We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantasic value for money !”
Review of The Red Lion Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wingham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Red Lion Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Wingham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 August 2011

An absolutely super place to stay, food excellent atmosphere to match and the host, John, a true gentleman
would highly reccomend and will definately return !

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonedog5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2011

We had a great stay at The Red Lion. The room was massive, full of character and very comfortable. The restaurant food was brilliant and really good value for money. The staff are all very friendly. The village is well located for visiting all the local sights. Overall, this was an amazing stay and we would definitely stay there again.

3  Thank michelleelpeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

in room 4.
The good bit. Historic pub,breakfast ok though if you want cereal you need to ask.
The bad bit. Masecator toilet in rooms so when adjacent rooms use the toilet the motor wakes you up.Linen on bed out of the 70's.as is the decor.Woke up at 1045 with loud music and singing. Got up to find the landlord to complain only to find it was the landlord making the row. Acceptable for £40 a night not acceptable at £75.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank johnbSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Well we missed the golf by a week, phew !! lucky or what, and consequently we had no problem with our short notice midweek stay.
Massive room almost as big as our own at home and very similar with wonky beams and floors befitting a building of this elegant age, The Mermaid at Rye has similar rooms but ten times the price and no breakfast, work that out!!
We had the room above the bar for two nights and were welcomed by John and staff like long lost friends, bloody good breakfast and excellent evening fare, good value and unpretentious, unlike some establishments closeby.
We are regularily early to bed and found absolutely no problem with noise, I was surprised at this as we were above the bar, but no prpblem in that respect.
We would recomend the HAWARDEN suite should you decide to stay as you may find Lord "Bob" HAWARDEN in the bar at lunchtimes, no he really is a Lord, and a Sir, and also a Baron, albeit Italian.
Very well placed for exploaration of almost unspoilt East Kent.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BaddyPurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

My parents and I stayed here and loved it. The place has loads of character. Very impressed with how they have put modern plumbing into a 13th century building. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious. Good car parking too.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelKazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

First arrived in the afternoon and all was very pleasant and atmospheric. Room was large and staff were friendly. We had booked 3 rooms so that we could all catch up with extended family nearby.

Arrived back at hotel around 10.30 and decided to go up to our rooms since we all had to head off early the next day. We were told the bar would close in half an hour.

2 and a half hours of very dodgy singing from the bar to Frank Sinatra and Robbie Williams amongst others resulted in some very grumpy guests. The singing actually wasnt untuneful but the music was very very loud.

The noise did not just carry to the room above the bar but to the other two rooms as well.
It was so bad we were ready to leave at 1am without paying! Obviously priority is given to selling drinks above guests in rooms.

Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for the furthest room from the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCTravellerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2011

This our second visit to " The Red Lion" Wingham We stayed for 4 nights. 10 March - 15th March

The food is excellent, The staff make you feel so wellcome. The rooms are very comfortable.

Nothing is to much trouble for the staff. It is such a please to stay there. we invited some friends to come along on this trip as it was there wedding anniversary. They had such a fabulious 4 Days. We will all visit "The Red Lion " again soon.

YOU MUST TRY IT FOR YOURSELVES

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dali23_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Inn

Address: Canterbury Road, Wingham, Canterbury CT3 1BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Wingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Wingham
Price Range: £55 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Inn Wingham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing