We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Countdown Begins”
Review of Sokala Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sokala Villas
Ranked #6 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Muri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We've begun the countdown until our next 4 week vacation in paradise. This will be our 5th trip to Rarotonga and our 4th stay at Sokala. There are many reasons we've chosen to return to Sokala repeatedly. The location of this lovely property is perfect for us. It is on a beautiful stretch of beach with a wide variety of restaurants, cafes and shops within easy walking distance. Every time we return, we are welcomed warmly by the wonderful friends we've made who look after everything at Sokala. The villas are spacious, comfortable, just steps from the ocean and they offer a great deal of privacy. Lawrance, the owner, is on site 24/7. He is always willing to provide any assistance, fulfill special requests, and this also results in a very secure and safe environment.
Some reviewers have complained about the lack of swimming in front of Sokala. The water depth depends entirely on the tide which changes daily. This also affects whether or not you can walk on the beach to the restaurants at night. We always walk along the beach at night and just accept that sometimes our feet will get wet. The fact that Sokala is on a tropical island does cause things to weather and deteriorate more quickly. The owner is aware of this fact and is constantly trying to maintain and upgrade the facilities. People who travel to even the most luxurious 5 star properties more than once will have experienced this.
Overall, this is a beautiful, romantic, private and safe place to stay while vacationing in paradise.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank shellshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2013

I just finished an email to Sokala Villas to book our vacation for next winter. This will be our fifth stay with Lawrance and the staff of Sokala and all I can say is that each visit surpasses the previous. The sheer pleasure of stepping on to the property erases all of the stress and cares of the world back home in Canada. This little resort is located in the most ideal location on all of the beautiful island of Rarotonga. A gorgeous villa right on the lagoon where peace & privacy reigns supreme. The villas are not new, Lawrance and his staff know that some maintenance is required, like most resorts. There will be rust, that's the cost of being situated right on the edge of a salt water lagoon! Give your head a shake if those minor, cosmetic short falls are going to ruin your vacation, suck it up, YOU'RE IN PARADISE! I will chose Sokala Villas over any of the 5 star resorts I have previously experienced. If you're looking for a holiday where you expect someone to be at your elbow with a roll of toilet paper and a kleenex to wipe yor nose for you then definitely head to Mexico and stay at some gaudy, sterile five star resort. Lawrance and his staff treat their guests like family and I love this family of mine, even Suz! The perfect location, the perfect staff, the beauty and the tranquility of my little Eden will ensure that I will be returning year after year for as long as my old carcass will allow.

Room Tip: There are seven beautiful, rustic villas. Some have pools, those without pools are just as cozy and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Newf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Firstly, Rarotonga was amazing and we cant wait to go back. We researched Sokala Villas
in detail and we were impressed with the reviews. On arrival I could see my husband was
disappointed with the villa. Our host was really nice and helpful. The villa we had was
lagoon view with our own pool. The position of the villa was awesome and privacy couldnt
be beaten. The villa desperately needs work and money put back into maintaining the villas.
Where do I start! Things like kitchen cabinetry, screen doors, more curtains off the tracks
than on. The bathroom was really dark and the bedroom could have done with a mirror.
The ceiling fan did not go on low speed. The outside downpipes and gutters were in awful
condition and the pool although very clean was in bad need of painting and upkeep. The fridge
was very rusty around the edges and could have done with some attention.
Are we being too picky? On comparing other places when we got home for the money we
spent per night I do not think so. He just needs to put some money back into the upkeep
of the villas as the longer it is not done the worse they get. It was a fabulous location and
walking distance to cafes and bars was excellent. The eating places in Rarotonga were
amazing and we just loved all of them. The people of Rarotonga were super and I will
always remember them. They are ultra friendly, funny, helpful, and very entertaining.
Would we go back? Not to Sokala villas but certainly to Rarotonga, cant wait.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Nice first impact, a group of wooden cute chalets, some of them with private swimming pool and all of them with generously sized front deck and terrace, spacious and functional inside.
Sokala villas is at the north end of Muri beach, where the strip of sand becomes very tiny and disappears completely with the high tide. After sunset you do not have the possibility to walk along the beach and reach nearby bars & restaurant other than by going up to the road.

Swimming in the lagoon outside Sokala is not really possible since the water is very shallow, up to the knees at maximum. The alternative would be to get a kayak (provided!) and paddle up to the beach at the Pacific Resort or up to Koromiri motu, one of the islands of the lagoon.

We rented a car and this helped to reach other places where swimming was possible depending on wind etc.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MilenaRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Coming from the East Coast of the United States (and having never heard of Rarotonga before), my husband and I spent a lot of time researching before choosing to stay at Sokola Villas. We first looked at some of the newer villas in Muri Beach and then looked at some of the beachfront places on the west side of the island before finally deciding to splurge on Sokala Villas. It was the best travel decision we could have made. Sokala Villas is the essence of a laid-back, romantic island vacation without all the hustle and bustle of a resort-type place but with wonderful amenities.

Lawrance, Susan and the rest of the Sokala staff were not only welcoming but incredibly helpful throughout our two week stay. Lawrance, who has been running the place for 20 years, was always quick to respond if we had a question or concern about anything. Our two-story villa was very spacious, wonderfully furnished, had a beautiful view of the lagoon, and felt very private even though it was located in the middle of the property. The grounds are immaculately maintained. We had a giant deck with our own small freshwater pool and a gas grill. Some folks prefer to eat out every night when they are on holiday, but with fresh fish available daily on the island, we saved some money by grilling out a few nights a week. Plus, our kitchen was pre-stocked with cereal, coffee, tea, milk, juice, fresh fruit and a bottle of champagne when we arrived! Additionally, we were just around the corner from the busiest parts of Muri Beach but loved being able to return to our quiet property at night. Sokala also has free kayaks and snorkel equipment available on site, which we made use of almost daily. (We brought our own snorkels and masks but used their fins.)

The decor is very rustic which is exactly the type of place we love! And our bed was so comfortable. I've never slept so well on vacation. Lawrance has and continues to update the property as needed, and is always open to ways to improve it, but to us, Sokala was just perfect. More than any other place we have ever stayed throughout all of our travels, Sokala Villas truly felt like a warm, welcoming home away from home to us. We visited Aitutaki for a few days during our two week stay, which we also loved, but when we returned to Sokala, it felt like we were coming home.

Lastly, as is the way with the spirit of Rarotonga, we were "adopted" by the sweetest little black and white cat who recently started roaming the property. She spent the entire two weeks hanging out on our deck, and we nicknamed her "Luna." If she is still around, give her some love as she will give it right back to you once she gets to know you. We hope to one day soon return to our home far away from home at Sokala Villas.

A couple of tips for what to bring to Sokala Villas:

We brought a small portable speaker, about the size of a fist, and our iPod for music which was perfect for travel. We brought our own coffee (we like STRONG coffee) and tea (there are only about two kinds available on the island). We bought Duty Free wine at the airport on the way in and then went to the liquor store (NOT the grocery stores - Foodland or CITC) when we ran out as they have a much better selection and better prices. Reef shoes for walking out into the water.

Lawrance, Susan and Staff, thank you for everything!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Advntrgrl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Kia orana e te anau! Way back when - 14th May 1994, Deborah and I were married in Rarotonga - having come back from NZ for the occaision. We were gifted stay at the Sokala with complementary wine on our return to the Villa. Such was the generosity of Aunty Betty, Lawrence and Sabrina. For many years thereafter back in NZ we would recall the beauty of the Villas and setting, but most of all, the careful and thoughful staff.Kia manuia. Charles Webb -Queensland

Room Tip: Just get into it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

This was our third visit to Sokala Villas and we can't begin to describe the awesome feeling of "coming home". Lawrence, Susan, Serena, Betty and the whole crew are so friendly, accommodating, and helpful. The villas are private, secluded, and safe. They are on a beautiful stretch of Muri Beach with some great restaurants and shops within easy walking distance. We always feel so well looked after and welcomed by everyone there.
The villas are spacious with large beautiful decks looking over the gorgeous lagoon. They are a bit rustic, but well maintained, with things being upgraded as needed.
The people and the location of Sokala make it a perfect choice for us.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shellshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
4.2 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
4.2 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
4.2 mi away
Nautilus Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
4.1 mi away
Muri Beachcomber
Muri Beachcomber
#1 of 17 in Muri
521 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sokala Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sokala Villas

Address: Muri Lagoon, Muri, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Muri
Price Range: £155 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sokala Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sokala Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokala Villas Hotel Muri
Sokala Villas Muri, Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing