We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort, great staff and an amazing time! ”
Review of Muri Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Muri Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Muri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Muri beach club resort for 7 nights! We went for a friends wedding!

The staff at this resort were amazing! So friendly and always helpful! I would like to say a big thank you to Ana, Luke, Jone, Raj, and Kendra for such amazing service! These guys were amazing and truly made our holiday memorable! This resort truly should be 5 stars on service alone! We definitely worked out the cocktail menu! They were yummy!

The resort is great, you can use the snorkeling equipment for free and explore the beautiful lagoon! There are kyaks and long boards as well! It was so much fun using the long boards with the local dogs Shaggy and Shaddow coming for a cruise! They also have catamarans for 2, 3 and 4 people for around $20 an hour and you easily access the islands around the lagoon! So much fun!

The rooms are great and have two queen sized beds which have plenty of space! The bathroom was lovely and even had towel drying racks which heat up to dry your towels and bathers! We had a garden view room which was lovely and quiet! The beach view rooms would be spectacular!

The food was great from the resort but with all resorts you pay much higher prices! There are many restaurants around on the main road which are great value for money! I would highly recommend the buffet polynesian night at the restaurant as the food is great and the show is spectacular! A great night out! I would also highly recommend the bbq pork ribs at the resort, they just fall off the bone and are yummy!

The continent breakfast is great, with cereals, toast and fresh fruit! Each day you get a different choice of hot food and you get a menu with the choices when you arrive! But if you fancy other options you can also order from the kitchen!

Location of this resort is sensational! Its right on the most beautiful part of the lagoon and very close to the main town! Approximately 15 mins to town by car or scooter! You can rent them from the resort for a very competitive price!

Summing up this resort I can say I would highly recommend it on price, comfortability, the service is amazing and the staff will make sure you have a fantastic holiday! Trip advisor should rate this not a 4.5 star resort but 5 star purely on location and service! I loved everything about this resort! Will definitely be coming back again! Xxk

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Zanderpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here recently and I loved it. The rooms are a little dated and basic but it's not claiming to be 5*. I would recommend this property just on the atmosphere, service (thanks Erica) and location.
This hotel had a communal BBQ area which is a really great idea.
They offer free diving lessons In the pool. We had some cocktails and chilled in the great restaurant area.
Would highly recommend to anyone travelling with kids

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Chasmaybank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed here for 11 nights as part of a wedding party and were amazed by all the helpful, friendly staff! We stayed in a poolside villa which was perfect for what we needed. The pool was amazing and with beach access/views we found ourselves in the water alot as it was around 30 degrees everyday.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank livigeeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed nine nights at the Muri Beach Resort. Erika and her team made us feel very welcome and ensured our stay was fantastic. We travelled with our three small children, and they thoroughly enjoyed the resort, its facilities and the beauty of Muri Beach Resort, the lagoon and the kayaking!!! We stayed in a two bedroom villa which led down to the water, where we could pick up the kayaks or just go swimming. The service of the resort was superb and the restaurant exceptional, especially on New Year's Eve! Great recommendations from the staff on local treasures, and one staff member even gave us a lift on our first morning to the Te Punanga Nui markets in town, as we were still jet lagged and didn't know how things worked. Overall - 11 out of 10. We will definitely be going back!

Room Tip: The villas are well appointed, have great space and are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stayed at Muri Beach Resort for seven nights and it was one of the best holidays. We went over with all our family and friends for my husbands Nephews wedding. The location of resort is perfect right on the lagoon. The snorkling around the island was amazing and its right out the front of resort. We stayed in a Garden Villa (self service) and was really nice and tidy and also quite private.
We found the staff really friendly and helpful especially Nihi (not sure on spelling). She was at the bar/restaurant most nights we were there. She was very friendly and funny. The only issue we had and is a small one was that the bar/restaurant wasn't open for lunch (only on a sunday) so couldn't get a drink/snack through the day, Also some evenings they weren't open. I do understand that it was off peak time so maybe this was the case but think if they were open a bit more would have been nice. Other than that we had a great time at Muri Beach resort, the pool was great, there is a shop located just outside resort, cafes, shops just down the road, lagoon was amazing. We also hired a van just down the road, as there was a big group of us it was a great way to get around the island. I would defiantly stay at Muri Beach resort again! I just wish we could go back now :)

Room Tip: Garden Villas are cheaper and as close to pool as pool side villas. A small resort so dont think it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed ten nights at Muri Beach resort and were married on Koromiri Motu. Jane and Chrissy did an awesome job organising the wedding day and everything went off very smoothly. The service at the resort generally and in the restaurant was superb. The rooms were spotlessly clean and superbly maintained.
The only thing which was less than perfect was the weather which packed up totally the day after our wedding (thankfully). We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay in a beautiful resort and recommend Muri Beach Resort to anyone seeking a break in paradise at reasonable rates.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

I am a Cook Islander raised in the island of Rarotonga and now living in Australia. My family and I went home to Rarotonga tfor family reunion. During our vist we stayed at a great location right at the door step of Muri lagoon and Taakoka motu. We enjoyed the relaxed and laid back atmosphere Muri Beach Resort offered. The beatiful tropical gardens. A big thank you to Sala at the reservation office for her exceptional service in making our family feel welcome during our stay at Muri Beach Resort. Nii at the bar for looking after us when we dined at the Aqua Cafe. And the owners of Muri Beach Resort for helping us with a homeopathic remedy to assist with our young sons ear infection before we hopped on the plane - it worked and our son had no ear ache during our return flight to Perth. Meitaki Maata.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Caroline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.4 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
3.5 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
569 reviews
3.8 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
5.2 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
0.3 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muri Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muri Beach Resort

Address: Main Road, Muri, Cook Islands (Formerly Shangri-La Beach Cottages)
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Muri
Price Range: £142 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Muri Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute beachfront on Muri. This intimate boutique resort offers 20 beautifully decorated deluxe self-contained villas and apartments. These well-appointed units feature air-conditioning, Jacuzzi spa baths, insect screens, TV/DVD, in-house movies, Wi-Fi internet, IDD telephones. And all of this is set amongst tropically landscaped gardens. When not enjoying the stunning views from the beachfront deck, enjoy lazing by the large swimming pool sipping tropical cocktails. The resorts beautiful poolside Polynesian style cafe & cocktail bar which is surrounded by tropical gardens is al-fresco dining Island style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Muri Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muri Beach Hotel Muri
Muri Beach Resort Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing