We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Beach Location”
Review of Muri Beachcomber

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Muri Beachcomber
Ranked #1 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Muri
Certificate of Excellence
vancouver canada
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach Location”
Reviewed 12 January 2011

Muri Beachcomber is ideally located next to the Sailing Club at Muri Lagoon. The view from the front communal deck was spectacular, overlooking the lagoon and breaking waves against the reef. Nice, clean, basic condominium style rooms. Great staff, very friendly and helpful. Could use new communal bbqs.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    122
    33
    5
    0
See reviews for
95
298
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2010

Took my Girlfirend here for her birthday and what an amazing place! I could not Fault Muri Beachcomber! the owner was really helpful and friendly! Perfect location close to the nice resturants along the muri waterfront! Would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BlakieeNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, NZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2010

My partner and I had an amazing stay - the staff were so friendly, particularly the reception staff. They were willing to book our tours and activities, cheerful, talkative and so helpful. The room was very clean, great facilities (kitchen, bathroom) and breakfast was waiting every morning. I can't think of a single thing they could have improved on - the only downfall to our trip was the weather - lots of rain! other than that it was perfect :)
thanks to the staff for a great stay, we will be coming back again for sure!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cheriek23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2010

Room: Very tidy and well-equipped for a self-catered room. Woven furnishings gave it a nice tropical island feel. The bathroom looked similar to a typical nice inner city hotel in New Zealand. The kitchen colour design didn't look the best, and the fridge was noticeably old, but still very functional. For the price we paid compared to other resorts, a great room!

Location: Located on Muri Beach, which has great snorkeling! Supposedly the best snorkeling place in Rarotonga is 2km down the coast to the west. Even so, we saw a lot of stuff in Muri Beach Lagoon itself. There are multiple restaurants (cheap & posh), a small grocery store, westpac ATM, car/bike/scooter hire, dirt buggy hire and kayak/boat hire all within 5min walk. The nearest decent grocery store is Wigmores which is in the middle on the south side of the island (~5min drive away?).

Equipment provided: Double & single kayaks provided for free and in good condition. Snorkel and flippers provided too. Can't comment on the snorkels because we had our own. Flippers were in good condition, but we did struggle to find smaller adult sizes. If you have big feet, no worries.

Service: The service is Muri Beachcomber's greatest point of difference from other resorts. They made a brief hiccup with our room booking. They had to put us in a Garden Room for the first night, because our Seaview unit wasn't free. But they more than made up for it with a very apologetic letter, a $50 dinner voucher to a nice restaurant and complimentary bottle of wine. Not only that, my wife gashed herself on coral, and the office manager Talei kindly drove us to the hospital, waited for us there, drove us back, whilst stopping on the way to buy us a drink. By the time we got back, it was way past her working hours. The next day, she lent me her car so I could go back to the hospital to pay the bill. This kind of service isn't common to all resorts, on the way back to our resort, I stopped by another to see if they could help, I was sadly just given a blank look. Thank you so much Debbie, John and Talei!

Summary: The place was great value, many resorts are almost twice the price. Great location, rooms and service. Would certainly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nyx_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2010

We stayed in one of the Villas for 5 nights, what a great holiday we had. Rooms were very clean and on arrival looked lovely with all the tropical flowers.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camden NSW
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2010

When we arrived it was 1.30am. We were greeted by a lovely lady who showed us to our villa. It was beautiful, clean and decorated with fresh flowers everywhere, such a lovely welcome, We were traveling with 2 boys aged 12 and 14. we had a 1 bedroom villa the the boys had single beds in the living area, there was plenty of room, we had a kitchen with everything we needed, breakfast was left in the fridge for us each day. While we didn't have water view, it was a 30 second walk to the lagoon, and that is picture perfect. we felt safe to let the boys do their own thing around the place they made friends with some kids from NZ, and they had a great time they kept busy and didn't bother anyone. The staff were very friendly and helpful with tour advice, we had a problem with our shower and it was fixed within 30 minutes of reporting it. The room don't get made up on Sunday, but that is OK everyone needs a day off and the locals all go to church on Sundays. The bus stop is out the front it is reliable and a great way to see the island. There is no restaurant at muri beachcomber but there are several within an easy walk. Muri Beachcomber is great clean and causal, a great place for a family holiday.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McIntoshFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2010

I really couldn't fault the Beachcomber, it was a fabulous place to stay on holiday. First time we have travelled with both our kids - Miss 3 1/2 and Miss 16 months and everything was awesome. Hosts were fab, rooms were cleaned daily (except Sunday - fair enough), and there was plenty of breakfast for the 4 of us. We took a lot of food with us and were able to cook for ourselves in the room and on the BBQ's. There are enough shops at muri to pick up anything else you need, plus plenty of places to eat. Also had a massage with the onsite massage therapist - great!!! We didn't do a lot, just hung with the kids, kayaked most days (all available for free) around the lagoon and over to the islands. Would also be fun to go back with friends who had kids the same age.
Would definitely go back and recommend!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pohutakawa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.2 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
3.9 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
0.6 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
5.4 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Nautilus Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muri Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muri Beachcomber

Property: Muri Beachcomber
Address: Ara Tapu Rd, Muri Beach Village, Muri 2000, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Muri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Muri Beachcomber 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Muri Beachcomber is a small, intimate property in prime position on the shores of beautiful Muri Lagoon - 22 units ensuring a truly relaxing holiday atmosphere. Our stylish rooms offer separate air-conditioned bedrooms, spacious living/dining area, well-equipped kitchen and modern bathroom. Perfect for long stays. The Seaview Units and Watergarden Villas are ideal for couples seeking a peaceful retreat, the poolside Garden Units are wonderful for families seeking quality time together. Facilities include a swimming pool, barbecues, wifi plus guest computer, petanque court, guest laundry, tour desk, snorkeling equipment, kayaks, paddle boards, bicycle hire and guest lounge. Shops, pharmacy, hairdresser, cafes and restaurants within easy walking distance. Offering a moderately priced, quality experience in a prime location. Includes Airport Transfers, Free use of kayaks, paddle boards, BBQ's and snorkeling equipment, Fruit Basket on arrival, Daily Breakfast pack, Tea, coffee and sugar supplied daily plus Free local calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Muri Beachcomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muri Beachcomber Hotel Muri
Muri Beachcomber Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing