We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Muri Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Muri Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Muri
NZ
1 review
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2009

What a beaut place. The swimming pool was safe, the beach safe, the rooms clean, staff friendly - nothing was a problem. They organised airport transfer and rental cars with no hassles. Loved the fact that you could cook on the bbq and still see the kids in the swimming pool. Kids loved the unlimited supply of coconuts and the superb boat built by the friendily gardener from the coconut shells. If you want a holiday that is relaxing and stress free this is the place to come. We will definately be back to Muri Beach Resort. Thanks guys for making our stay so EASY!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raroloversNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    86
    13
    9
    9
See reviews for
97
106
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2009

Excellent transfers, from airport to muri beach resort vice versa. Would like to thank Jane and Paul, Doreen, Toby and rest of the staff for being so friendly and helpful. We would be definitely coming back in the near future to this resort. what can we say its beautiful, there are many words you can describe Muri Beach resort and the atmosphere of Raratonga. This was a fourth time here. .

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melbournehoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Devon_England
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2009

Ideal location on beachside, beautiful sand and access to the reef islands by walking through the lagoon.(free reefshoes from reception). Cottages clean and well appointed just yards from the large pool and yards from the beach. Jane + Paul, not to mention Doreen run a lovely establishment with everthing on hand, beers in the fridge for a nominal price + ready made meals to go. Scooter hire recommended and Paul rents out his very cheap. Great holiday for couples or families especially as Toby the gardener excellent at constructing small sailing boats for the kids out of coconuts and banana leaves.
Easly access to town (few miles away with bus stop outside. Bus every half hour which goes clockwise round the island with the other bus going anti clockwise runs until late. Shops on the main road with limit goods although supermarket 3 miles away with most items.

Derek + Jill North Devon England

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derek_jill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
268 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2009

A group of our family members have just spent a great few days here. As a family venue it is perfect - quiet & peaceful but handy to restaurants & convenience stores ( including coffee to go!) The units were clean,light & spacious . Our baby grandson was provided with toys on arrival & we were able to access a high chair very readily. Provisions were left for us on arrival which was most appreciated. The staff were very friendly & helpful & a late check out was no problem. The Barbeque area is great & it is really good having all the crockery,cutlery ,glasses etc. there, to save carrying everything down - a sink & teatowels are available to washup - it makes it so easy- even the mosquito coils are provided! The airport transfers (particularly in the middle of the night) were an added bonus. For a family group especially with young children, it is an ideal spot & we fully intend returning in the future,

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FranNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2009

Really enjoyed our stay in Muri Beach Resort .We chose this as we are not resort people. We had 7 of us and wanted a self catering option.We liked the feeling of being at ground level, gardens, loved the beach access and swimming pool. BBQ area was good too.Unfortunately they only have one 2 roomed unit so we had to share the open plan but that was ok we knew that when we booked. Would go back and it was liked by friends who stayed in other places

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank watts-up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2009

Just arrived home from a week at Muri Beach Resort.

The place is nice with a good access to the beach and facilities there are pretty good. On the whole looking at the people there this place is aimed towards the families and gatherings of families (there was a large family group there that seemed to make up 2/3 of the people there - they were pretty friendly though).

We stayed in the Lagoon view villa, but to be honest while you can get a glimpse of the lagoon, and you can get sun on the deck chairs attached to this villa its probably worth saving the NZD50 a night and stay in the garden view or the pool view villas as i don't think there is any difference between the actual villas.

Jane and her staff (including Doreen) were helpfull and we didn't encounter any problems with our time here

Would recommed this for families and people after good value, but not for those who are after large resort type faciltities or a romantic time

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tprindo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2009

We found this resort surfing the internet and stayed 10 nights at the Muri Beach Resort with a 5 night break in-between at Aitutaki. This was our lucky find as the Muri Beach Resort is a tidy comfortable and lovely place. The grounds are spacious, gorgeous and very well maintained. A large pool with covered BBQ area and heaps of seating/lounges is centrally situated. All units have 2 sun lounges on their patios and there are plenty more on the deck by the beach. The owners Jane and Paul and their staff are very obliging and no request we made was of any issue. The units we stayed in were roomy, clean and had very comfortable beds. We enjoyed reading a number of books from their library. There are local stores for basics and restaurants all within an easy walk. . Car/bike hire is handy and there is also the bus which will pick up and drop off at the entrance. This genuinely is a great place to stay – excellent value and we left here with positive memories – from our perspective – it’s highly recommended, and if we were to return (to Rarotonga) without a doubt we would go back. Well done Jane and Paul – take a bow!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BofNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.4 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
0.4 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
5.3 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
0.2 mi away
Muri Beachcomber
Muri Beachcomber
#1 of 17 in Muri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muri Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muri Beach Resort

Property: Muri Beach Resort
Address: Main Road, Muri Village | P.O. Box 146, Muri, Cook Islands (Formerly Shangri-La Beach Cottages)
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Muri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Muri Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute beachfront on Muri. This intimate boutique resort offers 20 beautifully decorated deluxe self-contained villas and apartments. These well-appointed units feature air-conditioning, Jacuzzi spa baths, insect screens, TV/DVD, in-house movies, Wi-Fi internet, IDD telephones. And all of this is set amongst tropically landscaped gardens. When not enjoying the stunning views from the beachfront deck, enjoy lazing by the large swimming pool sipping tropical cocktails. The resorts beautiful poolside Polynesian style cafe & cocktail bar which is surrounded by tropical gardens is al-fresco dining Island style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Muri Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muri Beach Hotel Muri
Muri Beach Resort Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing