We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth staying for the view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Regina Kawaguchiko
Certificate of Excellence
Liphook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Worth staying for the view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We spent one night at the hotel on a whistle-stop tour of the Mount Fuji area - which gave us spectacular views of Mount Fuji from the warmth of our hotel room. Our room was large and had a separate sitting room and kitchenette which was a nice element to the stay.

The room has all the utilities that you need for a comfy stay and the balcony really helped with the photos we took of the Mountain.

The bar is really cosy and the prices aren't too hiked for a hotel for a beer - but it wasn't the kind of bar that you would relax in for the night. The breakfast was pretty decent with a lot of Japanese and Western options so we filled up for the day ahead.

As we were there in low season, it was not particularly busy and I think the only negative is that you are not allowed in the spa pool if you have tattoo's (not sure why) so I was a bit disappointed with that.

Other than that a decent sleep at a decent rate.

Room Tip: I assume that all rooms have a view of Mount Fuji - but just make sure when you check in that you do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weeza S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    86
    31
    2
    1
See reviews for
70
31
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We were on a JTB / Sunrise tour that stopped here for lunch. We were looking forward to a traditional Japanese lunch. While the food was okay (the portions not the greatest), the staff was not attentive and seemed like they did not tour groups. The service, as a result, was less than desirable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank griffinpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Although an older and unassuming property, the Hotel Regina is just perfect for one or two nights.

We stayed there as it was close to Fuji-Q theme park. Value for money, it surprised us with a stunning view of Mount Fuji from our room. The shuttle service to the park and train station was extremely helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maroochydore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

This is a large hotel that our family stayed for one night
pros-great baths, good breakfast, very good views of Fuji in morning although clouded over in afternoon-no snow, family room consisted of two adjoining rooms so plenty of room, shuttle bus to station
cons-not cheap, out of the way,noise from highway throughout the night so interrupted sleep.
Probably would not stay again because of this.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miln4558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

Good: great room, view of Mt. Fuji

Drawback: location, normal onsen

======================================
Room stayed: Standard Twin room at Level 3 (non-smoking, 33m-square, attached bathroom)

Room rate: 8500yen (weekday, including Onsen tax) with breakfast

Location: 5-10 mins drive from Kawaguchiko station. Free pickup service is available. Not sure if any convenience store nearby. Far from Lake Kawaguchiko.

Pickup: Free pickup from Fuji-Q Highland Express Bus Terminal and Kawaguchiko Station. For Kawaguchiko Station, the pick up point is near to the taxi stand, which is beside the Tourist Information building (on the left hand side if you face to Station/Mt Fuji). Call to the hotel when you arrive. Public phone (10yen is enough to make a call) is available in front of Kawaguchiko Station counter/gate. On the other hand, the Tourism centre staff may assist you (free of charge).

Travel Tip: Free WIFI is available at Tourist Information centre. The centre closes quite early every day. If you need help, stand near the building to tap on the free WIFI, should be 24 hours available. On the other hand, get help from the ticket counter beside the train station. The staffs there understand English.

Pick up schedule (to/from station): From 8am until afternoon (12pm? or check-in time 3pm?), once per every 30mins. From afternoon, any time when you need the service.

Pick Up Service: Not that impressed. The staff never offer help to take my luggage. There are many other hotels in this area with better services.

Front desk staffs: One of the staffs can speak English quite well. She was the one who answered the phone when I requested for pick up. (Note: Although Kawaguchiko is a famous tourism area, number of Japanese who can speak English is still limited.)

Room condition: Well maintained. Good lightning. Very big room. Bathroom is also big, which is not a norm in Japan. With balcony, where you can view the Mt Fuji. (Note: most of the hotels' room around Lake Kawaguchiko has view of Mt Fuji as well, but you are unable to open the window, nor there is balcony). The air purifier was already on before I checked in. Temperature of the room was very nice. It kept me warm as the weather was so cold in Kawaguchiko. Heated toilet seat was ready as well. Basically, the whole room just made me feel so comfortable.

Toiletries/amenities: Toothbrush/paste, razor, shampoos, soap, hair dryer, fridge, kettle and air-purifier are provided. In-room slippers are recycled. Disposable slippers are provided as well. No safe in the room. No drinking water provided and you have to boil yourself. Green tea and complimentary snack are served. Vending machines (selling beer, milk, cup noodle, etc) are available at ground floor. There is shop (operated by the hotel) selling souvenir at lobby, and one restaurant at level 2.

Internet: In room LAN and WIFI. At 1st, both of them were not functioning. Staff told me that WIFI is only available at Lobby, but my phone was still unable to connect it. 2 hours later, my phone successfully connected to the WIFI in room. The WIFI was ok until I left the hotel the next morning.

Breakfast: Buffet style, Japanese and Western. Quite a variety. Taste is normal. Not that impressed.

Onsen: 42C bath, a bit too hot. Area is not big, bath is small. No nice scenery nor open air onsen because it is at ground floor.

Sauna: Only available at male onsen.

Swimming pool: Short operating hour (late afternoon till evening). Never have chance to try.

The only thing that impressed me is the room. The rest is just average. But there is limited choice of onsen hotels for solo traveler at lower price. For those travel in pair, there are lot of better choices around Lake Kawaguchiko.

Had travelled to Hokkaido and Kansai before, feel that onsen at Kawaguchiko is really normal. The only advantage here is view of Mt Fuji. To enjoy, invest a bit more to have good view of Mt Fuji when soaking in onsen.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank etherchia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

There were lots of positives from our stay here. We had a spacious, large room with a lounge area to relax in. The views of Mount Fuji both from inside and on the balcony were absolutely spectacular, looking across a forest - I can hardly imagine a better view of it (the other hotel we stayed in nearby looked across houses and powerlines so not as beautiful). At sunset it was really wonderful. The hotel staff ferried us to and from Kawaguchiko station. Style-wise the hotel as a whole was looking a little weary and wasn't sumptuous but was inoffensive and clean. The area itself wasn't the most exciting.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

Very good view of mount Fuji in the morning from the window. All hotel windows are facing the mountain. Rooms are old but ok no wireless internet access unless you separately pay for it.
Not a luxury hotel but lost of room good for small groups.

Room Tip: All hotel windows are facing the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaaaI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fujikawaguchiko-machi hotels
Fuji Premium Resort
#29 of 66 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Kawaguchi lake business & resort...
#15 of 66 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Fuji View Hotel
Fuji View Hotel
#11 of 66 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Fuji Lake Hotel
Fuji Lake Hotel
#14 of 66 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Fuji Ginkei
Fuji Ginkei
#4 of 66 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Konansou
Konansou
#3 of 66 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regina Kawaguchiko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regina Kawaguchiko

Property: Hotel Regina Kawaguchiko
Address: 5239-1 Funazu, Minamitsuru-gun, Fujikawaguchiko-machi 401-0301, Yamanashi Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Chubu > Yamanashi Prefecture > Minamitsuru-gun > Fujikawaguchiko-machi > Kawaguchiko Onsen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Regina Kawaguchiko 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can see a gallant Fuji from all rooms. We have s free shuttle car for Kawaguchiko Train Station and Fujikyu Highland. Hotel is located near convenience stores, shopping centers,restaurants. You can enjoy at reasonable rates authentic kaiseki cuisine, shabu-shabu,tempura, etc.at our restaurant. And you can enjoy Spa and indoor heated pool(except winter), tennis,karaoke also. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Regina Kawaguchiko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regina Kawaguchiko Japan/Fujikawaguchiko-Machi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing