We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, new, beaut accomodation & amazing hosts!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Muri
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aito Apartments Muri
Ranked #11 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Muri
Palmerston North
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spacious, new, beaut accomodation & amazing hosts!”
Reviewed 29 December 2011

The place is fantastic - peaceful, modern, big, comfortable - should be twice the price.

Jean-Marc and his wife are the ultimate hosts - sincere, relaxed, warm and a pleasure to be around.

By far the best and most memorable accomodation experience I've had travelling.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Henry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
42
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

I chose Aito largely on the basis of these reviews (and my correspondence with the owners) and it exceeded my expectations. The apartment was modern, clean and spacious. I was welcomed with a fruit platter by Mere and the fridge was pre-stocked with essentials. Jean-Marc was the perfect host - quick to offer a cold beer and invite me up for dinner (as I was travelling on my own). While the apartment is close to the main road, it was still quiet. A 10 minute walk in one direction will take you to the Muri shops, while a fifteen minute walk in the other direction will take you to the great snorkeling of the Fruits of Rarotonga. If you are there on a Saturday, it is well worth checking out the market in town (near the airport). All in all, a great stay.

Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Vegman99_New
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

My husband, 2 year old Manu and I stayed at Aito apartments for almost a week in October this year and absolutely loved it. We wished we had stayed longer. Not only was Jean-Marc a wonderful host, but the location of the place was perfect for us getting to the lovely Muri Lagoon and to wonderful snorkeling spots. It was only a short 10-15 min walk to Muri town as well. There was no need to hire a car or motorbike. We either walked to places nearby or caught the bus into town eg. for the Saturday market. I would recommend buying the 10 trip for $25 instead of paying $4 per trip. The apartment itself was huge, spotless and beautifully presented. Having a washing machine was great as well. It was also very child friendly making it possible for Manu to enjoy the spacious verandah, but there was a gate to stop him from wondering off the property. We arrived quite late at night on our 1st night, around midnight, and Jean-Marc was there to greet us and provided us with a fruit basket and a fridge full of the necessities. Being feed dinner by Jean-Marc on the weekend was also an amazing treat. Manu misses Tutu, their friendly 3 legged dog, who happily went on walks with us every time. Jean-Marc, Manu is still calling out your name wondering where you are, or as he re-named you 'Marco'. I would not hesitate to recommend Aito apartments to anyone. If you want a great location, relaxed, comfortable, child friendly place, with awesome hosts, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mieke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

My partner and I stayed at Aito Apartments in late July, 2011 for five days/six nights and it was paradise…. We had never travelled to any of the Pacific Islands before (have previously been to Indonesia, Thailand and Brazil) and for some reason had very high expectations, but not once were we disappointed.

After arriving on a late night flight from Auckland, we checked in to our spotlessly clean, beautiful apartment. Aito Apartments are extremely well equipped, tropical, modern, sunny, have amazing views to the mountains from the back porch and are complete with v. cute dog – Tutu!

The location is better than excellent – just a 2 minute scooter ride from Fruits Of Rarotonga – the best snorkelling spot we found, 10 minute walk from the centre of Muri beach, 30 second walk to a secluded beach right across the road and a 20 minute scooter ride from the main town of Avarua.

July was the perfect time to travel to Rarotonga – it was sunny every day, hot and definitely warm enough to swim. The water was crystal clear and an amazing turquoise colour, like no other beach we had seen before.

We were so please that we had picked to stay at Aito Apartments over another hotel/Resort in Rarotonga, it was not only very relaxing but actually looked nicer than many of the other hotels/resorts on the Island.

The owners were extremely accommodating and very friendly, they organised an airport transfer for us and Jean Marc also made us an amazing dinner - very generous.

I would not hesitate in recommending Aito Apartments to friends and family, I think it is the perfect place for couples as well as families and although Rarotonga does not have much nightlife or shopping, it is the perfect escape – I just wish we had spent more time.

Recommend:
Staying at Aito Apartments
Hiring a scooter
Kayaking around Muri Lagoon over the crystal clear water
Snorkelling at Fruits of Rarotonga
The Fishing Club for a casual lunch
Kikau Hut restaurant for dinner
Making a BBQ at the apartment or having a Champagne breakfast on the balcony
The piece of beach where The Little Polynesian is located – best spot, just don’t sit under a coconut tree!
Going for a morning run – sounds horrible when you are on holiday, but is a great way to see the beach and local houses before it gets too hot
Drive down the back roads – reminds me of Bali but without the rubbish!

Don’t Expect:
Any shopping – which is perfect because then you can truly relax!
Good food – it’s hard to find a restaurant with the same quality of food as Soul Bar or Prego in Auckland. Better to buy some fresh fish and vegetables from the supermarket and cook at the apartment

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RiadNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Excellent value and great location! The accommodations are clean, spacious and have all of the amenities you need. The front deck has a lovely table and bbq for outside dining and the back deck is very functional with a sink for washing off your snorkel gear and lines to hang up your wet beach towels. Jean-Marc is a wonderful host but the best part of Aito is Tutu. Tutu is their amazing 3 legged dog who will happily accompany you on your strolls on the beach.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stressla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We enjoyed our stay so much in September 2010 we came back and stayed at the Aito Apartments for longer and even then it wasn't long enough. The second visit was even better and more enjoyable than the first. We had a great time and our hosts were fantastic. We did a day trip to Aitutaki with Raratongan Air a really beautiful place and very well looked after. We did a culture show at Te Vara Nui in Muri, really worth while they provide a pick up and drop off service, although we chose to walk there and back. We had lots of rest, swimming and snokelling. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wilsone56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

I stayed for 6 nights at Aito in the Cook Islands. The apartment was everything I had hoped for and more from the earlier reviews - spacious, attractive, spotlessly clean, basically everything I needed and more. Jean Marc was an exceptional host and provided fresh tropical fruit, good company when I needed it and a very convivial dinner. A very laid back and relaxing time. Not just five stars but exceptional. I highly recommend walks along the beach at Muri and to Fruits Of Rarotonga - a great place to stay at a wonderful South Pacific paradise.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff255093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muri hotels
0.0 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
0.0 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
0.0 mi away
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
0.0 mi away
Muri Retreat
Muri Retreat
#9 of 17 in Muri
138 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nautilus Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aito Apartments Muri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aito Apartments Muri

Property: Aito Apartments Muri
Address: Rarotonga, Muri 3065, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Muri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AITO offers 2 Spacious Modern Deluxe self-contained 1 bedroom with ensuite apartments for your enjoyment.Located on the ground floor with ramp access.Fully equipped kitchen with an outdoor BBQ, laundry area with washing machine & cloths line, ceiling fans in bedroom&lounge;, fully screened windows, Solar hot water.Broadban access can be bought from nearby Resorts.Only a pace away from the Beach & pristine Lagoon.The local round-the-island bus service is right at your front gate.Rental cars/bikes, internet Cafes, Restaurants, Hotel&Resorts;, Boat&Safari Tours, Aquatic facilities, Sailing club and the best snorkelling spot is within a walking distance.Relax & unwind in this beautiful family home with the breeze from the Pacific Ocean.Suitable for 1-3 persons per apartment.Your host Mere&Jean-Marc, live on the top floor and will be happy to welcome and assist you.Minimum Stay: 3 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aito Apartments Muri Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing