We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to be :)”
Review of Muri Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Muri Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Muri
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to be :)”
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

It was my first stay on the Cook Islands with my boyfriend and it was great! The hotel was very nice! Friendly people everywhere! They have been so nice nd even the bike rental and the snorkeling equipment was for free! Our bungalow was very spacious and clean and the tropical garden was wonderful! A beautiful und joyful stay :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bunnii01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    92
    14
    9
    9
See reviews for
99
109
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2013

First holiday we have had with no children. Off to a rough start (waiting at the airport for more than an hour for pick up) but everything only got better. We had an amazing time. Resort was great, evening meals amazing (best we had on the Island) what a location -fantastic. We would certainly stay there again and are already planning our return trip to Rarotonga.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raewyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We enjoyed 8days at Muri beach resort in a lagoon view villa.Waking up to the bright blue lagoon visible from our unit was such a treat.Sitting on the deck in the early evening with a glass of NZ wine and local fruit ,the view is all that you could ever dream of.We had stayed here last year and couldn't wait to come back.SInce then there have been upgrades to some of the units which made it even more enjoyable.
Despite eating at other places we always enjoyed being at Aqua cafe on site.The staff especially Chrissie, Missy ,Betty, Sandy and the great cooks made every meal so enjoyable.Queenie and Mata in the office were always trying to help.Of course Toby the friendly driver/gardener was always finding us some Raro passion fruit or bananas to enjoy.The location at Muri is such the best [having once stayed on the other side]With the lagoon and islands to kayak around ,it is everything you need for a great relaxing holiday.Thanks again,Paul and Jane.You have a great place and we love it!We'll be back!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank blai99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Dropped in for cocktails and breakfast once, and kept coming back! Lovely atmospheric spot, really friendly staff and great cocktails. We would definitely recommend dropping in for a meal or a drink - can't vouch for the rooms, but we left thinking we must stay here next time.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank calumsbigtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

I would like to thank everyone at the Muri Beach Resort, Cook Islands for what I believe is the best holiday I have ever had. The whole island was so beautiful, it's just like paradise. The resort was fantastic, very clean, very friendly staff and nothing was a problem for them and they made us feel ver welcome. We had a fantastic time and would like to thank everyone at the Muri Beach Resort and I will definitely be back to my new holiday destination..

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kylie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

We had a fantastic stay at the Muri Beach Resort. It is based in paradise and so close to all amenities. The staff were so lovely and extremely friendly and helpful- they made us feel very welcome and did everything they could to ensure we had a fab holiday! We were there for a wedding and they were extremely professional and very accommodating.

Would absolutely love to go back!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Izzypop13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Hosted our wedding here and so happy we did, everything was made so easy for us and staff worked tirelessly to ensure our needs were met.
Chrissi arranged and prepared some gorgeous meals for the reception and no glass was left empty with the fantastic staff (Missy) keeping everyone topped up.

The pool and restaurant is fantastic and kitchen staff were nice enough to cook up our massive catch of Yellowfin Tuna and feed our 22 guests.

Plenty of fish provides good snorkeling out the front of the resort (that is for when we managed to drag ourselves away from the coctails of the day around the pool).

All in all a superb place to host a wedding especially if your looking for a stress free, fun event in a beautiful location.

The staff here feel more like your best friends and service was very personal which makes Muri Beach Resort a very hard place to leave.

Be back soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbie_283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.4 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
5.3 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
3.5 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
0.2 mi away
Muri Beachcomber
Muri Beachcomber
#1 of 17 in Muri
489 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nautilus Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muri Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muri Beach Resort

Property: Muri Beach Resort
Address: Main Road, Muri Village | P.O. Box 146, Muri, Cook Islands (Formerly Shangri-La Beach Cottages)
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Muri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Muri Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute beachfront on Muri. This intimate boutique resort offers 20 beautifully decorated deluxe self-contained villas and apartments. These well-appointed units feature air-conditioning, Jacuzzi spa baths, insect screens, TV/DVD, in-house movies, Wi-Fi internet, IDD telephones. And all of this is set amongst tropically landscaped gardens. When not enjoying the stunning views from the beachfront deck, enjoy lazing by the large swimming pool sipping tropical cocktails. The resorts beautiful poolside Polynesian style cafe & cocktail bar which is surrounded by tropical gardens is al-fresco dining Island style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Muri Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muri Beach Hotel Muri
Muri Beach Resort Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing