We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place to stay home away from home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Muri
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dorothy's Muri Beach Bungalows
Ranked #12 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Muri
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We would highly recommend Dorothys to other travelers it is fantastic a min walk down the drive to path right on Muri Lagoon next to Captain Tamas and a 2 min walk to Sails for great breakys. The bungalows are fabulous with patios out front and back covered in unit 3 & 4 units 1&2 are slightly cooler they all have ceiling fans and mobile stand ones too. the kitchens in all have all you need to cook and each has it's own washing machine and dryer. The managers live up the front house and what a lovely couple they are looking out for our family group supplying local fruit and clean towels whenever asked nothing was too much trouble for them and they go that extra mile taking you to special snorkling spots if wanted and always with a happy smile and we must not forget their dog Jason fantastic with the kids
You do a great job with keeping the grounds lovely and it was certainly a pleasure to be able to host you for our engagement celebration. Ivor was fabulous he is the owner what a lovely person too thanks for letting us share your piece of paradise. The locals put on a lovely dinner in the park up the road fantastic meals for $10 NZ you sit at BBQ tables with the locals and music playing great selection of local meals I had the curry pork was devine. The Banana cake is yummy for $5. highly reccommend very clean and good hygene.

Room Tip: Coco tots .com for children hire gear from bedding cots to ride on bikes great service. All the bung...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fantailonenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
33
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Myself and my husband just came back from staying at Dorothy's for 1 week. Was amazing! Perfect location on Muri lagoon! I have a disability and it was perfect, took me 1 minute to walk to the beach from our bungalow, and thats walking very slowly. We had the pacific resort next door which has a restaurant and bar (although a bit pricey), sails restaurant and bar on the other side of us. Right next door to Captains Tamas lagoon cruises where you can also hire snorkel gear, paddle boards, kayaks etc. Bus stops at the end of the driveway, shop about 20 metres from end of driveway, can buy food, alcohol, supplies, takeaway there too, Muri beach market on thursday and sunday nights- we ate dinner here twice, $10 plates of all sorts of food, yum!, bakery and deli another 50 metres down the road, to the other side, restaurants (the rickshaw-asian, mexican), car/scooter hire places. Maureen and Bill who help manage the bungalows were awesome! So friendly, they brought us fresh fruit every second day, gave us heaps of advice about places to eat, swim etc. They have a single kayak and snorkel gear themselves which you can use at no charge. Dvds that you can borrow as well, as the tv channels are quite hard to pick up. The bungalow itself has everything you would need, full kitchen, fridge, microwave, bathroom, lounge area, washing machine, dryer, outdoor clothes rack, outdoor lounge chairs, toaster, jug, 1 private outdoor area, and 1 outdoor area at the front of bungalow. Very clean and tidy! Ivor was great as well, very hospitable. Didn't see him much, just when we arrived and the day before we left, as I understand he runs a taxi business, so quite busy. We used his taxi service to get to and from the airport, and his driver Mitch was very nice :) Would definitely love to go back to Dorothy's in the future, not one negative thing to say about it!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laurenwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We had a marvelous stay in this 2 bedroom bungalow. Everything we needed was there. The bedrooms had air conditioning but the only thing that stopped me putting a higher rating was no air con in the main living area. There were fans though. This was a great place for our all female family who attended a wedding in Rarotonga. We had comfy beds and excellent cooking facilities for our breakfasts and lunches and snacks. Walking distance to many restaurants. plenty of towels and nice and clean. Thanks Ivor and Dorothy for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Reina276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

This is a great spot,close to beach and within walking distance to local cafe Deli-licious which does the BEST coffee and cooked breakfasts. LBV for pastries and Paw Paw cheesecake and plenty of restaurants as well. There has been a lot of development in Rarotonga since we were there 3 years ago and Muri especially, they have the Muri market which is just down the road. Dorothys had everything we needed for self catering accommodation. Private little spot out back and front porch area also. Yes the roosters were a bit annoying waking us up at 4am but hey like others have said you will get that anywhere on the island and it didn't bother us once we got used to it. Maureen and Bill who were looking after the property were very friendly and welcoming. Ivor the owner a lovely man albeit a busy one with his taxi business band greeted us with a large bunch of bananas upon arrival. We met a lovely couple who were staying in another bungalow very envious of there 3 week holiday as we were only there for a week. We were very comfortable here and would highly reccomend to others and return to stay again hopefully soon! Thankyou Dorothys :)

Room Tip: There are 4 bungalows in total so 2 sets of 2, not that soundproof so if staying in bungalow 3 which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melnotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ha, Bhutan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

This is a very nice place to stay. It is only a 30 second walk to the beach. And it is a good beach with clear water and nice sand. There are many convenient stores and restaurants in walking distance. The bungalow was very clean and modern. Great clothes washer and dryer in the unit, TV/DVD player and free movies, basic kitchen supplies, microwave. The caretakers Bill and Maureen and very friendly and helpful. It costs extra for air conditioning but its not needed as it it a very nice warm temperature day and night. Rarotonga is not the place for you if you don't like dogs. There are friendly beach dogs that live there and eat what they can scavenge. They are friendly but can get annoying always following you around. There are also lots of chickens roaming around and you can hear the roosters making noise at 5AM so bring ear plugs. The food in the restaurants and grocery stores is very expensive and not the best quality so bring your own if you have room in your luggage (fresh fruits & vegetables and meat that is not canned are not allowed in). Con:our bed was hard and the pillows were lumpy.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mbrv34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westonsupermare
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

If your looking for luxury then this isn't for you. But if you want decent accomodation with everything you would want then stay here.
Plus points - a washing machine and dryer plus an airer to hang stuff on outside to dry, modern fridge and freezer. Ceiling and another fan in the bedroom. Outside space with BBQ plus chairs and table. Thirty second walk to the beach.
Down points - blooming roosters waking you up at four in the morning!! Air con is extra. Shower took ages to drain away and was in danger of flooding.
Loved the location close to restaurants beach and bus stop but tucked away so nobody knew where you were.
Loved the resident dog who won our hearts over ad stayed with us through the whole stay even coming snorkelling with us!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank combatchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

I moved to Dorothy's after spending a couple of days at a resort on the other side of the Island. Muri is so much more fun and Dorothy's is great value right in the centre with at least 5 restaurants in easy walking distance. The beach is so close and being able to self cater was a bonus as well. Ivor is so kind and accommodating and the bungalows are clean and cosy. Would highly recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MichelleWaiheke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.3 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
1.0 mi away
Muri Retreat
Muri Retreat
#10 of 17 in Muri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Avana Waterfront Apartments
0.5 mi away
Muri Beachcomber
Muri Beachcomber
#1 of 17 in Muri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sunrise Beach Bungalows
Sunrise Beach Bungalows
#36 of 75 in Rarotonga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorothy's Muri Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorothy's Muri Beach Bungalows

Property: Dorothy's Muri Beach Bungalows
Address: Muri Beach, Muri, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Muri
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Dorothy`s Muri Beach Bungalows Hotel Muri
Dorothy's Muri Beach Bungalows Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing