We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to Everything” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dorothy's Muri Beach Bungalows

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Muri
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dorothy's Muri Beach Bungalows
Ranked #12 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Muri
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Close to Everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

Dorothy’s Muri Beach Bungalows are right in the heart of Muri Beach. While it is a little noisy in the early evening with the cultural show each night, we found it well worth it to be 2minutes walk from the beach, the general store, two fantastic burger bars (Miro’s Diner and KaiKai Time) and the famed Italian restaurant, Stefano's. The bungalow itself is well-laid out with effective ventilation, functional kitchen and lovely bathroom. Associated with the bungalows is an executive taxi service which we found very helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1156978635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
33
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Avoca NSW
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

Thanks again Ivor for your lovely hospitality. We have had the pleasure of stay here twice. The cabins have everything you could want including a washing machine and dryer. They are spotlessly clean and in a great position to Muri lagoon. Ivor is a wonderful host and will look after you. Hope to see you again soon.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DeniseNorthAvocaNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2010

We would stay again at Dorothys Bungalows. Just what we needed for a lovely quiet two week holiday by the beach with everything we needed. Real handy to Muri beach attractions , meals, rentals, shops, glass bottom boats, resorts, transport. The owner was great and made sure we were comfortable, meeting us on arrival at airport and departure there. He called with local fruit and to check if all was O.K. Certainly we can recommend this place for a relaxing time. Cheers Neil & Linley. Christchurch NZ.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelnut8598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2010

We meant to write this review after staying at Dorothy's in January. We first heard about Dorothy's from Trip Advisor and all the good comments were true. Excellent value for money. Ivor was so helpful and welcoming, the rooms were clean, the bed comfortable, and the beach was just a hop, skip, and a jump away. The sand at Muri beach was soft and the water wonderfully clear. Thanks for an excellent holiday.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trefynwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2010

Ivor was very welcoming and met us at the airport and also for our return home flight.
The bungalows are spotlessley clean really good accomodation and very near the beach

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colemanholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2010

Stayed for 2 weeks and location, Raro, Muri beach and accommodation perfect for us. Ivor was helpful and informative and very approachable. We wanted peaceful location, privacy with home comforts and the bungalows more than met our expectation. The location is 1 minute walk to the best swimming beach on Raro. We took lilos/inflatables which was an excellent idea as used them loads. Best snorkeling in the marine reserve at Muri or opposite Fruits of Raro. Definately take your own snorkeling gear, as we did. Saw eels, parrot fish, flat fish, a sea snake, angel fish, blue star fish and loads more. Best snorkelling was by far on Aitutaki, where visibility was over 20 meters. Saw giant clams and amazing coral, although not as many fish as on Raro. Also saw a turtle whilst out on Aitutaki lagoon. Possibly the most beautiful island we have ever been to. Hired a moped and roads were all safe on both inner and outer road. Some connecting roads were dirt tracks. Waterfall a little small by NZ standards but we have been previously spoilt! Resterants all very nice although self catered most of the time. Did needles walk and got quite lost and managed to find our way to a different peak which was still spectacular. As you can guess, we did not take a guide! Did not do island night as did all this on previous trip to Samoa but took advantage of fire shows on beach for wedding parties which we randomly stumbled on!!! Was perfect relax which is what Raro is all about.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emgitoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewZealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2010

We just got back from a quick 4 night stay at Dorothy's, what a great little spot it had everything we needed and we cant agree more with the other reviews. Just a short walk to the beach and no road noise.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fijitime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muri hotels
0.3 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
0.4 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
0.8 mi away
Avana Waterfront Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Muri Retreat
Muri Retreat
#10 of 18 in Muri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.5 mi away
Muri Beachcomber
Muri Beachcomber
#1 of 18 in Muri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.5 mi away
Muri Shores
Muri Shores
#3 of 18 in Muri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorothy's Muri Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorothy's Muri Beach Bungalows

Property: Dorothy's Muri Beach Bungalows
Address: Muri Beach, Muri, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Muri
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Dorothy`s Muri Beach Bungalows Hotel Muri
Dorothy's Muri Beach Bungalows Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing