We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss at the Beach (comber)”
Review of Muri Beachcomber

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Muri Beachcomber
Ranked #1 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Muri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We acted on our Travel Agents recommendation to use Muri Beachcomber for a weeks R & R on our way home from a hectic month in USA. It turned out to be an absolute top recommendation. Right on the beach, but with your own quiet piece of paradise. Neat units opening out to beautifully kept grounds, all with sea views. A couple of and you could sit of nice decks right above the sand. The whole experience was top notch.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (514)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 514 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

spent 7 days at Beachcomber which was a a great location for peace and quiet and fantastic views. Close to lagoon, markets next door, cafes, bakery, shop, bike rentals and island bus outside door. Gardens are beautiful and our own 'happy hour' on lagoon at night was always satisfying. Staff were accommodating and rooms had all you needed and more. Kitchenette was a plus. Restaurants down beach available if you you needed to celebrate that special occasion.

Room Tip: Suggest Lagoon view room for couples. Fantastic views and breeze and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank peter r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Really clean and nice place in a really good location overlooking the lagoon. The staff are really helpful and friendly. But the guests were on the older side. It felt a bit like a retirement village. Nothing wrong with that but we were on our honeymoon so it felt a little bit strange. Would recommend it to an older couple

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Luci_melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

my wife and I just returned from a week long stay in Rarotonga. we were there for 5 nights and 6 days. we found a great deal on Expedia for air and accommodations. We really didn't know where to stay in Rarotonga but we found the deal and the reviews for Muri Beachcomber were great so we went for it and we were not disappointed.

Positives:
- the location is likely the best thing about Muri Beachcomber. you're right in the heart of the most popular beach. you're right next to many restaurants within walking distance. you're next to car/scooter rentals. you're next to a grocery store and ATM. on the beach side, you're next to two lagoon cruise companies and the kite boarding/paddle board rentals. in terms of the water, you're facing three smaller islands that are in the lagoon which makes for a beautiful view and gives you places to explore. the lagoon is also probably widest at Muri Beach which means there is the most water area to play in. the lagoon is very shallow and during the right times, you can walk to all the small islands in the lagoon. we also appreciated not having to go far from our time in the water and back to our room to clean up.
- Muri beach is also on the east side and you can enjoy a beautiful sun rise view every morning on the common area deck that juts out towards the beach.
- you're also right beside the local night market. there are many restaurants around the area and we tried a couple. they are not bad. good quality food and good fish, but expect to pay $15-35 dollars for your main course plate. at the night market, you can get a dish for $10 NZD. they use the same kinds of deep sea fish, they're generous with their portions, and it's asian food with a local flare cooked by locals. What more can you ask for! the night market is open tues, weds, thurs, and sunday nights but thursdays is the biggest one.
- free usage of kayaks, paddle boards and snorkel gear. the resort had about 4 double kayaks and 4 singles and another 4 standup paddle boards (don't quote me on the exact numbers). when we were there, we had no trouble getting a double kayak every day. we had our own snorkel gear and did not use theirs.
- the kitchen. we found it so helpful to have our own kitchen. we cooked a couple of meals and we were also able to bring food back from the night market and enjoy it in the comfort of our room. there is pretty much everything you would need in there to make a meal.
- the room. it was very comfortable and plenty of space for two people. the beds were comfortable and the bedroom has air conditioning (note, the rest of the living space does not have A/C).
- breakfast. every day our fridge was stocked with 4 slices of bread, 2 single serving boxes of cereal, butter, jam, and a jug of orange juice. we also had a carton of milk that lasted us the week. the breakfast is not huge by any means but we appreciated having something.
- cleanliness. overall, the accommodation was very clean. considering that it's a tropical place and you are oceanside, there was no damp smell or rust issues. the place was well kept and the cleaning staff came in and swept every day and changed our towels. we also appreciated that they were not stingy when it came to beach towels. every day we got two clean towels and you can take them to the beach and out on your daily adventures. if you wanted to clean ones all you needed to do was ask.
- staff. the front desk were super friendly and very helpful. they always greeted us with a smile and gave us good recommendations and help in everything from check-in to check-out. the cleaning staff were equally friendly and helpful. they did a great job cleaning our place and they were friendly.
- shuttle. there is a shuttle to and from the airport.
- there is a coin operated laundry facility with built-in detergent dispenser. we did not use the facilities but found that this was very helpful if needed.

Negatives:
these are only small things really but if I really had to name some "negatives" these would be it.

- the kayaks and paddle boards. these are located on the resort grounds. if you want to use them, you have to take them down to the beach yourself. to do so you have to take them down a fairly steep staircase - not a problem for my wife and I but could be a bit of an issue for a single or elderly person. We saw some people just slide the equipment down the stairs but this started to wear a grove into the steps which made some of the steps a bit dangerous to step on with sandy and wet feet. it would have been nice to have an area on the beach for the equipment.
- the standup paddle boards. the SUP boards are not the standard ones I'm use to. these are stable but they are shorter and they do not have fins on the bottom of the board which means they tend to turn more than stay straight. this means you'll have to change sides in your paddling very often.

Notes:
these are not negatives in my opinion but things most travelers would want to know about an accommodation.
- there is no TV in the sea view units. for my wife and I this was not an issue as we spent most of our time outside and in the evenings, we read our books or did other things. we felt it was a blessing to be "disconnected" from the TV while we were there. There is a TV in the common guest lounge if you really need your fix.
- internet is limited and costly (~$5 NZD per 40mb). my wife and I only spent $5 so that we could send some emails and do a little online banking. if you really need it, there is an internet cafe nearby but I don't know what their rates were. Again, my wife and I counted it as a blessing to be "disconnected" while we were there. there is a desktop computer and printer in the guest lounge that you can use for internet access.
- ants. the accommodations are what I would describe as a bungalow on a beach and you're in a tropical area. so we did find small ants in our kitchen area and especially around the garbage and if we left any food scraps lying around. This might seem "dirty" to some people but really it's just the nature of the location.
- there is no in-room phone. but you can find a guest phone by the front desk, in the laundry facility and the guest lounge.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alpastor604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

My new fiance and I have just returned from a week at Muri Beachcomber where we had a fantastic holiday. We absolutely loved it and could not recommend a better place to stay. Amazing location, perfect accommodation and amazing staff. Everyone was so kind and welcoming and went far above and beyond by giving us a bottle of bubbles the morning after we got engaged and also dropping us up to Rumours for a massage when Rumours could not collect us.
Just such a gorgeous chilled out location. Restaurants a minutes walk down the beach, night market next door three nights a week , kayaks and snorkels to use to kayak over to the island across the beach.

Just an amazing holiday. We can't wait to go back!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Audreyabarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My husband and I spent 8 days at Muri Beachcomer in the seaview unit #4. The room was tidy and clean and good value for money. Breakfast consisting of cereal and toast was complimentary each morning. Waking up in the morning and having breakfast on the patio overlooking Muri Beach was perfect. The snorkling gear, Kayaks and paddle boards were all complimentary. There is a lovely area where you can sit and relax overlooking the beach. A short walk from your room takes you to the sandy shores of the lagoon. Shops and restaurants are all within easy walking distances. The staff are amazing, helpful, friendly and easily approachable. The resort has a small pool to dip in, but we found ourselves using the beach. There are a couple of units for children so the place is pretty quiet and you are not overrun by children. Self contained units, comfortable and tidy. If you want value for money then this is the place to stay as units are self contained. Most nights next to Muri Beachcomber there is the food market with meals at $10.00. There are no bars or restaurants on site, but with so many in walking distance this is not a problem and in fact adds to the tranquil and quietness of the place. Thanks to the friendly office, cleaning and ground staff you make this place so special.

Room Tip: The seaview units have an amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed at Muri Beachcomber on friends recommendation and had no regrets. Perfect location, lovely, helpful staff and great self contained units. We would definately return. The deck over the beach was fabulous for relaxing with a drink and gazing at the beautiful aquamarine lagoon. The food market next door was an added bonus.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Victoria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.2 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
0.6 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
3.6 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
0.3 mi away
Nautilus Resort Rarotonga
5.4 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muri Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muri Beachcomber

Address: Ara Tapu Rd, Muri Beach Village, Muri 2000, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Muri
Price Range: £168 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Muri Beachcomber 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Muri Beachcomber is a small, intimate property in prime position on the shores of beautiful Muri Lagoon - 22 units ensuring a truly relaxing holiday atmosphere. Our stylish rooms offer separate air-conditioned bedrooms, spacious living/dining area, well-equipped kitchen and modern bathroom. Perfect for long stays. The Seaview Units and Watergarden Villas are ideal for couples seeking a peaceful retreat, the poolside Garden Units are wonderful for families seeking quality time together. Facilities include a swimming pool, barbecues, wifi plus guest computer, petanque court, guest laundry, tour desk, snorkeling equipment, kayaks, paddle boards, bicycle hire and guest lounge. Shops, pharmacy, hairdresser, cafes and restaurants within easy walking distance. Offering a moderately priced, quality experience in a prime location. Includes Airport Transfers, Free use of kayaks, paddle boards, BBQ's and snorkeling equipment, Fruit Basket on arrival, Daily Breakfast pack, Tea, coffee and sugar supplied daily plus Free local calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Muri Beachcomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muri Beachcomber Hotel Muri
Muri Beachcomber Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing