We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want to go back as soon as possible”
Review of Muri Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Muri Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Muri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2007

We were on the road for almost a year when we arrived at Muri Beach Resort for two wonderful weeks. The location is absolutely stunning. Our opinion, Muri Beach is the best location on the island. The appartments are very clean, everything what you need is inside. The jacuzzi is wonderful to relax after a nice day at the beach with the kayak or snorkeling gear from the resort.
The price quality rate is in balance.
Finally, Jane en Paul are the most friendly people you can wish as owners of this resort. After all we were married at the beach and planted after the wedding a coconut tree on the property of the resort. So we will definitely come back!

Thanks for the wonderful time
Yamilé and Ralph
Amsterdam
Holland

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Sandesan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2007

Given the two solid weeks of rain the holiday was not the paradise we had hoped for after waiting over a year for a break from work..! We made the best of it by swapping snorkelling for moped trips around the island and spending a lot of time at the pacific resort bar on the beach as it was a great place to sit in the driving wind and rain and the excellent cafe around the corner on the main road. The accomodation was in a great location and I think it would have been good direct access in to the water to swim. There were renovations going on when we stayed which probably look quite good if now finished - traditional roofing around the pool and a bar area being added. The rooms were average but clean. Hopefully the linen and pillows have now been updated with something closer to cotton and down rather than what felt like polyester sheets. One of the kayaks has a huge hole in it so be careful don't end up dragging it back in the rain and then trying to drag it back up the sand dune without emptying it of the water. To be honest I would think the new owners would have updated these by now. I would go back as I think the renovations will be good, however I'd need it to be sunny to enjoy it a second time round!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Mao_Mao_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2007

I actually stayed here a few months ago with my girlfriend, but wanted to put in my two bits on this place.

I see from other people's reviews, they were happy with this accommodation - and so were we.

The Shangri-La is nothing fancy, but clean and with everything you could need (unless you need room service) - the website clearly identifies what is provided/offered and the various price options . I would recommend this locale to couples looking for an affordable place on Rarotonga without having to compromise a clean bed or nice beach.

I'd also recommend renting a scooter to get around the island - there's a rental place just up the road. And for good breakfasts, there's a modern internet cafe/restaurant just a little ways up the road, as well (the name escapes me, but it has red walls inside).

Snorkeling tip: if you have your back to the Shangri-La, the area to the left of the island is much better for snorkeling.

Food tip: Rarotonga's only Indian Restaurant is fantastic and affordable - go for the buffet.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank GlobalEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2007

If your looking for a layed back vacation, with a bit of water sports, kayaking, snorkelling, laying at the pool, reading a book -this place is for you!!!We enjoyed a self service cottage, Elliot, the owner was friendly, and always had clean sheets and towels each day if you wished. You were on your own to go exploring on the island, hiking, 7 restaurants within walking distance, serving great food. Internet cafe very handy and a convenience food store just at the end of the property. Lily-the maid, gardner, was a very special lady. We loved visiting with her, and she was so concerned about us Canadians turning a bright red in the sun!!! We enjoyed 14 days down there, and would go back in a heart beat. There were a couple rainy days, but didn't stop us from going into town on the bus, or just sitting back reading. It cooled off the sunburns. If your a T.V. fan-this place is not for you-as there is only one channel and it starts at 3:00 P.M, each day. The Island nights were lovely, we had a few windy days, so snorklling wasn't that good. Muri beach is everything the brochures show. We loved Rarotonga and the Cook islands.

Stayed: February 2007
3  Thank Maybeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2007

My fiance and i (Helen & Dennis) stayed here for 2 weeks in Jan 07. From the very beginning when corresponding with Elliot i had a good feeling about this place. Elliot made the booking process very easy and even arranged transport from the airport for us.
The cottages where everything we required, clean, spacious, equiped with cooking facilities, separate bathroom with a spa bath (came in handy after the cross island walk) and airconditioning. Ours even had a view of the lagoon. In our opinion Shangri La is located on the best part of the island - Muri beach, is away from the crowds but has shops, eateries and transport close by. The cottages were also very quiet due to Elliot's policies - this was greatly appreciated. We also had glorious weather for the 2 weeks which really helped.
Elliot is a great guy, friendly and always willing to provide information about the island, its history, politics, places to eat and shop and activities to do. We are not naive, we did our own research as well, but Elliot was always spot on. Special thanks is also owed to Lily, who maintained the cottages to perfection, was always happy to have a chat and even for showing me how to crack open coconuts using a machete.
For those that are thinking of going, do go. Here are some tips from our experience:
Restaurants: Vaima (Hi to Gina and Sharmaine) and Tamarind House (Sue) are excellent. Pick up the cookbook while at TH.
Activities: Definately the Cultural Village (Hi James), The Cross Island Walk (it is hard work but Pa is great fun and Wigmore Waterfall is fantastic) and definately the Aitutaki day trip (cheers to Phil), Aitutaki is out of this world! Church and the markets are also musts.
Pearls: Klassic Pearls and Farm Direct offer great service and value. Also do stock up on soap, perfumes and local liquers at the Perfumes of Raro (the lovely Grace will help you out).
The Cook Islands are beautiful and the people even more so. Once again a big thanks to Elliot and Lily for making our experience there as pleasant and comfortable as we could have ever hoped!

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Den11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2006

We loved everything about Shangri-La. The airconditioned cottages are spacious, clean and attractive with everything that is needed for a comfortable stay. Elliot and Lily dealt with everything in a quick, friendly and efficient way which helped to make our stay perfect. The cottages are a few steps from the best beach in Raratonga (in our opinion) with some of the best swimming on the island and there is free use of kyacks and loan of snorkelling equipment and reef shoes. There is also an excellent swimming pool with loungers and a couple of inflatables. We loved being able to walk along the sand to have dinner at one of several excellent restaurants nearby, which also overlook the beach and the lagoon with its islands. It is a good secure site with well tended gardens and lots of beautiful flowers. There are shops within a short walking distance that can provide all the essentials necessary for a self catering stay and there are inexpensive buses and taxis if you don't hire your own transport.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Churchtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2006

We have stayed at Shangri-la on numerous occasions and have enjoyed every visit. We did not see Elliot this trip as he was away but he had a wonderful lady called Lilly looking after Shangri-la.
We cooked most nights on the barbecue and then sat outside our cottage looking at the lagoon, watching the sun go down, absolute heaven! If you are looking for accommodation you should not go past Shangri-la as I am sure like ourselves you will keep going back to the Cook Islands.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ginnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.4 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
3.5 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
569 reviews
3.8 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
5.2 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
0.3 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muri Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muri Beach Resort

Address: Main Road, Muri, Cook Islands (Formerly Shangri-La Beach Cottages)
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Muri
Price Range: £143 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Muri Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute beachfront on Muri. This intimate boutique resort offers 20 beautifully decorated deluxe self-contained villas and apartments. These well-appointed units feature air-conditioning, Jacuzzi spa baths, insect screens, TV/DVD, in-house movies, Wi-Fi internet, IDD telephones. And all of this is set amongst tropically landscaped gardens. When not enjoying the stunning views from the beachfront deck, enjoy lazing by the large swimming pool sipping tropical cocktails. The resorts beautiful poolside Polynesian style cafe & cocktail bar which is surrounded by tropical gardens is al-fresco dining Island style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Muri Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muri Beach Hotel Muri
Muri Beach Resort Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing