We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish, relaxing and homely - a wonderful stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wingham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Retreat at Witherdens Hall
Ranked #2 of 5 Wingham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Having had The Retreat recommended to us by two friends, we could not resist treating ourselves to a stay here - and it couldn't have been more perfect! The Retreat itself is beautifully decorated and very well-equipped and there is plenty of space for a family of four to make themselves at home. Louise and Craig are fantastic hosts and nothing is too much trouble. The location is ideal - with shops and pubs in Wingham, the lovely coastal towns of Deal and Sandwich and historic city of Canterbury a short drive away and the stunning Kent countryside on your doorstep - complete with pigs! We came away feeling both rested and energised and have no doubt that we will be returning very soon.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beckyboo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 102 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2009

As I arrived at the retreat at witherdens hall I was overwhelmed by the pleasant, positive space. Tastefully decorated self sufficient space, of excellent quality. The Chesters, who run the retreat were the most kind and helpful couple. I would happily recommend this environment to anyone for a relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANDREWBRIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

When we arrive at the retreat we were given a warm welcome and found they had already set up a travel cot for us. Both bedrooms have comfortable beds with quality cotton bedding, they also have a crystle bed which was a real treat to sleep on.
It is a short easy drive to Canterbury but you still feel like you're away from it all when you return down the little country lane to the retreat. There is also some great farm shops near by so you can stock up the fridge
The living space was light and airy and has a really comfy sofa, good sized telly (with dvd library), all the lights have dimmers on, plus there's nice candels to use.
Try their delicious pork sausages for breakfast.
We really enjoyed our stay there and had bright sunshine the whole week ( which they tell me they've had all summer) The thing I liked least was returning to rainy Oxford!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mazzaBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2009

We found this little peaceful gem through the 'Footprint Guide to Body and Soul Escapes: Britain & Ireland'. The tastefully converted barn serves as a self-accommodating two bedroom cottage with the most comfortable bed I've ever slept on! The cottage is cozy and clean (was perfect for us as a couple) and is great for a quiet, relaxing break in the country. Our host Louise introduced us to her resident therapist who will come to the cottage and give treatments but we didn't have any but instead enjoyed taking lovely walks and eating at the nearby pub The Fitzwalter Arms. Food here was excellent! The Retreat at Witherdens Hall is a wonderful choice if you just want some peace and quiet. It is reasonably priced with good, locally grown organic food. Louise will supply you with their own homemade sausages, fresh eggs, organic bread, milk and cereals for an extra fiver. Well worth it. Stay here and chill out.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keepemgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wingham
6.1 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,206 reviews
6.6 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
292 reviews
6.3 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Iffin Farmhouse
Iffin Farmhouse
#2 of 73 in Canterbury
474 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Dog at Wingham
The Dog at Wingham
#1 of 5 in Wingham
134 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Millers Arms
The Millers Arms
#5 of 73 in Canterbury
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Retreat at Witherdens Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Retreat at Witherdens Hall

Address: Witherdens Hall Popsall Lane, Wingham, Canterbury CT3 1AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Wingham
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Wingham
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Retreat offers an entirely bespoke experience in a tranquil space.• A beautiful cottage to stay in while visiting the historic area of East Kent.• Tranquility to rest and recharge your batteries• Space for mental exploration to identify the paths you want your work or home life to take in the future. • The opportunity to break through a creative or work block with an experienced executive coach. • Time to resolve a business imperative with an experienced business strategist ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Retreat At Witherdens Hall Wingham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing