We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Retreat at Witherdens Hall
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Wingham
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Bell Hotel(Sandwich)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Salutation(Sandwich)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
102
5
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
102
5
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmassage chairget awayfresh eggskent countrysidebath saltshome away from homeon arrivalperfect placerest and relaxationpeace and quietsteam showerinteresting booksvery special placeswimming poolneals yardwell equipped kitchenmini spa
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 108 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2010

We arrived pretty pooped after way too many hours/weeks hard at work on various projects to find that our every whim had been catered for. We were met with genuine warmth and abundance of Organics goodies. Not only that, the sense of calm that claims you is quite unique. We defy anyone not to leave fully rejuvenated, ready to tackle anything that life might throw your way.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulBAJefferies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

I recently stayed at The Retreat and I was so pleased with the ambience, outlook and quality of the accomodation. Every detail had been considered, allowing us to relax and enjoy the break in the glorious kent countryside. In a word; perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrewbrisBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

We found The Retreat quite by chance as we were trawling the web to find somewhere suitable for children, close to Howletts zoo and also a lovely standard for the adults! The Retreat was just perfect in every way. Beautifully clean and ready for our arrival with organic local produce in the fridge all we had to do was unpack our weekend bags! The kids rushed off to meet the pigs and chickens and check (frequently!!!) for fresh eggs as we instantly relaxed from our hectic London lives. Craig and Louise were perfect hosts and made us feel that we were old friends coming to stay and at the same time left us to get on with things. It was our son's 4th birthday (hence the zoo visit) and when the grandparents came back for birthday cake they too were impressed with the set up. Feeling rather exhausted from the travel down I slept on the crystal bed and think it was the best night's sleep since before I had children! Small touches such as beautiful bed linen and bath salts make you feel pampered and special. It just goes to show that is is possible to stay away with small children and also feel like adults. Weather was on our side for the whole weekend- the kids were outdoors and slept like babies in the car on the way home. A big bonus!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlumFelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

We stayed 3 nights at Witherdens Hall and I would like to say I will definitely be going back soon.
Louise and Craig were amazing hosts and Marilyn's reiki treatment is something not to be missed. It felt welcoming, homely to be here and utterfly peaceful.
We were among the first people to make use of the 'mini spa' facilities on site i.e. infra red sauna and steam bath (only 1 person use at a time) - not my cup of tea personally, but nice to have none the less.
Just few miles from here is a splendid, authentic Ayurvedic Spa for serious spa goers - check out tor spa.
The retreat place is thouroughly organic from the foodstuff to shower gels and dishwashing liquid, leaving you feeling quite nourished mentally and physcially.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simpleandsweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2010

Our own night stay at the retreat was perfect. Craig, Louise and Alice are an amazing family and we feel so privileged to have been treated like family during our short stay. We had an amazing rest and slept more soundly than we have in years. The perfect place to visit local farm shops, beautiful gardens and meet some of the ugliest, yet cutest pigs on the planet was the perfect escape from the city. We are already planning our return and were heartbroken to leave after such a short stay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sag3London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews