We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant, but handy to know that....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sokala Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Muri
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sokala Villas
Ranked #5 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Muri
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very pleasant, but handy to know that....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

Nice first impact, a group of wooden cute chalets, some of them with private swimming pool and all of them with generously sized front deck and terrace, spacious and functional inside.
Sokala villas is at the north end of Muri beach, where the strip of sand becomes very tiny and disappears completely with the high tide. After sunset you do not have the possibility to walk along the beach and reach nearby bars & restaurant other than by going up to the road.

Swimming in the lagoon outside Sokala is not really possible since the water is very shallow, up to the knees at maximum. The alternative would be to get a kayak (provided!) and paddle up to the beach at the Pacific Resort or up to Koromiri motu, one of the islands of the lagoon.

We rented a car and this helped to reach other places where swimming was possible depending on wind etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MilenaRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    20
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
127
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

Coming from the East Coast of the United States (and having never heard of Rarotonga before), my husband and I spent a lot of time researching before choosing to stay at Sokola Villas. We first looked at some of the newer villas in Muri Beach and then looked at some of the beachfront places on the west side of the island before finally deciding to splurge on Sokala Villas. It was the best travel decision we could have made. Sokala Villas is the essence of a laid-back, romantic island vacation without all the hustle and bustle of a resort-type place but with wonderful amenities.

Lawrance, Susan and the rest of the Sokala staff were not only welcoming but incredibly helpful throughout our two week stay. Lawrance, who has been running the place for 20 years, was always quick to respond if we had a question or concern about anything. Our two-story villa was very spacious, wonderfully furnished, had a beautiful view of the lagoon, and felt very private even though it was located in the middle of the property. The grounds are immaculately maintained. We had a giant deck with our own small freshwater pool and a gas grill. Some folks prefer to eat out every night when they are on holiday, but with fresh fish available daily on the island, we saved some money by grilling out a few nights a week. Plus, our kitchen was pre-stocked with cereal, coffee, tea, milk, juice, fresh fruit and a bottle of champagne when we arrived! Additionally, we were just around the corner from the busiest parts of Muri Beach but loved being able to return to our quiet property at night. Sokala also has free kayaks and snorkel equipment available on site, which we made use of almost daily. (We brought our own snorkels and masks but used their fins.)

The decor is very rustic which is exactly the type of place we love! And our bed was so comfortable. I've never slept so well on vacation. Lawrance has and continues to update the property as needed, and is always open to ways to improve it, but to us, Sokala was just perfect. More than any other place we have ever stayed throughout all of our travels, Sokala Villas truly felt like a warm, welcoming home away from home to us. We visited Aitutaki for a few days during our two week stay, which we also loved, but when we returned to Sokala, it felt like we were coming home.

Lastly, as is the way with the spirit of Rarotonga, we were "adopted" by the sweetest little black and white cat who recently started roaming the property. She spent the entire two weeks hanging out on our deck, and we nicknamed her "Luna." If she is still around, give her some love as she will give it right back to you once she gets to know you. We hope to one day soon return to our home far away from home at Sokala Villas.

A couple of tips for what to bring to Sokala Villas:

We brought a small portable speaker, about the size of a fist, and our iPod for music which was perfect for travel. We brought our own coffee (we like STRONG coffee) and tea (there are only about two kinds available on the island). We bought Duty Free wine at the airport on the way in and then went to the liquor store (NOT the grocery stores - Foodland or CITC) when we ran out as they have a much better selection and better prices. Reef shoes for walking out into the water.

Lawrance, Susan and Staff, thank you for everything!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Advntrgrl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

Kia orana e te anau! Way back when - 14th May 1994, Deborah and I were married in Rarotonga - having come back from NZ for the occaision. We were gifted stay at the Sokala with complementary wine on our return to the Villa. Such was the generosity of Aunty Betty, Lawrence and Sabrina. For many years thereafter back in NZ we would recall the beauty of the Villas and setting, but most of all, the careful and thoughful staff.Kia manuia. Charles Webb -Queensland

Room Tip: Just get into it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

This was our third visit to Sokala Villas and we can't begin to describe the awesome feeling of "coming home". Lawrence, Susan, Serena, Betty and the whole crew are so friendly, accommodating, and helpful. The villas are private, secluded, and safe. They are on a beautiful stretch of Muri Beach with some great restaurants and shops within easy walking distance. We always feel so well looked after and welcomed by everyone there.
The villas are spacious with large beautiful decks looking over the gorgeous lagoon. They are a bit rustic, but well maintained, with things being upgraded as needed.
The people and the location of Sokala make it a perfect choice for us.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shellshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

We came to Rarotonga after a hectic month touring New Zealand and we needed to relax and unwind. This was the perfect place to do it. We were picked up from the airport in the early hours after our flight from Auckland and transported quickly to Sokala where Laurence met us and showed us to our beach front villa. After a good night's sleep we explored the villa, our private pool, the deck (with BBQ) and the beach. Everything was delightful. The villas are rustic rather than sophisticated, but very comfortable and totally in keeping with the spirit of the island. The villa complex only has a very small amount of beach but it is easy to walk a few yards to where the sand widens out. There were kayaks to use in the lagoon and lots of loungers. Laurence was very helpful when we needed advice. Basic food requirements were in the fridge or in the fruit bowl, and a small shop within easy walking distance provided other essentials though Foodland in the capital (20 minutes on the bus) provided a much better selection. Nothing is particularly cheap since most food has to be imported. There was also a laundry at the end of the drive. The bus service was excellent for getting around the island - there are two buses around the island - the clockwise service and the anticlockwise service! They seem to stop almost anywhere and you can buy a saver ticket for 10 rides. The Saturday market in the capital was well worth a visit but we recommend that you shop around carefully if you want black pearls as they come in various grades and only some producers are approved by the government, hence widely differing prices. There are many restaurants near Sokala, several right on the beach, and though they are not cheap their location and the quality of the food makes them worth the extra money. The cultural evening at nearly Te Vara Nui was informative, light hearted and fun. The local people are very friendly and laid back. We stayed for 4 days so that we could pick up the Air New Zealand flight to Los Angeles, but I wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Use the website and other related internet sites to identify the location of various villas as some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John and Maggie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haslemere, Surrey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

If you are looking for a buzzy and lively establishment with bars and music this is not for you. If you would like a complete break in an absolute idyllic situation with your own freshwater pool, with safe lagoon swimming just 1 minute away, with basic amenities/shops/bars/restaurants just 5 minutes walk away
and helpful Villa staff always available, you could not do better than Sokala Villas.
Richard G

Room Tip: Suggest one of the villas closest to the lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

this was our third time at Sokala, as ever utterly fantastic, didn't want to leave, saving our pennies for next time, Laurence and Susan as friendly and helpful as always, could not recommend higher.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sjc1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
4.2 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
4.2 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
2.4 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
4.2 mi away
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
2.8 mi away
Sunset Resort
Sunset Resort
#1 of 5 in Avarua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sokala Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sokala Villas

Property: Sokala Villas
Address: Muri Lagoon, Muri, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Muri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sokala Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Sokala Villas Hotel Muri
Sokala Villas Muri, Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing