We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect accommodation in every way-Dorothy's Beach Bungalow-Muri Beach-Raro”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Muri
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dorothy's Muri Beach Bungalows
Ranked #12 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Muri
Auckland
1 review
“Perfect accommodation in every way-Dorothy's Beach Bungalow-Muri Beach-Raro”
Reviewed 24 April 2010

Stayed for 2 weeks and location, Raro, Muri beach and accommodation perfect for us. Ivor was helpful and informative and very approachable. We wanted peaceful location, privacy with home comforts and the bungalows more than met our expectation. The location is 1 minute walk to the best swimming beach on Raro. We took lilos/inflatables which was an excellent idea as used them loads. Best snorkeling in the marine reserve at Muri or opposite Fruits of Raro. Definately take your own snorkeling gear, as we did. Saw eels, parrot fish, flat fish, a sea snake, angel fish, blue star fish and loads more. Best snorkelling was by far on Aitutaki, where visibility was over 20 meters. Saw giant clams and amazing coral, although not as many fish as on Raro. Also saw a turtle whilst out on Aitutaki lagoon. Possibly the most beautiful island we have ever been to. Hired a moped and roads were all safe on both inner and outer road. Some connecting roads were dirt tracks. Waterfall a little small by NZ standards but we have been previously spoilt! Resterants all very nice although self catered most of the time. Did needles walk and got quite lost and managed to find our way to a different peak which was still spectacular. As you can guess, we did not take a guide! Did not do island night as did all this on previous trip to Samoa but took advantage of fire shows on beach for wedding parties which we randomly stumbled on!!! Was perfect relax which is what Raro is all about.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emgitoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
33
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NewZealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2010

We just got back from a quick 4 night stay at Dorothy's, what a great little spot it had everything we needed and we cant agree more with the other reviews. Just a short walk to the beach and no road noise.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fijitime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2009

We have just had 8 wonderful nights in the #2 bungalow..... more than we could of ever hoped for.
We had an early morning flight and Hemi met us, he and his wife look after the place for Ivor & Dorothy and we found them friendly, approachable but not at all intrusive.
We had flower arrangements in the kitchen, bathroom and on the beds as well as a big bowl full of fruit, avocados and crackers, and milk in the fridge with a bottle of water on arrival. There was tea, coffee & sugar and also laundry powder. Basically you can walk in and there is enough to last a day or 2 without having to replenish tea, coffee etc.
The bungalows came with 2 sun loungers, an outdoor setting, umbrellas, beach mats, laundry basket, clothes airer (as well as washing machine, dryer and full cooking facilities etc), there was even a basic 1st aid kit in the bathroom.

The only down side was that perhaps a small couch in the living area would be great. Neither of the safes in either unit worked, apparently they have had constant trouble with them, but I dont think this was a real problem as we found places to 'stash our valuables'.
A folder/compedium explaining things would of been good, for an example there is now a bbq on each front deck with no gas bottle. This is a relatively new addition and apparently it is $40 for the week which we think is great value, and they will drop the bottle off of course.
Our tv had terrible reception but the neighbours was good, didn't matter too much though as we didn't really miss it although to watch the news clearly would of been great.
We will definately be back to stay if we ever venture over again. The location was great, only one house back from the beach front which was a short walk, and because of this when it was windy the place was mainly sheltered. The little touches really mattered, such as getting in on our 2nd or 3rd day there and finding 2 huge papaya in the fruit bowl.
I felt it was great having Hemi and his wife next door as we knew we could ask them about things but they were very respectful of our 'space'.................AWESOME, AWESOME, AWESOME.

I enquired about other accommodation around the area and this place is incredibly cheap in comparison and from what I could see so much nicer than other places that were 2 to 4 times the price per night.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lellley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2009

A Fantastic place to stay on Rarotonga. We had a great welcome from Ivor the owner of the bungalow. It is ideally situated close to Muri Beach, restaurants and bars shops all in walking distance. The bungalow was immaculate & clean and fully self contained with all the facilities that you would need.
All linen supplied but we advise you to take your own beach towels.
Would definately return to stay here it is right next door to the Pacific resort but you do not have to pay resort prices for your accommodation

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CassieLevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2009

I come to write this review only to find it has all been said before by KiwichickAuckland (previous review) I concur fully we had a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MicandTez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
182 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2008

We were looking for accommodation under NZD500 per night not as easy as you may think! We trawled the web pages and found Dorothys Beach Bungalows. WOW what a find NZD100 per night or $150 with air con in the bedroom. It wasn't the height of summer and although 28C ,with the ceiling fan in the lounge and slats in the windows we were fine. Dorothys are 2 bungalows side by side right next to the Pacific resort to the South of the island on beautiful Muri Beach and lagoon. The beach was literally 45 steps away. The bungalows are 2 years old with high wooden ceilings, tiled floors and many windows with insect screens. There were 2 decks (patios for you non kiwis!) one at the front and one at the rear of the bedroom with garden funiture. Inside there is a lounge with dining room table and chairs, TV with DVD player, a kitchen with gas hob and electric convection oven, toaster, fridge, jug etc etc. The bathroom had a glass vanity and large tiled shower. The 1 bedroom had super Kingsize bed large wardrobe with electronic safe. It was all spotless. The only thing it could have done with was a small 2 seater sofa as the only chairs were the dining chairs. We got round this by wheeling the TV into the bedroom where we watched DVDs late at night. The bed was large and super comfy. We were met at the airport by Ivor the owner who met us with fragrant leis transfer was NZD30. Asd we arrived at 11pm well worth it as Raro at night is very dark and you need to take care driving watch out for dogs and coconuts. We hired a car the next day and left it at the airport when we left. Muri is fabulous and having gone all round the Island wouldn't have wanted to stay anywhere else. There was a small shop close by and the fabulous Sails restaurant on the beach virtually next door. We had a great stay and thank Ivor for his graciousness.
For excellent value you can't go wrong we checked out other
resorts and some were really old and passed it whilst the nice ones were NZD500-700 per night just not worth it in our opinion. We spent our days on the beach swimming and snorkelling the sea is warm and crystal clear. Dorothys has a shower in the large garden to wash off the sand. If you want clean reasonable accommodation for an excellent price you can't go wrong choosing Dorothys. Just take a corkscrew for the wine you will be drinking on the patio. Sorry no photos as we did a DVD recording

  • Liked — Cleaniliness,and Location
  • Disliked — No sofa
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank KiwichickAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.3 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
1.0 mi away
Muri Retreat
Muri Retreat
#10 of 17 in Muri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Avana Waterfront Apartments
0.5 mi away
Muri Beachcomber
Muri Beachcomber
#1 of 17 in Muri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sunrise Beach Bungalows
Sunrise Beach Bungalows
#34 of 75 in Rarotonga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorothy's Muri Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorothy's Muri Beach Bungalows

Property: Dorothy's Muri Beach Bungalows
Address: Muri Beach, Muri, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Muri
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Dorothy`s Muri Beach Bungalows Hotel Muri
Dorothy's Muri Beach Bungalows Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing