We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pick the weather”

Captain Tama's Lagoon Cruizes
Book In Advance
More Info
US$58.41*
and up
Half-Day Muri Lagoon BBQ Lunch Cruise including Snorkeling
Ranked #3 of 11 things to do in Muri
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Join the crew of the famous Captain Tama's Lagoon Cruizes on our glass bottom boats for a memorable fun day you will never forget.We provide snorkelling, BBQ lunch, Cook Islands humour, fun and our friendly entertaining guides will leave you with a lasting impression of our Cook Islands people and a smile to put on your face. Can't snorkel? we'll teach you, or view the fish from the comfort of our glass bottom boats.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pick the weather”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We had great weather which helped to make it a good day. The guys are very full on and I suggest if you want a tour with less crude jokes and big personalities the Kona Cruise may be a better option. We enjoyed the relaxed and slightly rude tone.

If it looks like the weather isn't too great I'd recommend taking a warmish jacket for after snorkelling as you are on a exposed island for over an hour which can get a bit cold.

And if you are with older family members or less confident swimmers get them to ask for a life jacket- they can use it to help prop themselves up while snorkelling.

A great way to get to see some of the bigger fish that are out a bit further into the lagoon.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank classical_geek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    824
    169
    38
    9
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northcote, null, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well worth the money”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I really enjoyed my experience on captain tamas. The guys were hilarious, the food was delicious and the snorkelling was amazing. There is really no negatives that I can see. Would do it again in a heartbeat.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mezza911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A must do on Rarotonga - you will have a blast! :)”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

5 STARS!! :) This cruise has it all!! :) Fab snorkelling (this is such a wonderful experience!!), food, views and hilarious staff. If you are coming to Rarotonga you have to go on this cruise, it totally rocks!! :)

If you are vegetarian (like me), let them know in advance and they prepare a lovely alternative for the BBQ. Haven't snorkelled before? Don't worry, they give you the basics and set you up so it is as easy as pie. I hadn't snorkelled since I was 10 years old, and some folks in my group had never snorkelled ... but within 5 mins we were off and totally captivated by fish and coral reefs.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BlueZaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great value for food and entertainment!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Absolutely loved it, on the day we went, there was a big crowd. But they managed that very well. 4 boats went out for snorkelling, which was fantastic, then they took us to a little island where they prepared a BBQ, beautiful cooked fish! Salads, fried bananas, yummy.
Then the captains entertained the crowd with all different things from climbing in a coconut tree to showing how to dress yourself in a sarong! And a lot of fun in between!
The whole entertainment lasted for at least 5 hours for $78
(Dated price June 14)
Good value!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hariette64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great day!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip with koka's. The snorkeling, singing,food, and overall experience was just great. Would recommend to anyone. However we also equally enjoyed our trip with captain Tama's. Both organisations are equally good as each other. Just enjoy you day!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Captain Tama's Lagoon Cruizes also viewed

 

Been to Captain Tama's Lagoon Cruizes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing