We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous 10 Nights”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Muri
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dorothy's Muri Beach Bungalows
Ranked #12 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Muri
Christchurch NZ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous 10 Nights”
Reviewed 1 August 2012

What great 10 nights.Dorothys is well located,1 minute stroll to Muri lagoon,2 minutes to Bus or Vehicle hire and a number of nice restaurants within a 5 minute walk.The units are comfortable,well appointed,clean and modern.Ivor and Dorothy are lovely people and great hosts.
This was our second holiday in Raro,our first stay at Dorothy's and we are looking forward to our return in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomChristchurchNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
33
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gisborne, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2012

I stayed here in 2011, I went to Raotonga by myself (single female) and found the location fantastic(Muri Beach is my favourite spot on the island),close to everything that I could need(but still felt 'private'), safe and secure, with tidy, comfortable accomodation. Would recommend to friends and would also stay here again.

Room Tip: The roosters were the only dowside to the quality of sleep, but you'll get this in all the islan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

My partner and I spent a memorable week here in April 2012.

The accommodation was excellent value, in a great location and was modern, clean and tidy.

Would definately recommend and hope to return again in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 9 nights while attending a wedding that was held at pacific resort. The location and positive reviews made it an easy choice for accomodation. It is in muri which is the nicest area of rarotonga and is between pacific resort and sails restaurant, right in the heart of muri. Everything you need is nearby or a short scooter ride away. Ivor the host welcomed us with a bowl of fresh fruit in the room. We had a great stay and would highly recommend this accomodation. Fantastic location and very good value for money. We didn't have air conditioning as we didn't want to pay the extra for it and this was the only flaw as it made sleeping hard cause we were to damn hot so get air conditioning (don't make the same mistake we did), its worth it in warm raro season! Thanks Ivor!!

Room Tip: We were in bungalow 2 and it was a nice private one, we had some chicken friends in the backyard too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank renee t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

I stayed here the night before my wedding with my 3 children, quality time. Took them to breakfast the next morning on the beach and then stayed here two more nights with my new husband Wiremu. We stayed in the 2 bedroom bungalow. New feeling, modern, washing machine, dryer, own private back area with loungers. Outside shower, path to Muri Beach.

We loved it so much we are returning in Jan for our Honeymoon.

Hosts are great and helpful and gave us excellent discount and wonderful communication considering time difference.

Really is a dream bungalow for us near the beach.

Room Tip: Bring own goggles and snorkles OR hire on beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raylene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Think Hawaii in the 1950's. No high rises or condominium complexes. Long beaches to walk without having to maneuver around beach umbrellas. Small businesses along the road selling shells, wood carvings, black pearls, etc. interspersed with restaurants offering fresh fish with ripe fruit garnishes. Dorothy's Beach Bungalows at Muri Beach is squeezed between two small resorts, three small, modern duplexes with a floral-draped path to the beach. The lagoon is like an enormous swimming pool. You can rent a kayak just down the beach and paddle to one close island with coral reefs harboring bright-colored fish. At low tide, you can walk to another island teeming with marine life in tide pools surrounding the island. Ivor, Dorothy's husband, is a great guy and was 'minding the store' while Dorothy was away. He also drives a local taxi and is sometimes hard to reach, but when he's there he's very helpful. The bungalow has sliding doors you can open to let in the south sea breezes, a fully-equipped kitchen, and chaise longues and an umbrella table in the backyard where roosters and hens bring their chicks of various ages to entertain you. The neighbors were friendly New Zealanders enjoying a holiday in the enduring warm weather of the islands. This is a great getaway place!

Room Tip: All bungalows are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DansMarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Brilliant location near Muri beach. Close to Pacific Resort and Sails restaurant. Short track down to the beach. Chickens were quite noisy early in the morning but that didn't really bother us, we enjoyed them hanging around. Complete with laundry, hairdryer, everything you need in the kitchen. You could hear the drums from Pacific Resort in the evening, we loved it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EveZQN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.3 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
1.0 mi away
Muri Retreat
Muri Retreat
#10 of 17 in Muri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Avana Waterfront Apartments
0.5 mi away
Muri Beachcomber
Muri Beachcomber
#1 of 17 in Muri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sunrise Beach Bungalows
Sunrise Beach Bungalows
#35 of 75 in Rarotonga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorothy's Muri Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorothy's Muri Beach Bungalows

Property: Dorothy's Muri Beach Bungalows
Address: Muri Beach, Muri, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Muri
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Dorothy`s Muri Beach Bungalows Hotel Muri
Dorothy's Muri Beach Bungalows Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing