We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Upper Kangaroo River, Shoalhaven, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AHannah
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful but very remote!! ”
Reviewed 3 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

The scenery is absolutely beautiful. The sound of nature in the morning and the views up the mountain are breath taking. We booked all three rooms and were quite comfortable and Loved that we could take our Dog with us on a weekend away. Most things are available including basic kitchen/cooking utensils, washing machine, fridge/freezer, BBQ, lamps, lounge (comfortable for 3 people), and dining room table. The kitchen and bathrooms (two toilets & two showers) are clean and there are outside lights on sensors if you arrive after dark. Though there are few things to note, firstly it is a 5 min (and 2 sec) drive down a mostly gravel path from Upper KV Road to the parking area at the house (a 4wd makes things easier & no low cars). There is no mobile reception, however there is wifi. It was warm when we were there and the house has no air con or fans, but most of the windows open (with fly screens) and the breeze is wonderful. There is a decent fire place for the colder months, and the fire wood is there providing a strong smell of fresh wood in the house. It is out in the Bush, so there are lots of animals around starting with Wombats (we were very mindful of this having our Dog with us) and including lots of bugs/spiders. It was a bit dusty so I was glad I took thongs to wear inside and shoes for outside. We are very much a city family and this is as close as we get to camping but overall we enjoyed our stay and had a relaxing weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nursewith...
Wollongong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful & remote”
Reviewed 19 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

My girlfriends and I stayed here for the long weekend.

PROS: -the house itself is average but it is surrounded by beautiful scenery. Birds chirping away in the morning. The house is remote on 48 aches, plenty of exploring. (Watch out for stinging nettle)
- down the road is Yarrawa Estate. Absolutely beautiful views and the owners are so so friendly! Wines are also very tasty! Highly recommend popping down.
CONS: - we had no landline or internet...(& no mobile reception). Next day we raised this issue the company we booked through & owners could not assist.. which was pretty pathetic for amount we paid for.
A weekend away from city life was great (no internet/mobiles). Only concerned is that we wouldn't react our families to alert them that we were ok.
The company and owner did email us later on to offer us a future discount if we stayed there again.. which we probably won't..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2016
Thanks for your feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed some aspects of your stay at Cabbage Tree Farm.
There was unfortunately a problem with the phone line coming into the property which needed to be repaired. These things happen from time to time (especially in the country!) and are beyond anyone's control.
The issue was reported to Telstra as soon as you brought it to our attention but as I am sure you can understand these type of repairs can take time. It was nearly another two weeks after you departed that the line was finally repaired.
We do hope that you will take up the offer of coming back again at a reduced rate.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcmahonle...
Luddenham, Australia
1 review
“Lovely”
Reviewed 7 October 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our 5 days at Cabbage Tree Farm, very relaxing and a beautiful place for long leisurely walks. All amenities were great and we are looking forward to returning in the future. Only problem is the walk from the car up to the entry at the back (especially for us over 60's) apart from that, we had a fantastic time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Miles from nowhere
Liked least: The steep walk to the entry at the back
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Quiet location but not perfect”
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Nice quiet and remote property where all you hear is the birdsong. Positively the owners have made a good effort to modernise the house and decoration is nice. There were also plenty of staples provided such as tea bags, sugar, oil, cling film etc. Nice to have a fire on the cold nights and there was plenty of firewood provided. However it would have been good to have bedside lamps in the bedroom rather than the fluorescent tube light. While it was mostly clean the sofa and chair had clearly not been properly cleaned following previous guests and were covered in pet hair and had a wet dog smell which was not at all pleasant. So while the area was nice and we had a relaxing time, we probably would not stay in this property again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manan1986
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Poor quality house”
Reviewed 10 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Facilities mention washer and dryer but be aware there is NO dryer in the cottage, one of the electric heater didnt work, no wood for wood heater, short of towels..
Would not recommend this property..
No telstra, vodafone or optus signals

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No heater dryer, no wood for wood heater
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2016
Thanks for your feedback and I'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay. Apologies if you couldn't locate it but there is a large pile of just in front of the house. We did have the property listed as having a washer/dryer which was incorrect as there is only a washing machine so we have now corrected this. Mobile reception can be patchy in the country but there is a landline for emergencies and free wifi
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing