We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Weekend”
Review of The Red Lion Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wingham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Red Lion Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Wingham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 November 2012

The Red Lion is a very old Inn, full of history and character. Our bedroom was no exception and had its own place in the history of this inn - it was the magistrates room. The bed was the biggest I have ever slept in and so comfy. The bathroom was spotless with all the necessary toiletries you could need. Downstairs was the bar and restaurant with the an amazingly friendly staff. The food in the restaurant was smashing, a great choice of wine and all at reasonable prices. This is an inn that deserves the nicest of people staying because the treatment you receive is so welcoming and warm. Our thanks to John and his team who made this weekend really special.

Room Tip: I wouldn't think it would matter which room you stayed in - the windows are large so it's li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frequent-traveller05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2012

Three nights stay in room 2 was an amazing experience. What a room! Spacious, clean, comfortable, brilliant king size bed. Lovely friendly, helpful staff, very welcoming. Fantastic full English breakfast with the tastiest eggs and sausages you could find. We had a wonderful time. Only down side - NO GHOST. David and Helen
Melbourne Australia

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mernda2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We recently stayed for one night for our wedding anniversary. Staff were very welcoming and eager to show us our room and facilities. Unfortunately the room could not be locked from the outside so when we went for dinner all our valuables had to come with us - we felt this totally unacceptable. Sadly we were disappointed. Everything in the room seemed tired and in need of a re-vamp. We arrived early evening on a particularly cold day and as our room was large we asked if we could have some heating as the room was so cold. The heating was put on but we did feel rather grudgingly and eventually warmed up in the middle of the night. If only there had been a fan heater in the room we could have used this.The dining room was, however, cosy and warm. Our meal was average although good value for money. Breakfast was very good although we would like to have had a menu to chose from.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelbugs1847739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

we spend a week end in the kent with firends and stay at the red lion, what a good idea !.

Our room were very spacious (ask for room 1 or 2), the pub was very friendly with a small outside terrace and last but not least, the food was excellent.

definitely a great place to stay again !

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Razowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed overnight after a drive down from London and were recommended by another b&b as they were fully booked. I thought with this recommendation the red lion would be a worthy stay - seeing the pics and reading reviews sold it for me.
We arrived and was welcomed by a helpful lady who showed us to our room. Although small and cosy the decor was very dated - the bed linen looked as though it had been there since the 80's! Very worn and none of the bedding matched. The bed was uncomfortable - I woke with a sore back. A little money spent on refurbishing the rooms and I would be happy to pay £75 per night - I think this was overpriced for what you get.

As there is not much to do in the area (which is what we wanted) we stayed in the pub and enjoyed a bottle of wine over dinner. The food was delicious and resonibly priced. The landlord seemed friendly...to the locals. I didn't feel as thought we got a friendly welcome from him or that we were trusted. In my experience you pay for your stay on day of departure but he asked us to pay that evening. Maybe I was being paranoid but when we checked out other guests paid on departure. I just found him to be a little unwelcoming but other than that I wouldn't let this put you off. Finally, the breakfast was nice and the ladies that rustle it up were lovely - only tip for them would be to have a breakfast menu to see what your options are.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saunders81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights and would recommend this inn for its food ,comfort and loved the character of the old bedroom,the food was super and friendly staff,definitely worth a stay.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Jivebunny55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

stayed here several times and never been let down or dissapointed. Room 2 is huge but very cosy. You really do need to try this hotel wether you are travelling or locals.
Stayed last night with the wife as a last minute getaway, we only live 20 minutes away, the welcome the room the food and the hosts were as usual excellent
highly reccomend

Room Tip: no tips really just go there and relax and enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BroadstairsPhild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wingham
5.8 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
455 reviews
5.7 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,182 reviews
5.9 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
1,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Dog at Wingham
The Dog at Wingham
#1 of 5 in Wingham
125 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Duke William Ickham
2.1 mi away
The Pilgrims Rest
The Pilgrims Rest
#1 of 2 in Littlebourne
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Inn

Address: Canterbury Road, Wingham, Canterbury CT3 1BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Wingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Wingham
Price Range: £55 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Inn Wingham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing