We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 17:00
Private guided hidden gems tour by local English speaking driver
101

Book in advance
from
£51.85
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Saiko Iyashi no Sato Nemba
from £51.85
More Info
from £65.08
More Info
from £419.30
More Info
from £925.94
More Info
Reviews (508)
Filter reviews
508 results
Traveller rating
224
229
43
10
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
224
229
43
10
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old village mount fuji nice view landslide destroyed yen lake backdrop
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 508 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2019

This is a traditional Japanese village that was flattened by a catastrophic mud flow in 1966 and then those few who survived moved away and it was rebuilt as a tourist attraction.

There is a building dedicated showing the before and after photos. There is quite a story behind this cute little village that is interesting to read.

We stopped here after going up Mt Fuji and you get great views of the mountain from a distance here.

Most of what is here is just touristy and you can dress Japanese clothing and costumes to dress up and take photo. We didn't do that and thought that seemed silly.

This is definitely worth the stop to see the village from the outside and how a traditional village looks.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank AdvtrTrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 June 2019 via mobile

Probably my highlight visit in Japan would be this one. For those who love historical places, believe me every corner of this place is so pretty. Especially when I got there, suddenly there’s a snowfall, it was beyond magical. Of course it’s really cold for tropical girl like me, but they sell hot patch in the gate which helped me a lot (and it was affordable). My mum try yukata / kimono there, it was cheaper but i guess she’s happy enough strolling around wearing that. Oh, and the journey to get here by bus were very pretty. I can’t stop looking at the kawaguchiko lake and saiko lake. So make sure you sit near the window. Be careful with your schedule though, as the bus to get here were not as many as other more popular destinations. I would probably want to go here again if i had the chance to visit Japan. I even considered to stay near Fuji San, to discover more beautiful places here.
For moslem travelers: there is a little musholla inside the foods stalls outside the gate! How amazing is that.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank airairaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 June 2019

A quiet attraction which offers a glimpse into how traditional Japanese would live in the past. But overall not too much to see or do - the shops were quaint but did not have much to offer - more browsing than buying.

But the catch was that you could rent a kimono or samurai suit for just JPY1000. It is a simple setup but totally workable. Nothing compared to the elaborate kimonos and hairdo that you can get in say Kyoto but with that you can expect to fork out anything from JPY4000.

Date of experience: June 2019
2  Thank 2manyJess
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 June 2019

This is an interesting village to see how hoses used to be in this area. It is a nice village to walk round with views of Fuji over the thatched roofed houses. Some of the houses had shops in but there were a couple you could go into that gave you a flavour of what they had been like when lived in..

Date of experience: May 2019
2  Thank quin88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 June 2019 via mobile

Felt a bit like a tourist gimmick. A bit of a long drive from town and nothing much to see. (Some winding buildings on a small hill). They provide a Yukata experience at a small fee but there were no authentic feel to the place. More of a tourist spot than a traditional Japanese town. Not worth a visit if you’re short on time. Would not go back again.

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank Captainseav
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews