timings and locations rotated for males and females. The bath on the top floor had views of Fuji which were greatly improved if you opened the window, rather than looking through the steamy glass. The bath on the first floor offered a terrific bubbly whirlpool experience in the “lava” bath, which we both preferred.

Dinner and breakfast were in the first floor dining room which we prefer over the second floor banquet hall. We had a not so great table the first night, so we requested another for the next meal and were given the corner window table for the remainder of our meals. At check-in we were told we could change our dinner choices if we wanted as long as we let them know in advance. Since it was the same four options as on our previous visit, we felt confident that we had duplicated the best choices for our third dinner. All the food was exquisite in preparation, service and quality.

We asked about the location of a produce market and the woman at the front desk not only told us where a greengrocer was located, but she had the driver of the hotel van make a special trip to take us there, wait for us while we bought some apples, and then drive us back to the hotel! That’s what I call going beyond the call of duty!

We love this place and will definitely come back for a third visit.

Room tip: Upper floor Fuji and lake view tatami rooms are the best. The main road, however, can be noisy during the day
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank hfot2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2016 via mobile

5stars for comparing with the price in it's range. Clean and comfortable. Every room has Mt.Fuji with lake view....that's what valuable. Room size and amenities are functional.
Two onsen baths provided for man and woman with different time and reversing place. Small souvenir shop and also vending machine each floor.

You can call (or proceed to tourist information center to let them help you) to the hotel when you arrive at Kawaguchiko station then hotel's bus limousone will pick you up from station, also from hotel back to station as well. Hotel bus schedule provided, anyway you can ask for your convenient time.

Dinner and breakfast available to pre order, japanese style course with some options; sukiyaki/fuji san zen nabe(seafood hot pot)/shabu/houto fudou (kawaguchiko local noodle with vegetables)
Vegetarian food can be prepared with advance requirements.**

Locations is very good, face with the lake and Fuji as background.
Kawaguchiko sightseeing bus stop is just few minutes walk from the hotel. Parking available for guests coming with car.

Best in it range. Helpful staff.
English speaking staff will stay in day time and in night time, there will be only japanese speaking staffs.

Wifi in room.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank TiddyWallapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2016

I stayed in the hotel room with Mount Fuji view and it was just amazing!! From the room itself, we can admire the impressive view while drinking tea and relaxing. The room itself is clean too but the toilet and bathroom was horrible. We have to keep the bathroom and toilet door closed all day because of this pungent smell of a smelly drainage. However, we did not request to change (not sure whether we can change). Overall, it's a nice hotel with friendly staff and free shuttle bus from the Kawaguchiko station.

Room tip: Get the room with Mount Fuji view
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank daphne_yu83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed here with my family for a night and it's money worth spending. You can see Mt Fuji and Kawaguchi Lake from the hotel. The staffs are very friendly and helpful. Their attention to little details are much appreciated. We chose to include dinner and breakfast during our stay and what a delicious spread we got. Just a little note that they also provide pickup from Kawaguchigo train station to hotel (please check for timetable from hotel). We will certainly come back

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ernov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews