We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great local hotou and huge portions” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kosaku Hoto Kosaku, Kawaguchiko

Kosaku Hoto Kosaku, Kawaguchiko
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$27
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great local hotou and huge portions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We went here on recommendation from our hostel, and we were very glad that we did so. Hotou is a type of noodle specific to the Fuji area, so it's a must-try. We asked for a mushroom-vegetable hotou, which came in a boiling pot, and looked like a double portion. It was very rich in the amount & quality of ingredients, and was very very delicious. This was the best noodle-ish dish we've had in our 2 weeks in Japan!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OzgurErpek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    58
    19
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“delicious Hoto, feel like a local”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

We go there for the trip advisors recomendation, we had to walk a little to arrive for and ugly main street, so we were worried. Fortunately the place was nice , authentic and really good. The hoto noodles were delicious and the have a great variety (bear inclusive!!) The plate are huge then I recomend to share it. We were the only foreigners! So really was a local place. The visit worth it if you are close (just when you arrive to the station) or if you go by car.

Helpful?
Thank Freya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Must visit in kawaguchiko”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Please visit this restaurant in the shadow of Mount fuji. Touring japan on our honeymoon we came across this little place - its on the main road and has a large waterwheel outside. The houtou is excellent and very filling - there are about 20 varieties from mushroom to boar or oyster - as is the chefs selection of tempura. The blue wine was a bit pricey but also lovely. The young chap who served us spoke some English and an English menu was also available. A very nice hearty meal for 2 with drinks for under 7000 yen. Very much recommended.

Helpful?
Thank MacNacFeegle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alghero, Italy
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“delicious and 100% traditional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

we went there to try the local hotou, it turned out to be delicious..
service and ambiance are top, a real traditional japanese restaurant..
do not expect the staff to speak english, but honestly it's not a big deal...
wide choice on the menu, hotou is a must! I definitely recommend this place

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Riccardo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zirl, Austria
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great Hoto Soup”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Went there during my stay in Kawaguchiko this September.

Had "Mushroom Hoto", was a great great noodle-soup with very much ingredients.
Only eat Hoto if you are very hungry, lot's of stuff to eat ... but very tasteful!

Try to eat like the locals, go there!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank suffix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kosaku Hoto Kosaku, Kawaguchiko also viewed

Fujikawaguchiko-machi, Minamitsuru-gun
Fujikawaguchiko-machi, Minamitsuru-gun
 
Fujikawaguchiko-machi, Minamitsuru-gun
Fujikawaguchiko-machi, Minamitsuru-gun
 
Fujikawaguchiko-machi, Minamitsuru-gun
Fujikawaguchiko-machi, Minamitsuru-gun
 

Been to Kosaku Hoto Kosaku, Kawaguchiko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing