We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Backpack house”
Review of Koe House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Koe House
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I've stayed in Koe House for 2 nights. I've booked dormitory room but upon arrival, i got single room of Japanese style. The room is connected to another rooms, separate by wooden Japanese door and provided with mattress, comforter, a fan, clothes hanger and it is tatami floor! They have separate toilet, shower room which is on the ground floor, pantry with cold/hot water, microwave and refridgerator. Lobby/reception counter is situated on the ground floor which also the restaurant area. The staff can converse in English and friendly too. The location of Koe House is just 1 minute walk from Kawaguchiko Station which is very easy to find it. Upon check out, the reception at the counter has given me 2 postcards of Mt. Fuji. I'm very grateful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raihana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 25 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

Lets admit it. Japan is expensive for backpackers and Fuji area being tourist spot can get equally expensive. Koe house is centrally located near the train station and can be used to walk across to lakes easily. Accommodation is very basic japanese style rooms but it is cordiality of japanese people which makes stay more comfortable. Be ready to take showers in shared bathroom :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharatMendu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with 3 friends, was expecting a dormitory room, but basically had two connecting rooms to ourselves which was nice. I liked the Japanese style rooms with the tatami flooring. Something I had hoped to experience at some point whilst in Japan.
The staff are very friendly and the young lady speaks very good English. The place is a minutes walk from the station and from the front of the building, you can see Mount Fuji. The building has the price of a bed highly advertised on the front of the building so no they can't hike the price up when they want to like I know some hotels do.
The one issue I had with the hotel is it closes it's doors at 11pm, which we found out to our detriment after a night out. However this will not be an issue for most people who would plan to be back before that time anyway.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed there for two nights. Room was Japanese style, nice stay though. For shared bathroom and shower, it was costly though. But the hotel was stone throw away from kawaguchiko station and all major shops are around including one Italian restaurant (good one) just in front of the hotel. The owner is a English speaking couple and they have a beautiful daughter :P.

And on clear days, you can see part of mount Fuji right from the hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid taking the front rooms. At night when car passes by, its slightly noisy. Else, happy staying!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Found this place after getting off the bus from Tokyo...is 1 min walk from station. Very glad to have stayed here...great location being close to the lake, cheap as anything, clean and cozy and the staff are fantastic as they go out of their way to help! Japanese breakfast is good and they offer luggage storage services as well. Would definately stay here again, and would recommend anyone who was looking to visit Mt Fuji to stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013 via mobile

Kawaguchiko Train & Bus Station is just a minute walk to Koe House. Making transportation easy. One can see the beautiful Fuji-san just behind of the station (subject to weather).

The staff is very friendly and helpful. And the breakfast is delicious.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juzb78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

This is a superbe family-run ryokan like hotel (some rooms have bunk beds, some of them are Ryokan style-. Despite being a relativey humble place, the managers (and owners) really go the extra 100 milles to help. Beyond cooking amazingly well, and providing luggage keeping services, running the hotel in an effective and clean way, they speak good english, provide very reasonably priced cultural tours (beyond & above Mount Fuji, some of the findings include whisky distilleries in the area), and they are 24/7 available.
We had a very troublesome situation when coming back from climbing Mount Fuji, and, on the phone, they moved everything needed for us to be back safe & sound. When finally we arrived (thanks to all their phone calls and help!), they really took care of us, and provided us with warm food (even if it was midnight), and all needed to recover, dry our clothes and facilitate our travel continuation. One million kudos for them!
Definitely, I would come back and would recommend this Ryokan to anybody wanted to climb/trek Fuji (or visit the lakes)!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zarzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fujikawaguchiko-machi hotels
0 mi away
GuestHouse Orange Cabin
GuestHouse Orange Cabin
#9 of 77 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
19 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kawaguchiko Station Inn
Kawaguchiko Station Inn
#1 of 152 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
242 reviews
0.9 mi away
FBH Fuji Backpackers Hostel
FBH Fuji Backpackers Hostel
#23 of 77 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostel & Information SAMURISE
Hostel & Information SAMURISE
#26 of 77 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
12 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kagelow Mt. Fuji Hostel Kawaguchiko
Kagelow Mt. Fuji Hostel Kawaguch...
#8 of 77 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
39 reviews
0 mi away
Wafu Guesthouse Kashiwaya
Wafu Guesthouse Kashiwaya
#12 of 77 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koe House

Address: 3639 Funatsu, Fujikawaguchiko-machi, Minamitsuru-gun 401-0301, Yamanashi Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Yamanashi Prefecture > Minamitsuru-gun > Fujikawaguchiko-machi > Kawaguchiko Onsen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 77 Speciality lodging in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
Price Range: £24 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Koe House 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten so you can book your Koe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koe House Japan/Fujikawaguchiko-Machi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing