We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok food”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Red Lion Inn Restaurant - CLOSED

The Red Lion Inn Restaurant
Price range: US$13 - US$32
Cuisines: British, Pub
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
France
Level Contributor
155 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Ok food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Needs a little more atmosphere. menu was limited for evening meal, and the starters offered 3 fish out of 4 choices. I am allergic to fish which limited my options, but asked for a choice from the lunchtime menu which they accommodated for me. Needs to compete a little with the other pubs locally. Service was a little slow, but that is OK if food is freshly cooked. Staff were friendly. Only thing that put me off was when we ordered drinks at bar there were loads of young people sat around bar which made it difficult to order drinks.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Doodah99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    17
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Top Class Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Staff were friendly and welcoming and the food is amazing. Cannot recommend highly enough! Service was quick and portion sizes were generous and good value for money. I have eaten here twice and both times service and food was faultless. Food is to restaurant standards but in a friendly local inn setting. Perfect! Just a shame this isn't my local!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JoWithey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
126 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great steak sandwich”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

The pub restaurant is much more elegant inside than you would expect from the outside. The food is not inexpensive but it is very very good.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank CatlondonUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We had a beautiful meal here for my boyfriends birthday, the food was devine, the service was brilliant, the restaurant itself was lovely and quiet. Would definitely recommend.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

We were able to take the dog into the bar when we had our meal. The service was excellent as was the menu choices, the staff were friendly and helpful

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ceti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Red Lion Inn Restaurant also viewed

 
Wingham, Canterbury
 
Wingham, Canterbury
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing