We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Te Vakaroa Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Te Vakaroa Villas
Ranked #4 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Muri
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Te Vakaroa has everything you need. We spent a week there following our wedding and it is just awesome. Everything was easy, the property is perfect and you can spend hours just lounging around the pool. Nick and his team have the right attitude and were accomodating in every way. Highly recommend this place and am planning a return visit with a larger group. Thanks for the good times and re-charged batteries!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tama S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des E, Director of Sales at Te Vakaroa Villas, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Kia Orana,
Nice to hear your visit with us was enjoyable and rewarding, Nick and the team appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    10
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
23
111
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The Te Vakaroa villas have it all!
The location was great, the villas were perfect and the pool was fantastic! Highly recommend this accommodation!
Swimming in the infinity pool was a favourite activity! Can't wait to return!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Great experience. We loved it. Very quiet & private, but also close to dining and activities. Staff very friendly. We just chilled and relaxed for over a week. Easily recommended.
Short walk to bars/dining etc but a walk around the corner of the bay for as long as you want you find all the peace needed and great snorkelling. Staff were great with advice and help when needed, but most of the time you have all the privacy you need. No young kids makes it quiet, but there are obviously other places nearby for parents with young families.

Room Tip: We were downstairs. Minor only.Probably better upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2013

From the moment my wife and arrived and received a welcoming poolside visit from Owner/Manager Nick, we knew we had made an excellent choice. Very comfortable,well appointed accommodations, and ample amenities. Sitting by the infinity pool, gazing out to the lagoon through the picture frame of Palm trees could not have been more relaxing. A few steps down to the beach to swim, snorkel, canoe etc. in the lagoon.The Continental Breakfast (delivered to our room) had variations on a theme each day; freshly baked Croissants melted in one's mouth - best I have tasted outside France!
A side entrance gave convenient access to the neighboring Sails restaurant - delicious food and attentive service. The coded lock security gates, especially to the beach, were welcome - overlooking the beach prompted strollers-by to peer up, admire the property and sometimes to check out the gate!
Outstanding, knowledgeable, proactive staff and Nick was an entertaining conversationalist - especially if one appreciates (as I do) a straight talking New Zealander conveying pride in the property - accommodation, amenities, landscaping, future plans, etc. - to give guests an incentive to return.
We had been looking for a relaxing 50th Wedding anniversary vacation, in the sun, by a blue lagoon. Our hopes were indeed realised.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SYHRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

What beautiful accommodation. We loved every minute of our stay at Te Vakaroa. From the tranquil beautifully manicured gardens as you step through the door at the entrance to the Villas. The architecture and the beautifully furnished villas were a real treat. We were looked after by Nick and Poku extremely well if we required it. The 2 bedroom apartment we stayed in was perfect with its great day bed on the veranda which we spent alot of time in. The kitchen was well equipped if you wanted to cook in which we did one of the nights. Fresh Mahi Mahi which was delicious.
The seclusion was just what we wanted. You were lucky to meet more than one couple in the pool area at any one time. I think the security door is an excellent feature and stops people wandering in uninvited, especially when the office is not manned 24hours a day. The breakfasts were light and refreshing and all you needed to wake up to.
Well done Te Vakaroa and thank you for such a fabulous stay. Love the simplicity of the Cook Islands.

Room Tip: If you have the additional funds to spend book a 2 bedroom villa as elevated overlooking the pool wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeborahandPhilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Spectacular view from room and grounds. Meticulously maintained tropical landscaped six room resort. Very private and quiet. Suite is large and open to an awesome view. Outstanding service and staff. Fresh and delicious continental breakfast every morning. Restaurants close by within walking distance on the beach. Had a great time relaxing and enjoying the tropical weather only the Cooks can offer. Met all our expectations. Plans to return are in the making.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Te Vakaroa is a fantastic property. However, it is locked by bar codes from each access. We arrived at 1.20 pm and kept calling the reception to come and open the main door. My partner ( after 20 mint) managed to get the code of 'someone' . On entering the property and complaining for having to wait, the manager Poka was a little sorry...... She had taken a break to have lunch!!!! .
She then very non apologetically informed us that our room was used by the guest ( she had extended there stay to late check out) . She will put us in a temporary room for 4 hours ( while we wait).
The only way one could have spend the time there was to watch some TV ( as felt very unsettled still unable to unpack), but the remote woldn't work!! When informed Poka about it, she send another man in...... They have instructions on how to use the remote, but since the electrician had changed the system recently, the instruction were wrong and the remotes didn't have a battery.

Boring breakfast everyday( croissant, tinned fruit and banana).

Last day asked Poka to confirm our booking with Raro travels for airport drop off for departure( put the prebooked voucher in front of her). Who turns up at pick up is another taxi service ( who wanted to be payed).......we told him to claim it off the villa as it's their fault and we had had enough.

Word to the owner, nick, if you want to run these beautifull villas successfully, please put a professional person on the front desk and may be get rid off the locked doors everywhere( one comes to Raro to be out in open , not o be in a prison)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank meeras28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des E, Director of Sales at Te Vakaroa Villas, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Kia Orana,
Apologies for the bad experience thru the time of your stay with us. Its unfortunate that your travel agent arranged all your transfers with a second party without advising us on your arrival details, when in fact we provide transfers complimentary in our own private car.
Almost without exception our guests love the privacy created by the coded gate system that gives an added security to them during stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.2 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
0.7 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
5.4 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
0.7 mi away
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
0.3 mi away
Nautilus Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Vakaroa Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Vakaroa Villas

Property: Te Vakaroa Villas
Address: Main Road, Muri, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Muri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Te Vakaroa Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new property offers six beachfront villas that face Muri Lagoon. 3 x 1 Brm Villas at the ground level and 3 x 2 Brm Villas at the 1st level each with views across the pool to the beach and lagoon. All villas are highly appointed, with large terraces, full kitchens complete with dishwashers, microwaves, frig/freezers, DVDs, surround cinema with flat screen TVs, satellite TV reception. Blue Tooth connectivity to in room speakers,and WiFi internet connections. Each Villa has its own laundry. A freshwater pool, spa and large daybed are located right above the beach. Welcome fruit platter provided on arrival and complimentary tropical breakfasts delivered to your villa daily, with room service available from the adjoining restaurant. Private car meet/greet and airport transfers $ 20 per person each way are recommended given our property is only manned between 8.30am and 4.30pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Te Vakaroa Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Vakaroa Villas Hotel Muri
Te Vakaroa Villas Muri, Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing