We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely villa, staff need lesson in customer service”
Review of Te Vakaroa Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Te Vakaroa Villas
Ranked #4 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Muri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The villa and surrounds are beautiful, and we really did love our time spent in the cook islands. However, after seeing such fantastic reviews on trip advisor, we were very disappointed with the staff at this 5 star resort. The maids and ground crew were lovely and working hard. However, the receptionist was very unwelcoming and seemed rather bitter. A lack of customer service and professionalism is my main complaint. On 2 occasions, the receptionist failed to acknowledge us and say hello. We are very easy going travellers and often do not complain. But when you approach a desk and there is no one else waiting, it is very rude for the attendent to continue to giggle and chuckle while reading something on her computer that is directly below you. My husband and i stood there for more than a minute (she knew we were there) waiting for an acknowledgement yet she did not even look up until we said a very cheerful "hello!! we are just hoping to check out!". We received the same response when we returned a couple hours later to collect our luggage. this time we were met with complete silence while my husband got our luggage out of the office and she only spoke when we asked her, "Our airport transfer is coming at 2?" To which she responded yes. 10 minutes later at 2:10, we went back into the office to see where the hotel transfer was and she decided to inform us then, "oh, your pick up is at 2:30". This was after standing for 10 minutes in the pouring rain. Very disappointing and rather rude considering this is a 5 star villa.
Our other complaint was also related to customer service (or lack thereof), this time on behalf of the owner. Part of the reason why we chose to stay here was my love of a hot tub on holidays. When we lifted the cover and saw the hot tub completely drained, the owner who was standing nearby said something to the effect "oh, thats an interesting story". We told him ok, we'll go in the pool to which he replied "good luck, it's always freezing". Any other resort we have stayed in would have been extremely apologetic about this especially in a highly recommended hotel (and especially for the cost of accomodation). An apology or an offer of free wifi due to the inconvenience would have been greatly appreciated.
In this day of trip advisor and internet ratings, you cannot afford to have poor customer service. You cannot rely on the beauty of your hotel rooms and location alone to be considered a luxury retreat. I feel these staff members have become too complacent. Everyone we encountered during our 2 week stay in the cook islands was otherwise friendly and welcoming. You either need to take a holiday yourselves or take a lesson from your fellow cook islanders.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DrKMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des E, Director of Sales at Te Vakaroa Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Kia Orana,

The directors of Te Vakaroa are deeply concerned about the treatment you received as one of our guests. We were aware that our front office manager has been under some stress recently and have offered her time off and shorter hours to assist in recovery, that aside there is no excuse for the poor manners shown. The spa pool situation has been an embarrassment to us and while we have worked diligently to have it operational a number of matters beyond our control have resulted in a longer delay than expected. We offer our sincere apologies for these problems that tainted your holiday experience in Rarotonga..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Slight delay with airport pick up. Was given an upgrade to the 2 bedroom villa. Washing machine and dryer available in room to use. The surrounds is well looked after. Staff were very helpful and polite. The location of Te Vakaroa Villas is perfect. Right on Muri Beach. Very quiet and private. 2 min walk to Sails restaurant and Pacific resort. Night markets were on Wednesday and Thursday nights. Anz and Westpac ATMs within walking distance. Such a convenient location tucked away from the road. Had a nice relaxing short stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Leese78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des E, Director of Sales at Te Vakaroa Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Kia Orana,
We are pleased you enjoyed the upgrade to our 2 Brm Villa that overlooks the lagoon and appreciate your comments so far as our central location to the wonderful Muri area activities.

Certainly we would be very happy to assist with any further stay you may contemplate in the future whether of short or long duration. We wish you a wonderful year ahead.
Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A wonderful villa (No 1) on the ground floor. Amazing views from the villa, across the small but beautifully maintained garden, over the infinity pool to the beach and lagoon beyond. The distant sound of waves crashing on the reef creates a constant (but fairly quiet) booming sound, which we found quite soporific. The Sails restaurant next door does good food and excellent coffee. If you want to chill out without young children around and have access to all the amenities close by, this is the place. We will definitely be returning. A wonderful week.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des E, Director of Sales at Te Vakaroa Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Kia Orana and Meitaki Maata for joining us during your weeks vacation. The management and staff are pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay with us in the security of Villa 1 and enjoyed the facilities such as sails restaurant adjacent.
We look forward to assisting you with any future Cook Islands holiday you may be considering and would be happy to provide returnee added value at that time.
Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

An immaculate well fitted out little villa with full-maid service including tropical breakfasts brought to you by genuinely welcoming smiling staff. Gorgeous little garden with infinity pool and sun loungers, overlooking Muri beach and the lagoon beyond.

A wonderful week in paradise!

Room Tip: No children under 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Junevelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des E, Director of Sales at Te Vakaroa Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Kia Orana and a big Meitaki Maata to you for your kind comments. Our staff strive to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay with us, and that the appointments at the property are presented to a very high standard. We are pleased you had a nice experience here in Rarotonga, and hope we can have the opportunity to host a return visit some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

This is now my 2nd time staying here at Te Vakaroa and is my only choice on the island. I love the feeling of the exclusiveness and only having 5 villas in total. The secure access gives you peace of mind to enjoy. Another nice thing is not having young kids running around. It's a special spot, you can do as much or as little as you like. I love staying here and as always, will be back. If you are worried that it's a little expensive, don't be. It's worth it!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rickhale88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des E, Director of Sales at Te Vakaroa Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Kia Orana,
Thanks for joining us on your second visit. The team are pleased your stay was enjoyable.
It makes us very happy and our efforts worthwhile to know you had a wonderful time in the privacy, security and location of our highly appointed Villas. Look forward to hosting another return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Had five nights here at Te Vakaroa and it was heaven! Although this is accommodation, the decor and furnishings made me feel I was 'at home'. Beautiful beach location and a fantastic view from my one bedroom villa. All the staff were friendly, helpful and I was made so welcome. Will definitely return here and stay longer next time!

Room Tip: The one bedroom villas have direct access to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des E, Director of Sales at Te Vakaroa Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Our team works hard at ensuring all our guests have a wonderful holiday experience and we appreciate your feed back and kind comments. Look forward to hosting any future stay you may take in Rarotonga

Cheers Des Eggelton
Director Of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Website doesn't do it justice - if anyone complains about this place then they obviously can't be pleased. Great service, awesome view, safe, everything at your door step. Excellent pool facilities. A shame the spa was out of service when we were there. Only hiccups were a few broken things in our villa, but they were fixed quickly. Would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beanontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des E, Director of Sales at Te Vakaroa Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Kia Orana,
We at Te Vakaroa Villas are pleased you had an enjoyable time during your stay with us. While we endeavour to have all facilities working for all guests all the time, often this is not possible and we apologise for the Spa being out of commission during your stay. Your thoughtfulness in advising us of a couple of minor damaged items in the Villa was very much appreciated.
Cheers
Des Eggelton
Director Of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.8 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
0 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
5.5 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Little Polynesian Resort
Little Polynesian Resort
#1 of 2 in Titikaveka
530 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
0.1 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Vakaroa Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Vakaroa Villas

Address: Main Road, Muri, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Muri
Price Range: £406 - £599 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Te Vakaroa Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new property offers six beachfront villas that face Muri Lagoon. 3 x 1 Brm Villas at the ground level and 3 x 2 Brm Villas at the 1st level each with views across the pool to the beach and lagoon. All villas are highly appointed, with large terraces, full kitchens complete with dishwashers, microwaves, frig/freezers, DVDs, surround cinema with flat screen TVs, satellite TV reception. Blue Tooth connectivity to in room speakers,and WiFi internet connections. Each Villa has its own laundry. A freshwater pool, spa and large daybed are located right above the beach. Welcome fruit platter provided on arrival and complimentary tropical breakfasts delivered to your villa daily, with room service available from the adjoining restaurant. Private car meet/greet and airport transfers $ 20 per person each way are recommended given our property is only manned between 8.30am and 4.30pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Te Vakaroa Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Vakaroa Villas Hotel Muri
Te Vakaroa Villas Muri, Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing