We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for both ends of you...”

Sandals Restaurant & Barefoot Bar
Ranked #3 of 7 Restaurants in Muri
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$49
Cuisines: Seafood, New Zealand, Polynesian, International, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Sandals Restaurant & Barefoot Bar at Pacific Resort Rarotonga prides itself on offering the best in international cuisine with a Polynesian Pacific Rim influence. Be relaxed with a casual beachfront cocktail at the Barefoot Bar, be tempted by succulent fresh seafood and international dishes at Sandals Restaurant, or be summoned by beating drums to an authentic Cook Island feast. Either way you will enjoy the gentle lagoon breezes with the sand between your toes right on Muri Beach.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great for both ends of you...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Kick off your shoes and let your toes play in the sand and indulge your other end in delicious food, great cocktails, and scintillating conversation, all while you let your eyes feast on the view and drink in the moonrise.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    111
    46
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mixed Experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We ate here a total of 3 times, Only 1 out of those 3 was an enjoyable experience.
While the food was great, the Service was friendly and the view was beautiful, we experienced a lot of negatives.
On our first visit we didn't receive the correct meals, or correct amount of meals which meant a very long wait to get it corrected. On the second visit we had 45 minute waits on entree meals and then were charged for a dessert we didn't receive. The last visit was great, lovely friendly staff, tasty food an enjoyable night, except that this had cost a lot of money to experience this restaurant at 100% seeing as it was a 'Romantic Dinner for Two' that we had booked using our MyTime voucher.
It was a shame we had this experience, the staff were so friendly I felt bad complaining about the fact that it wasn't shaping up as a good time!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jandjtutbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great service and setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Fantastic setting on the beach. Staff were so generous. There was a mix up with my order so they gave me a complimentary dessert. Best meal we had on Rarotonga.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leese78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super duper”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

such friendly staff and the food is delicious!
ambiance is incredible too! they have done a wonderful job to ensure everyone has a good time!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Raez21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great setting on the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Liked dining on the beach with sand beneath my toes. Wine was delicious, food was okay. We were from another hotel in Muri and found this restaurant walking along the beach. A reasonable option for dining on the beach.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sandals Restaurant & Barefoot Bar also viewed

Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Sandals Restaurant & Barefoot Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing